Fairway Forest at Sapphire Valley

Cashiers, North Carolina

Back to resort

Reviews of Fairway Forest at Sapphire Valley

Cashiers, North Carolina

4.9

Out of 5
7 reviews
  • 5

    (7)

  • 4

    (1)

  • 3

    (0)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Fairway Forest at Sapphire Valley lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for viki14
    By viki14 Updated Jan 6, 2016

    The 2 bedroom units are very large and the furnishings have been updated and the units are well maintained. The staff is very responsive to all requests. Free wifi in the unit. On the the main level is the living room/dining room with fireplace and two sets of sliding glass doors opening out to a large balcony with a mountain or lake or forrest view. The scenery is gorgeous. The guest bedroom is on the main level the MBr is downstairs offering lots of privacy.The beds are very comfortable. The master bedroom has the second and private balcony with a huge Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. There is a washer and dryer in the laundry closet.A restaurant and sports bar is located at the 18 golf course on site and several great restaurants are close by. A 9 hole golf course is located by the recreation center. The large well stocked supermarket is 3 miles from the resort, It sells wine and beer. There is also a state run liquor store close by. The beautiful Sapphire Lake is on site with a swimming beach,picnic tables, BBQ grills free to use and fishing equipment and sailing and paddle boats offered for rent. The resort has a large Indoor swimming pool with a hot tub, and large outdoor swimming pool, mini-golf, game room, computers with free wifi, gym and a recreation center on site. Extremely family friendly resort with lots of planned activities and organized bus trips to Asheville, Cherokee, Highlands and other interesting areas. The scenic drives in the area are truly magnificent with lots of walking trails and spectacular waterfalls to see. It is a complete and active resort with all the amenities a family would enjoy in a most beautiful part of North Carolina.The weather in the summer is perfect...never Hot..just warm in the afternoons and cool in the evenings.

  • Avatar for jseiling
    By jseiling Aug 20, 2012

    We traded with RCI for a week at Fairway Forest at Sapphire Valley Timeshare Resort and arrived at 8:15 PM August 10, 2012. We came from Ashville on State Route 64 and the last 10-15 miles the highway is very winding and slow driving. Thankfully it was still daylight. The late check-in after 8 PM is next door to the Sapphire Management Co. at 4350 Hwy 64. The timeshare units are back east about 3 miles overlooking a golf course. It is a wooded and hilly area. Most of the units in the area have 3 or 4 steps to enter and parking is very convenient to the units. We entered on the spacious main floor and used the guest bedroom with twin beds and adjoining bath that also had a door to the main room. The kitchen, dining and living room are together with a nice sized veranda. The lower level included a master bedroom with king sized bed and adjacent large bath with huge Jacuzzi tub and a shower. It looks like the honeymoon suite with a nice veranda. The units are about 20 years old and in good condition. They are clean and well kept. The units include washer and dryer, but no hair dryer or night light. However, some bugs may be expected when you are in a wooded area. There is a nice grocery about 8 miles west at Cashiers that caters to the locals with discounts. We also went to the Dollar General in the same shopping center. We did not attend the Monday get acquainted breakfast. Instead we visited relatives near Charleston, SC. The recreation, swimming and activity centers are about 3 miles away. Therefore, you need transportation. We visited Ashville, took the trolley tour, and visited the North Carolina Botanical Gardens. We had been to the Biltmore estate earlier so we did not tour this time. Our AT & T cell phone worked outside sporadically. The timeshare offers Wi fi internet service for a fee. We got no sales pitch and headed home going east on Hwy 64 and north on 107 and it is very winding. In conclusion, my wife and I spent a quiet vacation reading and enjoying the beautiful scenery. There appears to be many activities available for active vacationers. John Seiling

  • Avatar for walter28
    By walter28 Updated Jul 12, 2010

    Wonderful mountain scenery with numerous waterfalls, hiking trails, and high scenic vistas in surrounding national forest and on close by Blue Ridge Parkway. Fall colors are striking!! Various altitudes lengthen color season - starts high in September and continues through October in valleys. Smokey Mtn. National park is close enough for day trips, as is Asheville Biltmore - but local small towns have wonderful old fashioned culture. Resort is large, timeshares well maintained, and facilities excellent! NOTE: units used to sleep 8, but sleeper sofa in small setting room has been replaced with non- sleeper - all A/B units now sleep 6 - though lots of floorspace.

  • Avatar for edwardh8
    By edwardh8 Updated Mar 19, 2009

    Several years ago we purchased a timeshare at this resort on eBay... sight unseen. We have a fixed unit (2-Bedroom, 2 Bath) and a fixed week (wk 50). We were looking for a mid-winter get-away. We certainly found it at Fairfield Sapphire Valley. When we arrived we were very pleased and somewhat surprised at the exceptional size, quality, condition and layout of our 2 story townhouse. Full updated kitchen, 3 decks, Master bedroom king and attached bath with a shower and a huge jacuzzi bathtub, and a private deck. 2nd bedroom has 2 twin beds and a second full bath which is shared with the living area. We have a huge stone fireplace in the living room... too many amenities to list. Great restaurants on the premises and the recreation center is wonderful with a large indoor pool, wet & dry saunas, hot-tub, massage room, tanning room, etc. Also a huge gaming area for the kids and adults with great pool tables, ping-pong tables, and scores of electronic arcade games. PCs with Internet access are in the rec center and are free to use. Also WIFI in the rec center as well. I have lots of photos to share.

    We liked the open spaces, clean air, friendly people, stores & shops, safe resort, etc., etc.

  • Avatar for joeld15
    By joeld15 Aug 3, 2007

    We were there from 7/28 - 8/03/07 amd all we can say is wow! The accommodations were wonderful and the amenities were great! The staff at the community center were most definitely lacking however. Either they didn't know the answers to simple questions about the amenities or they didn't care. Very poor service on than aspect. I would recommend the resort but would suggest they hire someone other than relatives, either that or properly train them on service.

  • Avatar for phimumom
    By phimumom Jul 23, 2004

    We have stayed here many times over the years. The setting is just beautiful. The units are extremely spacious and well maintained. There is a grocery store nearby. A car is definitely needed to see the area, which is abundant in waterfalls and hiking areas. The restaurants in Cashiers are very good, but kind of funky. Cashiers is a dry county. You can brown bag in the restaurants. Highlands, about 14 miles away, has marvelous shopping and superb restaurants. Our favorites are On the Verandah and Paoletti's. Wine can be purchased in Highlands, which also has a state operated package store. There is a spa in Highlands at the Old Edwards Inn. In summer, due to the altitude, the resort is somewhat cool, unlike Atlanta. Fall is magical, and, if there is cold weather, there is a baby ski slope at the resort that opens around Christmas.

  • Avatar for maskun
    By maskun Sep 15, 2003

    You could never find a more beautiful unit than this for the price! The setting is, also lovely..

Back to reviews
Resort review