Welk Resorts Palm Springs

Cathedral City, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Welk Resorts Palm Springs

Cathedral City, California

4.4

Out of 5
9 reviews
  • 5

    (8)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (0)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Welk Resorts Palm Springs lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for jackg18
    By jackg18 Updated Feb 10, 2016

    Really nice and clean facility. Everything has been remodeled in the last several years. Quiet rooms, can't hear anything from connect rooms! It would be nice to have an attached restaurant. Just getting a new vendor for gold restaurant. We would stay here again as we had zero problems. Few young children, mostly older adults while we were there. Has a separate adult pool. Staff is very attentive. Check it out. Nice rooms!!

  • Avatar for johnh1013
    By johnh1013 Jan 18, 2016

    We stayed at the Desert Oasis for a week and enjoyed Christmas in Palm Springs. We rented a one bedroom, one bath from an owner on Redweek at a very reasonable rate, especially for Christmas. We were in the Mesquite building room #458 overlooking the two pool areas. There are only two floors in five buildings. Check-in went fine and the concierge desk was not pleased when we passed on a presentation. At check-in the desk mentioned that our building had a lift for our convenience of moving in. The lift provided was designed for wheel chair use only with notices posted to this effect. So, we packed all our items up two flights of stairs. We cook in 95% of the time so always have an abundance of items. The next day we mentioned this to the front desk and were told that the lift is for everyone to use. The view from the Jacaranda, Eucalyptus and Bougainvillea buildings overlook an improved wash with walkway. Our room was very spacious with some newer renovations, the living room furniture was a little tired, and the kitchen provided everything required for meal prep. The lighting thru out the unit was very dim. We enjoyed the quality of seating on the deck. The resort has daily activities, golf nearby, fitness center and the Palm Terrace Café. The pools were nice and warm and the spa was a great place to visit in the evening. One issue that took some time to resolve was the cleaning of the grill outside our Mesquite Building. We checked in on Saturday, on Monday we informed the front desk that this grill was very dirty and required cleaning. Our plan was to grill our dinner on Christmas (Friday). Every day we notified the desk that the grill was still dirty. Thursday we walked thru the lobby and were told that the grills were clean. We walked by the grills by the pool area and they were spotless but not the grill in front of the Mesquite Building after four requests the grill was cleaned late Thursday. No one seemed to know whose job this was, housekeeping or maintenance. Therefore a rating of eight is the best we can go. Enjoyed our stay at the resort and will look forward to a return visit.

  • Avatar for arubakid
    By arubakid Updated Dec 26, 2012

    I've owned at this resort for 20 years. The staff and amenities have never been better. It's the best kept secret in the Desert. Why you might ask? Well, let's start with the two golf courses that owners have privileges to. You can play either course at a owners discount which is substantial.

    The Golf Club usually has Wednesday night bingo with lots of prizes to be won. Great and under used tennis facility.

    The pool area is always kept in very nice condition. The only draw back noticed in my last stay (November, 2012) is their upkeep of kitchen utensils. Ask before staying if the pots and pans have been updated. Usually, the largest pan is only a 12" so asking for larger one is a tip. The decor is comfortable color coordinated and staying in the Jacaranda building (golf course views) is recommended.

    The barbecues are newer and for a timeshare stay, the onsite "resort night life" is lacking but located right in the middle between Palm Desert -( La Quinta a bit further away) and Palm Springs makes this a must exchange destination. October, November, December are terrific months to visit.

  • Avatar for john726
    By john726 Updated May 15, 2008

    Great location. Clean resort. Definitely a family resort so if you're looking for peace and quiet while you read a book or relax by the pool...you may want to think twice. The adult pool is only a few feet away from where the little kiddies play so you can hear their screams and shouting pretty much most of the day and sometimes later into the evening. Kids will be kids but if you want peace and quiet because you've worked hard all year and need a break from the noise than you may not get it here. They spend a few hours mowing the lawns on Monday so there isn't much peace by the pool at that time either. There's quite a racket made by the various gates where you enter and exit the pool area...and of course people are coming and going all day, so you are constantly hearing the gates clank and crash shut. The units aren't very sound proof so you can hear noise from the outside as well as from the hallway. There are some great restaurants close by such as PF Chang, and the Chop House. We had the best steak we've ever eaten at the Chop House. Definitely go to the outlet mall at Desert Hills and there are some great buys especially at the Movado watch store. The tram ride was nice but pricey for two adults...at just over $40.00...I guess it's worth it if you plan to spend more time up at the top of the mountain, hiking, etc. We loved Palm Springs itself because the weather was great...in the 90s every day (we were there May 2-9 2008), and it's a dry heat...not humid...It's a small city so there is quick access to downtown and pretty much everything else. There's never grid-lock or too much traffic on the roads at any time of the day so it's a nice break from the usual crazy traffic back home...Also, a major plus is that it is a very clean city, not a lot of litter or garbage anywhere.We would definitely return to Palms Springs.

  • Avatar for sabrinat4
    By sabrinat4 Updated Sep 7, 2006

    Just returned from a 3 night stay ( 9/2/-9/5) at the resort with my husband. This place is truly a 5 star resort. It is home away from home. Although i gave it a 5 star rating there were a few things that I wish were just a little bit better - like the excercise room - too small for the number of visitors it had; I mean 6 people were in there and it was a bit crowded. The gounds are very clean, and the villas are exceptionally clean. The only other feature that is needed would be to add washer/dyers in the units( they are located on the grounds near the main building). Other than that we truly enjoyed out stay at the resort. I loved it so much I was just there a week before with some lady friends of mine.

  • Avatar for fotojo44
    By fotojo44 Nov 29, 2005

    Stayed on an RCI exchange in early November. First time at the resort, very nice. Quiet, clean and with very nice people. Thinking of purchasing a week in order to enjoy it annually.

  • Avatar for debbiec59
    By debbiec59 Nov 15, 2005

    I just came back from the Desert Oasis resort and loved every minute there. The units are spacious and clean. The pool area was great with a full snack bar. Had many activities to do and right on a golf course. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Avatar for golferwa5
    By golferwa5 Oct 17, 2005

    Recently returned from this resort and had a wonderful stay. Our room was very spacious and Very clean. Our room overlooked the golf course and was with in walking distance to the pool. The resort has a great pool and activity center. We enjoyed the barbecue by the pool that the resort prepared. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Staff was very friendly.

  • Avatar for lkurtz
    By lkurtz Mar 9, 2003

    Beautiful Resort, peaceful, & well kept. Many activities for family or just relax. Large famiy pool, adult lap pool, club house, exercise room, on golf course, pro shop, lighted tennis courts (small fee) shopping, theaters & restraunts near by. Perfect weather Sept.-June can get over 100 June/July/Aug. Once you enjoy you will want to return again & again.

Back to reviews
Resort review