Gold Point Resort

Breckenridge, Colorado

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Gold Point Resort

Breckenridge, Colorado


  • Avatar for ronald118
    By ronald118 Updated Aug 18, 2012

    We have a forty year+ history with Breckenridge, and have stayed or toured nearly all timeshares in the Breckenridge area.

    We try to visit Breckenridge every year. Gold Pointe resort Penthouse units are very special. The Penthouse suites are extremely nice -- A lack of on-site swimming pool is a big plus (no kid noise). The Breckenridge year round swimming pool is a short drive. The views are fantastic.

    Goto for our view from our Penthouse Deck.

    Goto for a comprehensive restaurant listing.

    Goto for an excellent review of Breckenridge restaurants.

    Goto for excellent photos of Breckenridge.

    We visit during the ski season, summer, and fall. Gold Pointe is located within 15 minutes of Ski Breckenridge. Vail, Key Stone, The A-Basin, and Beaver Creek are all easy drives. We have found that a front wheel drive rental car can handle the winter and spring skiing. For some reason we are devoted spring skiiers.

    Love Breckenridge in the fall and summer. Breckenridge is an actual town, and was founded in 1859 as a gold rush town on the Blue River. Breckenridge offers ski and snowboard lessons for every skill level.

    Gold Pointe Penthouse condos define luxury. Gold Pointe Penthouse condos provides a much needed vacation experience.

    A gourmet kitchen and fine dining is available. Hiking and ski trails abound. During ski season, we park free at our sister resort. We are averse to the older section of Gold Pointe, and we shall NOT stay in a Gold Pointe "town house!"

    Our Penthouse Unit is in the "newer" section and provides glorious views or the Breckenridge Ski Area and the Nine Mile Range all year. We love the vaulted ceiling, fireplace, and large "common Hot Tub," located in a SPA room steps from the Penthouse entry.

    The Penthouse comes with attached garage and free parking for friends and family. Master BR is King, Second BR is Queen, Third BR is twins, Fourth BR is a double sofa couch sleeper, and the Living Room couch converts to a double bed.The Penthouse sleeps ten. The Penthouse offers three Bathrooms. A huge Gourmet Kitchen with the greatest counter space in the industry. Gold Pointe Penthouse includes an in-unit washer and dryer.

    There is a real dining room table that seats eight, a breakfast bar that seats six, a living room table that seats 4 providing a wall of window view of the Breckenridge ski area.

    We have skiied and stayed in Vail condos. Vail is nice, but the location on I-70 removes the "Mountain Experience" for us.

    We have skiied and stayed in Beaver Creek condos. The skiing is excellent, and the short drive to Avon for supplies is tolerable. Make no mistake, Beaver Creek is upscale. Beaver Creek does contrast with the historic town of Breckenridge, and any comparison is purely subjective.

    Gold Pointe Penthouse in Breckenridge provides an upscale holiday with real life amenities located minutes away.

    As" flatlanders," (750') we always fly into Colorado Spring in order to overnight and adjust to the altitude. The "Springs" overnight means no altitude sickness.

  • Avatar for evelynj
    By evelynj Feb 23, 2012
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We just stayed in 7D during President's Week 2012. We were so pleasantly surprised because the unit is very large for a one bedroom. We own two 2 bedroom Marriott timeshares, and while they have granite countertops, etc., the size is very compact compared to the one bedroom we got at Gold Point. Our condo at Gold Point had very nice tiles, an entire wall of windows, nice window treatment, a very large balcony, and the bathroom, jacuzzi tub and shower were very clean. The living room/dining area is huge. This is very conducive to having people over and entertaining. We had 5 sleep here and there was plenty of room. There were two TVs and a wonderful fireplace. The dining table seats 8, and there are 4 seats at the counter. The kitchen was very large. The staff at the office couldn't have been nicer. My daughter had to go to the emergency room because of altitude sickness, and we had "24hour" delivered free of charge, and the office took it for us and contacted us via cell phone to ask a question. We would recommend that people place an order for oxygen ahead of time just to be on the safe side to acclimate. It is VERY helpful.

    There is even a one car garage attached to the unit and ample parking outside. You can take the shuttle bus at 18 and 48 minutes after the hour to the resort. The bus is just at the end of the driveway and up approximately 30 feet. We drove several times and had no trouble parking in the lots.

    The condo is very well supplied. The bath soap, body lotion and amenities are very luxurious. If you do want to buy some extra if you run out, the office will supply it for $1. This is a great service to have instead of going to a grocery store as some timeshares would have you do. One does have to drive to town but it is a very short drive. We actually liked being away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the downtown area. The view is fantastic from 7D. We would recommend this condo for anyone, but especially for families or couples who like peace and quiet and great views.

  • Avatar for jacks179
    By jacks179 Updated Feb 14, 2012
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Stayed in 3 bedroom unit 4A - the best part is my last paragraph.... no elevators, lots of stairs - so not good for anybody with walking impairities. Unit size for 3 bedroom/ 3bath - very nice size, kitchen adequately stocked with pots/dishes/utensils. large den and dining room.

    Staff Friendly - not joyed overboard to bring u things, like batteries for remote that still don't work since they are for a different tv.

    Watch out though - the OWNERS decided to charge $1 each for shampoos/soap/detergent/etc (about 15 things) beyond what the MAID was suppose to stock the unit in with at checkin - nickle dimed....yet, the owners should focuse more on updating the 2 broken lazy boys in unit 4A. Not sure if all units equipped the same or not. I am use to Marriott properties - cooker cutter - yet updated the same in each unit.

    WARNNG - drink lots of water this unit is about 1000 feet above Breckenridge....10600 or so feet.

    Hard to control the heat with dated night with sub freezing temps had to open windows at 10600 feet and had fans running to keep cool in late Jan. Dated TVs, remote for second tv wrong remote - unprogrammable. Small TV for family room even though it was a newer Samsung flat screen - volume at PEAK too low for family room size with arched sealing.

    Free BUS stop (:18 abnd :48 of the hour to downtown and gondola) has been relocated and more convenient to upper tier unis than in past years...closer to main a little further hike for the lower tier of units. May not seem like a big problem reading this but wait until the end of the 10600 feet and skis and poles and ski boots and slippery surface........just part of the it I guess.

    Well, if you got this far, I saved the "best" for last. This resorts owners agreed to allow OWNERS to bring pets, we are not talking about service animals for the disabled...we are talking mom and pop and lassie. ....gross....Imagine mom and pop out sking all day and lassie gets the 'urge", next week you get to walk around the unit barefoot hoping not to step where Lassie last went. And I know I sound like I hate animals, not true, I have 4 indoor cats, but I don't take them to someone else's house or condo to sleep a week. Also Imagine a long haired pooch was there the week before you and you have bad allergies to dog dandruff....10600, air is thin, and you are a sneezing.....WoW....You decide if this is a place you want to go or buy a resale from.

  • Avatar for willieh13
    By willieh13 Dec 15, 2008

    Good resort. I recently stayed at the resort for the first and enjoyed our stay. A bit outdated, but very spacious. Not a 5 star resort.

  • Avatar for dmw718
    By dmw718 Updated Jun 8, 2008

    The three bedroom/bath we stayed in was from phase one and it was recently updated, and well kept. Lots of cedar and tile with a nice lay out. One bedroom and bath upstairs and two down.

    You have a great veiw of Breckenridge runs and the mountains from the inside as well as from the balcony. Without a dout the best feature of Gold Point Condos.

    The staff was great and was always willing to help with our needs. Even though it is a quick drive to downtown (Three Miles) the bus would stop 10 min. after the hour throughout the day for those who did not want to drive.

  • Avatar for tondaw
    By tondaw Feb 26, 2008

    This place is awesome...I am an owner here and just had extra weeks this year to use up! Lots of amenities and its great for those like me that love their can bring your pooch here to Goldpoint, and so many you just cant! The views are amazing and theres a huge hot tub with a sliding glass door that overlooks the mountains! Ski shuttle picks you up for FREE and drops you at also get free use of the Breckenridge Rec. Center with tons of great amenities....This is a quiet and private resort without all the kids running around, etc. Great for the experienced vacationer that just wants a quality place to stay without the typical hotel atmosphere. An absolutely beautiful Condo!! TW, Boulder, CO

  • Avatar for lisa1382
    By lisa1382 Updated Nov 9, 2004

    We were here in Feb of 2004. The unit was old and the toilet made noise all night. Dirty, yucky carpet. The altitude is higher and if your not used to it it can cause headaches and sleeping difficulty. I found the shuttle hard to use. It is impossible not to have a good time in Breckenridge but this resort should never get 5 stars...

  • Avatar for geraldogrande
    By geraldogrande Updated Jan 16, 2004

    Outstanding, just got back from spending week 2 there. Staff is exceptional and the views are better. This is 6 minutes up the mountain from downtown Breckenridge. The views are spectacular. The condo has everything you need, the sole exception is a CD/DVD player although there is a VHS player. Well stocked kitchen and a very quiet and relaxing place to spend a week or two. The health club/spa is down the hill and well worth the visit. Highly recommended. The bus runs only once an hour now, at 5 minutes past the hour. We did not use it but many people did.

    Another plus is Keystone, Vail, and Copper Mountain (as well as Central City and Black Hawk for the casinos) are less than a hour away and have very scenic drives to get to. Too much to do and see in one week!

  • Avatar for grand161
    By grand161 Dec 29, 2002

    I co-own a 3 bd/3 bth split level unit (2 bds/baths downstairs, 1 upstairs) for week 51. Very clean, great views, everything you need is in the unit. Staff is excellent and prompt with requests. Shuttle runs twice an hour to the town. We very much enjoyed the trip this year and look forward to returning!

  • Avatar for lorilen
    By lorilen Oct 21, 2002

    Spectacular view of Breckenridge, II Gold Crown resort. Condo offers two free socials during the week, master bedroom contains hot tub. The stay here includes free use of state of the art health club and swimming pool.

    One bedroom units contain 1 1/2 baths, and some have private heated garage.

    Staff is most friendly and helpful in planning activities other than skiing - dogsledding, sleigh rides, snowmobiles, etc.

Back to reviews
Resort review