Via Roma Beach Resort

Bradenton Beach, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Via Roma Beach Resort

Bradenton Beach, Florida

3.5

Out of 5
7 reviews
  • 5

    (1)

  • 4

    (6)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Via Roma Beach Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for markc397
    By markc397 Updated Apr 29, 2009

    We stayed here for Easter week in 2009. Had a great time. The units are clean and well-equipped, but not luxurious. But they fit the feel of Anna Maria Island, which is laid-back and a beach community - not a place of high-rise resorts and restaurant chains. We loved the island. The beach is awesome, and lots of cool little joints to check out for food, etc. Several fishing piers are on the island, and you can rent fishing poles - great for the kids. The staff here is very friendly, and the daily towel service and trash takeout, etc. is a nice touch. Nice pool and hot tub directly off the beach. Some units like ours were across the street (like many of the resorts on the island). Not a big deal. Just a few extra steps to the beach. Crossing the street is NOT the big deal that someone below made it to be. Also, the units across the street have a view of the ocean (at least ours and others on the second floor did - looking out across the pool to the ocean), whereas the oceanside units face the pool.

    Sarasota is only a few minutes away, with lots of cute shops, the Mote Aquarium (which is great), and other points of interest. Tampa is less than an hour away. Supermarket on the island, and many more shops, stores, Super-Walmart, across the bridges in Bradenton if you need stuff.

    Bottom line - thumbs up. We would definitely go here again. I'd give it 4.5 stars, but not an option, so 5 stars to balance the many 4 star reviews.

  • Avatar for evas25
    By evas25 Mar 10, 2008

    We spent Feb. 9-Feb 23,2008. We had exceptional weather and the service was wonderful...The only timeshare we have ever stayed in in the 20 odd years we have owned that changed towels everyday and came in once during the week to change the sheets...They emptied the trash for us everyday also...It is a nice quiet resort if you are looking to relax and enjoy the beach....lots of good places to eat nearby.....not the most palatial of resorts but certainly very clean and well kept..

  • Avatar for gretel
    By gretel Mar 2, 2008

    We stay every year in a two-bedroom gulfside unit. The units are clean with ample closet and dresser space. The daily tidy service is a nice touch, emptying trash and providing clean towels. I also appreciate the free hi-speed internet access from the rooms. The pool is always clean and uncrowded with a view of the gulf. It isn't a mega-resort with opulent furnishings or lazy rivers, but a nice place to stay on a beautiful beach with access to a friendly, Caribbean-like island in Florida. Anna Maria doesn't have McDonalds or Applebees but cafes and taverns with homemade hamburgers or grouper sandwiches and fries. Tampa is an hour away; Orlando is two hours. There are many restaurants nearby where you can enjoy a good meal dining on the gulf watching the sunset. You can take the free trolley to anywhere on the island so driving isn't a must. If you are a beach person, you will love it.

  • Avatar for bob740
    By bob740 Aug 18, 2005

    nice comfortable resort - those units #20 and above are across the street - you are better off in units under 20 - all of these are ocean side and more convienent with less traffic - otherwise ocean side is great place to be.

  • Avatar for glensue
    By glensue Jun 8, 2005

    We just returned home from Via roma. We loved this resort it is right on the beach.The resort is a little older but well kept and very clean. My kids had so much fun and we are already planning our return trip.

  • Avatar for jgtragesser
    By jgtragesser Updated Mar 28, 2005

    We spent week #50 (checking-in December 13, 2003) at Via Roma (a Bluegreen resort) in Bradenton Beach, FL located on Anna Maria Island.. the resort was recently refurbished.. the units are clean, brightly decorated, large and well designed.. we had a 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom, large full-kitchen unit.. the resort is located on the beach/shore of the Gulf of Mexico providing spectacular sun sets.. the broad beach is packed white sand which made for a comfortable walking surface..

    The staff is friendly and competant.. a pleasant surprise was to receive a daily 'tidy service' of fresh towels and trash empty, with fresh bed linens at mid-week.. the resort has a nice size heated outdoor swimming pool with a large hot- tub/whirlpool and offers the free use of bicycles.. the resort is sold out so there are no pressure sales presentations, but an on-site sales representative is available to sell and rent units offered by the resort owners.. a Sunday cocktail party and a mid-week continental breakfast provided opportunities to meet and greet other vacationers..

    Publix grocery, Super Wal-mart, a large shopping mall, art gallaries, restaurants, etc. are conveniently located.. a free trolly provides service throughout the day for the length of the island.. bus service is avaiable into adjoining Bradenton... Sarasota, Long Boat Key and St. Armands Circle are an interesting day trip.. the South Florida Museum and manatee aquarium are a must see attraction in Bradenton.. Joe Tragesser

  • Avatar for priscilla21
    By priscilla21 Aug 29, 2004

    MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED AT THIS RESORT IN MARCH 2004. WE HATED IT. WE WERE ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE STREET WITH NO CROSSWALKS. EVERY TIME YOU TRIED TO CROSS YOU TOOK YOUR LIFE IN YOUR HANDS. WE ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH THE STAFF. THEY WOULD TAKE TOWELS EACH DAY AND NOT REPLACE WHAT THEY TOOK AND WHEN YOU TRIED TO GET FRESH ONES YOU WERE BASICALLY MADE T FEEL LIKE A THIEF. WHEN WE FIRST ARRIVED WE HAD TO BY AIR FRESHENERS AS THE ROOM SMELLED VERY MUSTY. ABOUT THE ONLY PLUS IS THE BRADENTON AREA WHICH IS VERY BEAUTIFUL. THE BEACH FRONT WAS ALSO SPACIOUS. CROSSING THE STREET TO GET TO IT WAS LOUSY. I WOULD NOT STAY IN THIS RESORT AGAIN!!!!!

Back to reviews
Resort review