Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Carlsbad, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Carlsbad, California

4.0

Out of 5
19 reviews
  • 5

    (13)

  • 4

    (10)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for innam
    By innam May 22, 2014

    What an amazing place. We stayed in 1bd/1bt last summer and can't wait to go back this summer again. The staff working there makes this place even nicer. Watching the sunset from the balcomy was so peaceful and relaxing. Our kids had fun in the resort in the activity center. We enjoyed getting coffee in the loby any time of the day. The room was great. I rated sleep comfort 4 (the rest is 5 stars, of course) only because pull out sofa was very hard, but other than that everyting was great. It's outside of Carlsbad downtown area but not a problem at all if you have a car. The ocean is just across the road which made it so nice. I met many great people (owners of the resort) who is going there year after year and they all were giving great review of this place. After staying there for 7 days, if was very hard to leave. We are going the same time this year we stayed last year and our kids (teenagers actually) are excited to see their friends they made last year. We rented rollaway bed for a week and were not even charged for that:) Kitchen has everything and Costco just around the corner. Love this place and bying it on redweek makes it so affordable! We used Amtrack (across the street) to visit SanDiego downtown which made it easy and more interesting.

  • Avatar for jodim88
    By jodim88 Jan 13, 2014

    Across the street from ocean. Watch sun set nightly behind the pacific ocean. Great staff with plenty of onsite activities.

  • Avatar for kenp119
    By kenp119 Updated Feb 1, 2012

    We love this resort, the morning and sunset view of the ocean is awsome. The resort is so peaceful & relaxing. Get ready for fun on the beach, we feel so alive with all the things to due in the Carlsbad area kayaking, bike rides, deep sea fishing, dining out & shopping.The resort landscape is perfict and the staff is so willing to make your stay the best. We look forward to our stay each time. We loved it so much that we bought another week from ebay in July of 2011 for the fixed week of Sept. each year.

  • Avatar for skimble
    By skimble Updated Jul 30, 2011

    The grounds are well-maintained with seasonal flowers. In terms of proximity to the water, the resort is about 100 yards from the sand. You’ll need to cross PCH at a signal in order to get there. It’s about a 5 minute walk. Most units have ocean views, but you’ll get the best from the 3rd floor. Having stayed at resorts with closer proximity to the shoreline, I thought it would be a real disappointment to be this far from the water. As it turned out, we were not disappointed at all. The grounds have a kids play area—a pirate ship playground. There’s a water-works area right next to the family pool, and they have a “golphin dolphin” area for miniature golf. There’s an adult pool with a fantastic view of the ocean and plenty of deck space and chairs for lounging around. Three fire rings, one in the family pool area, one in the adult pool area, and one in front of the resort make for nice areas to sit and socialize or roast marshmallows. Other than Saturdays when the resort hosts a live band and barbecues by the adult pool, it’s generally very peaceful in this area As it turned out, we were very pleased with the accommodations. The resort staff was friendly, especially the activities staff. They were always smiling, helpful and courteous. We’d bring our wagon back from the beach, and they’d tell us just to leave it; they unloaded all their stuff and put it away. The activities center offered a variety of balls, boogie boards, chairs, tennis racquets, pool toys, sand toys, towels and more. They even had wagons to tote it to the beach in—a real plus. The bed in the master bedroom was king size, and firm. Pillows on the other hand were soft and flat; something even some guests in the spa were grumbling about. The vertical blinds in our unit were insufficient for blocking out light or securing privacy. When you walk by the window, they move with the breeze. My wife wasn’t comfortable with the light that came through at night and even less comfortable with the possibility of people being able to see in through the tiny vertical slats. As a suggestion, you can take a sheet off the bed and drape it over the valance. This doesn’t block out the light, but it affords privacy. My only other complaint would be the dressers in the master bedroom. Standing about 3 feet tall with three drawers, they were too small for two people. There were daily activities like smores by the fire, root beer floats, pancake breakfast, crafts and more. If you wanted to stay at the resort for your entire trip, there’s more than enough to keep you busy. There’s a tennis court, basketball court and volleyball court on the premises. Ping pong, pool, the fitness equipment—well apportioned, and more. We had a great time as a family just playing tennis. The kitchen has everything you’ll need. After struggling and nearly having a crash splash as we played tug of war with the old-fashioned corkscrew, we went out and bought a decent one. Other than that, the kitchenware was pretty high quality. The beach in front of the resort is a sufer’s magnet. The in-shore waves were great for the kids, and there were some decent breakers beyond for guys like me who like to body-board. The beach is quaint with very little shore space at high tide.

    The resort offers internet access in lobby through WIFI, and they have a courtesy computer for people to check email. The complimentary coffee and tea and fruit by checkout desk are testimony to the customer service. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and amenities at this resort.

  • Avatar for susan506
    By susan506 Updated Mar 29, 2011

    I have entered rating information consistent to the current overall rating of this resort, so as to not skew the resort's rating. I would like to comment on julie230's comments. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointed stay. I am so glad that another renter compensated you. However, I am disappointed that it sounds like the renter was an exchanger-NOT an owner. Please, Redweek is a fabulous place to rent weeks--but, it should only be done via owners/rentees. It is actually against RCI rules to rent an exchanged week-they can cancel a week. Redweek usually works very well because both parties pay a fee to contact each other. I hope your next experience works out much, much better.

  • Avatar for mosesl4
    By mosesl4 Updated Oct 6, 2010

    We enjoyed all that this resort had to offer. We played lots of ping pong and pool, we checked out board games and movies from the activity center, we used boogie boards and beach gear from the fitness room, we played tennis, basketball, barbequed, romped around the dolphin putt putt area (didn't try to golf, just lounged on the dolphins themselves), we even walked to the metro station that can get you anywhere in the San Diego area in minutes (walk one block south! SO EASY!!!).

    The rooms are impeccable and delightfully appointed. Our room had a great view of the ocean and the sunset. Some people mention the train noise. But, I found that I didn't even hear it after the first hour or two at the resort - especially from inside the condo and the bedrooms. We've been here several times before, and it is a high-demand locale, with not too many condos. So we learned; "Communicate, communicate, COMMUNICATE!" You have to make sure the resort knows that you're coming, when you're coming, and what your reservation calls for. We've gotten to the point where we have no unpleasant suprises regarding availability and all.

    We loved our whole time there (and we have four children under 20). We will DEFINITELY go back there again, God willing.

  • Avatar for carolynt50
    By carolynt50 Apr 15, 2008

    The resort is so comfortable and clean, we love to have our "ocean fix" here. The pools and garden area are a treat. The traffic on Hwy 101 is no bother, and the trains nearby are interesting and fun to watch. Carlsbad area has wonderful beaches and views, lots of places to walk, eat and shop.

  • Avatar for irene18
    By irene18 Mar 31, 2008

    Fantastic view! Every room has an oceanview.

  • Avatar for deidreo
    By deidreo Updated Mar 30, 2008

    We just returned from a week stay in a 2B/2B 3rd floor corner unit. It was very bright and clean. We overlooked the family jacuzzi and dolphin putting green. My kids loved the pool and splash area. Checking out was a little busy as far as the elevator and carts went, but other than that it was a great stay. We were 4 miles exactly from the parking garage to the top of the Legoland parking lot. (get your tickets through Costco). The resort was pretty full as it was spring break. There were plenty of pool toys to be had, beach towels, putters and balls, etc. The family pool was heated. There were a lot of activities and crafts for the kids to do. Overall, a great place and I would return in a heartbeat. Others have mentioned the train noise. I definitly heard the trains and they only blew the whistle during the day. They were not a big distraction. The tennis and basketball courts were being refurbished, so we were not able to use them. That was the only thing out of order during our stay.

  • Avatar for expresso10
    By expresso10 Dec 23, 2007

    Stayed in a two bedroom unit in late October. The two bedroom units are exceptionally light and airy as they have a wall of windows. The furnishings are very attractive and the full service kitchen had everything we needed. The master bedroom is in the front with its own bath and the second bedroom has two beds and shares the bath with the living room. We had a second floor unit overlooking the kiddie dolphin area. Even though occupancy was not full, the staff carried on with a busy schedule of weekly activities. Concierge is exceptionally friendly and helpful and all the staff members were very pleasant and upbeat. Across the street from the ocean and a state park which means lots of beach with little traffic. The City of Carlsbad is about a two mile drive up the beach road from the resort. A well designed and maintained resort with a friendly staff. I would return in a heartbeat!!

  • Avatar for linda3123
    By linda3123 Dec 10, 2007

    Disappointed in this resort. The first room we were assigned was already occupied!(After carrying our luggage up the stairs) The second room they sent us to was not clean and finally the third room was also not clean - we had to wait 2 hours until it was cleaned. So the check in process was not professional! We stayed in room 103 and the noise from the train right behind the resort woke us up 3 times during the night and early morning. We stayed there December 2007 and they were doing some landscaping right outside our sliding glass door. So during the day we heard shoveling of gravel into the planters! Not a very restful vacation! The pool and spa were nice and location is great. We drove to the beach across the street which wasn't far and was very beautiful.

  • Avatar for ward13
    By ward13 Updated Sep 23, 2007

    Excellent location with panoramic views overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The resort was just re-modeled and looks fabulous. Lives up to its' Gold Crown rating.

  • Avatar for kend32
    By kend32 Jan 30, 2007

    Stayed here next to last week, Jan 06, you can easily cross street to beach traffic lights and crosswalk.The unit was clean and great view, trains do come but front unit noise isn't too bad.Staff were helpful and friendly, great location out of city but close to everything.You will need a car though, but it is California.

  • Avatar for pat502
    By pat502 Sep 19, 2006

    GREAT RESORT. It is right across the street from a fantastic and clean beach. It is much quieter than Grand Pacific Palisades Resort, which seems to have non stop children screaming in the water park. The room was large and stylish. Great water view.

  • Avatar for barbl6
    By barbl6 Jun 13, 2006

    We were not very impressed with this 'resort'. The unit was not very clean. It has a railroad track in the back of the resort that is very noisy. The club house was rented out every night of our stay to loud, obnoxious parties. The beach is across a very busy highway so you have to drive to it. The pool is full of sand....

  • Avatar for bryan3
    By bryan3 Aug 1, 2004

    My family enjoyed this resort. Ocean was nearby and childrens pool was handy. SD close by and Disneyland 1 hour north. Would stay again.

  • Avatar for ctokei
    By ctokei Oct 10, 2003

    We stayed here in early December. The resort itself is first class right across from the ocean and the units are excellent. Only 30 minutes south is San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Coronado, etc. and only 60 minutes north is Disneyland. In Carlsbad there is Legoland and good restaurants and shopping, including a huge outlet mall. We dined at the Tamarack and it was first class.

  • Avatar for tris
    By tris Aug 30, 2003

    This is an excellent resort in an excellent location. Walk across the street to the beach... Catch the train to San Diego...drive to any variety of amusement parks (& zoo), or theater. Onsite activities are a little lacking.

    We have stayed here many times at different times of the year. It is best off season!

  • Avatar for etanneh
    By etanneh Feb 2, 2003

    I have toured this resort and chose it for an exchange this summer. It is in a perfect location across from the beach and almost every unit has an ocean view. Units are new.

Back to reviews
Resort review