Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge

Breckenridge, Colorado

Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge

Breckenridge, Colorado

4.0

Out of 5
13 reviews
  • 5

    (8)

  • 4

    (7)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for ronald118
    By ronald118 Updated Sep 5, 2015

    This property looks great from the outside.

    As Marriott owners, this property looks like a converted motel.

    This property is not the usual two BR/2 bathroom, with living room, dining room and full kitchen. Think twice if you are a Marriott owner.

    Breckenridge is a great community; this Marriott is not!

    There are much better accomodations in Breckenridge.

    Property should be closed for a year for a complete overhaul.

  • Avatar for monica142
    By monica142 May 21, 2012

    Stayed here for two weeks (bonus weeks from Interval) in July 2010. Beautiful room, spacious, well equiped kitchen, courteous and friendly staff. Used it as a based to find permanent housing in the area. Breckenridge is a great town, nice stores and restaurants. Very friendly place. Enjoyed our visit and have returned many times since.

  • Avatar for susanv118
    By susanv118 Updated Nov 18, 2008

    We keep coming back for Christmas week. It is terrific! Everything is so beautifully decorated and charming. Activities abound from skiing, skating, snow shoeing, swimming, nearby sleigh rides, dog sledding, snow mobiling, and lots of dining and shopping. Not to forget Santa came visiting and all was very merry.

    The one bedroom units are great, plenty of space. The huge master bath has a jacquizi tub for soaking away sore muscles and cold from a day skiing. Love the big kitchen and big round table for everyone to gather. The master bedroom has a very comfortable king bed. The great room has twin day beds that the kids found perfect. The sofa bed is great for one, or okay for two small children. A clean up midweek was all we really wanted. Daily maid service would have been a little extra.

    We rented skis on the ground floor and walked out to the Quicksilver lift. We skied all the way back to the door. It's easy enough to warrant taking a warm up break during the day and going back out. We had lunch in our villa many times.

    Loved the outdoor hot tub while viewing the last skiers coming down the slopes. Was fun to be swimming after skiing too.

    We dined next door and many places around Maggie Pond as well as down Main St. Didn't need a car at all after we arrived. We could have come by shuttle from the Denver airport too.

    We plan to come back often. Christmas in Breckenridge is gorgeous!

  • Avatar for connieb82
    By connieb82 Apr 21, 2008

    We stayed in a 1 bedroom in March 2008. The 4 of us thought it was great. There is a lounge area with a huge screen TV. It is well located to the town and there is a free bus shuttle around town and to supermarkets, also.

  • Avatar for billc169
    By billc169 Jan 29, 2008

    In the midst of a ski week. Have to give the place a mixed review:

    It's got a good location....ski in/out is nice (just a close walk to the lifts) and getting into the town is very easy. The people are friendly...and they seem to genuinely want to encourage resort events (breakfasts, exercise sessions, craft sessions, etc). This is a nice place if you want to ski for a week and have a one bedroom unit where you have some space to move around.

    Now here are the downsides: the building and the units just aren't very nice -- certainly not the type that will ave you raving when you get home. We stayed in a renovated 1BR. The halls smelled like a ski lodge, and the room actually smelled moldy. The heat was hyper sensitive -- so we alternated between 50 degrees on the thermostat and occasionally 70.

    Our unit itself was extremely illogical. Nice to have two bathrooms in a 1BR, but the layout was quirky at best and there really wasn't any place comfortable to lounge around.

    By quirky I mean the following: extremely long and thin (TV was placed where no couch could be put in front of it); no central sitting room; enormouscloset in the bedroom (god knows what for); and we truly missed not having a fireplace.

    Not sure if this building used to be something else (perhaps its a converted hotel) but the room was just plain weird.

    Besides this, the kid's areas in the hotel (playroom) seemed very beat up ... and the hotel lacks a comfortable lobby area to relax in (all the more important if you have weird and quirky room without a fireplace).

    We are owners at Marriott Mountainside in Park City -- and its amazing what a difference a logical building layout makes.

    All in all, we have enjoyed our vacation here immensely -- but can only think how much nicer it would have been if we could have raved about the unit/hotel. I wouldn't pass this up if you have no better skiing options...but set your expectations accordingly before you arrive and you'll be happier.

  • Avatar for susanc84
    By susanc84 Updated Aug 1, 2007

    I just returned from a week at the Mountain Valley Lodge in Breckenridge. It was great!! The rooms in the resort had a "facelift" this spring with new furniture, bedding and an upgraded kitchen.

    The resort's location is wonderful for walking in to the village or up to Peak 8 on the Breckenridge ski area. During my stay at the resort, the staff at the resort was friendly-- giving recommendations, or helping to answer any questions.

    This resort must be great during the winter season, since it is a ski in/ski out resort. I hope I can once again stay at the Mountain Valley Lodge in the near future.

  • Avatar for chistuc
    By chistuc Updated Dec 24, 2004

    We traveled to this resort July 4th week of 2002. The resort is nice, room nicely done but the bed was terrible. Their towel exchange is terrible, needs to be improved. The parking in their underground garage was a nightmare, so we ended up parking outside. Our view of the small lake and town was nice, staff was friendly but extremely young. Breckenridge is wonderful town to visit, lots of shops and restaurants. We took early morning walks along the river and watched the trout. Drove to Leadville twice, checked out their Mining Museum and had the best hot chocolate we have ever had (free refills). The best part of the trip was the 4th of July parade through town, what a hoot. Also, check out Frisco and Fairplay. I returned to the Marriott in July 2004 with my parents, they enjoyed the town and resort. The staff was very helpful in acquiring our room early so my 80 year old parents could rest after a long flight and drive from the airport. Resort is 4 Stars and Breckenridge is 5 Stars.

  • Avatar for 5columbines
    By 5columbines Sep 3, 2004

    We enjoyed our time in Breckenridge, and found the resort to be well equipt, and the staff very helpful. We had a flat tire one day, and discovered that we had no jack. They helped us locate one and change the tire.

    Our only trouble with the resort was that I had allergy problems in the room. I would wake in the night congested, and feeling like I couldn't get enough air. It was most unpleasant. I was fine during the day, and up in the mountains. If we kept the door to the balcony always opened, I did better. With nighttime temperatures dropping into the 30's, however, it became uncomfortably cold in the mornings. The resort provided us with a complete change of bedding to try to aleviate the problem, and it helped some, but not completely. We left early.

  • Avatar for westwinds3
    By westwinds3 Updated Feb 7, 2004

    We have been coming to this lodge every year for 7 years and are sorry to say that it is looking very tired. It needs basic maintenance; toilets are loud, tubs drip, the laundry room is full of marks,, furniture has been taken from rooms etc. It was a five star lodge and now, at best, it is three.

  • Avatar for msweaver8
    By msweaver8 Nov 4, 2003

    Great visit last week. I know it is the low season, but the staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was immacculate. The quality was what I expect from a Marriott. Perhaps I was lucky to get a refurbished room, but it was wonderful. FYI, apparently there are rooms in this resort that are managed separately from Marriott. They are full-time owned condos, and they are not subject to the same requirements as the timeshare units. If you rent one of those weeks from someone, you might want to be a bit careful. If you exchange through II, however, you will not likely get one of those rooms. That's the info I got, at least.

  • Avatar for jplaurencelle
    By jplaurencelle Oct 26, 2003

    Staff was friendly, resort well maintained and nicely furnished. Scheduled activities were fine. Resort lacks some amenities needed to get a 5 Star rating. Breckenridge offers lots to do and people are very nice. We stayed early September, 2003.

  • Avatar for laskowss
    By laskowss Aug 27, 2003

    Hotel was poorly maintained. Maintanance was called to room several times to get the room in proper working order. Felt like we were at a Super 8. Views were very poor, most looked at another building/ so much for the mountain views.

  • Avatar for swilshire
    By swilshire Jul 6, 2003

    Overall a terrific resort. The staff was very friendly and responded quickly to all requests. Unit was in good condition with adequate furnishings. Location was terrific with great views and easy access to town. Several planned activities with something for every age.

    There were a few things that kept this from being perfect. Charges for use of washers and dryers (especially since we didn't get enough towels and wash clothes to last until the mid- week towel exchange), locals phone calls and extra pool towels were annoying. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable, but the kids complained about the other beds being less so. The window in the bedroom had only blinds, no curtains. This made it impossible to sleep in the morning since it got bright very early in June at that altitude.

    There was no "kiddie pool" or playground that we could find. Lots to do in the area. Also plenty of restaurants within walking distance but they seemed expensive so we mostly ate in. A bar just across the pond played music very late one night and could be heard in the room even with all doors closed. No air conditioner, but we never really need it. A small fan was provided to keep the air stirring.

    We had a good week in Breckenridge in spite of one of our party being stricken with altitude sickness. I would recommend this resort.

Back to reviews
Resort review