Coronado Beach Resort

Coronado, California

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Coronado Beach Resort

Coronado, California


  • Avatar for belindac34
    By belindac34 Updated Nov 3, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    This resort is in the best location. I have rented a week from other owners, and loved it so much I am an owner, it is a great resort for the price. The service is great, the hotel is nice, but small. They have fun activities planned, you can use their bikes, beach chairs, sand toys, boogie boards, etc. A fun resort for the family.

  • Avatar for clintp5
    By clintp5 Feb 10, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Best thing about this place is the walking distance to the beach, restaurants etc on Coronado. Dated decor, very noisy (including the parrot), so-so service. Studio has a murphy bed that is unusable, it opens width wise, so one person has to sleep "in a drawer". Unweildy, heavy, should be torn out and a bed put in. Access to Loew's made our stay bearable, spent most of every day there. Nice pools, tennis cts, restaurant, bar with giant TV. about 5 miles away. Stay at one of the resorts in Carlsbad, much nicer digs, esp four seasons aviara.

  • Avatar for aggieh
    By aggieh May 26, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort
  • Avatar for bernardd11
    By bernardd11 Feb 20, 2010

    Disclosure: I own two weeks here. This hotel is located directly across the street from the world famous Hotel Del Coronado. A feature not discussed enough here in my view is that you can walk through the Hotel Del's property on a public footpath and in less than five minutes you are on a broad sandy (and public-use) beach on the Pacific Ocean -- the same one used by the Hotel Del's guests.

    Further, within walking distance are a several restaurants (not chain-operated), a large bookstore (with discount for CBR guests), a small theater (plays not movies), San Diego Bay dotted with sailboats, and a large public park with art shows, etc.

    Finally, immediately in front of the hotel is a city bus stop with a direct line to San Diego's Horton Plaza shopping center in only 30 minutes.

    In a nutshell, what CBR has is location, location, location.

  • Avatar for wanderer2000
    By wanderer2000 Updated Jul 29, 2009

    Stayed in a one-bedroom for a week. Yes, the location is great, but it definitely is not a 5 star resort. The room is small with a curtain, not a wall - should just be honest and call it a studio. It's noisy with the traffic flow 24/7 - how can it not since it's right in the middle of major intersections. It has no place to relax like a pool or a garden as most of the 5 star beach resorts. Have done a lot of traveling myself and stayed in different resorts, I know this one is only close to a 3 if not lower.

  • Avatar for brent41
    By brent41 Oct 15, 2008

    Exchangers and renters should be warned that the resort charges a $12 a day "garbage fee". They call it something else but it is obviously just a fee to rip off exchangers. I will rate the resort very low with RCI because of this fee. Coronado is a great town and very bicycle friendly. Lots of restaurants, shopping and a very nice beach. This resort is very well located but should not be rated as a Gold Crown since there are no amenities.

  • Avatar for lenad3
    By lenad3 May 28, 2007

    I bought a resale week here and used it for the first time last summer. I have three children under 4 years old and it was the BEST vacation we've ever had. The resort staff is super friendly and understanding of young children. Our one bedroom unit was beautiful and spacious (it was one of the remodelled units) and the kitchenette is fabulous. My kids went nuts for the resident macaw that lives in the lobby. They have snacks, happy hour, cookies, popcorn, pancake breakfast, etc. We could use beach equipment and bicycles - more things than we had time to try. The atmosphere is friendly and intimate and the location across from the beach is unbeatable. I highly recommend buying a resale at this resort!

  • Avatar for gpajj2
    By gpajj2 Updated Mar 15, 2007

    We enjoyed out week at this resort very much. Close to many shops and restaurants, fun walks all over the island. Bikes are available also to enjoy the bike trails closeby. Unit itself was small but all we needed for 2 adults.

  • Avatar for greg646
    By greg646 Updated Aug 18, 2006

    Great location! I spent 2 nights at CBR while attending a seminar conducted across the street at the Hotel del Coronado. The unit was a good size and very nicely decorated. There are great restaurants all around ... just ask the friendly folks at the front desk. Too many positives to list. The only possible negative ... CBR didn't seem to have many activities that would be interesting for kids. Only a negative for those of us with young kids. All things considered, a great timeshare.

  • Avatar for kathleen741
    By kathleen741 Updated Jan 29, 2006

    We stayed here in July 2005 and really enjoyed it. You can't beat the location and the free use of bikes and beach chairs and toys was great. We'd love to visit again this year.

  • Avatar for tracey398
    By tracey398 Aug 21, 2005

    Great resort! Convenient location, easy to walk to beaches, shops etc. Staff was wonderful. Plenty of beach supplies. We brought bikes, boogie boards etc but we really didn't need to they always had plenty available. Units are small but have everything you need. Stayed in a 2 bedroom with our 3 kids and it worked out fine. I would definately go again!

  • Avatar for aprilbirthday
    By aprilbirthday Updated Jun 25, 2005

    While attending a conference at the Loew's Coronado Bay Resort, I dropped by the Coronado Beach Resort to take a look. I was very impressed. The units are small, however they are tastefully decorated to utilize the space. The location is awesome! I own 1bdr summer timeshare weeks at San Clemente Cove and Tahoe Beach & Ski Club, and a spring or fall 2bdr week at Lagonita Lodge in Big Bear. I would LOVE to trade with a CBR owner for their summer or Thanksgiving week sometime. My South Lake Tahoe 8/19/06 week is already posted on this site if you want to take a look or contact me.

  • Avatar for emily96
    By emily96 Jun 16, 2005

    We are owners at Coronado Beach Resort & absolutely ADORE this timeshare. We just returned from our Week 21 & are looking into buying another week we love it so much.

    While at CBR we got to peek at some of the newly remodeled units - WOW - the decor is amazing & all units will have a space-saving flat screen TV!


  • Avatar for rick669
    By rick669 Apr 23, 2005

    Great location, beach just 1 block away.

  • Avatar for lyle14
    By lyle14 Dec 15, 2004

    Cannot beat the location or the staff. Stayed hear five times and it gets better each stay.

  • Avatar for jesse53
    By jesse53 Nov 25, 2004

    We visited Coronado Beach Resort twice in 2004. Each time the assistance of the warm and friendly staff made our visit that much more enjoyable. Staff-sponsored daily activities are fun and added to our visit. The resort is located in the heart of historic Coronado Island – an exclusive – yet relaxing community with a character all its own. We enjoyed walks along the beach, dining at the nearby restaurants and just relaxing in our room or on our patio after a long day of recreation. We also enjoyed the convenient trolley and ferry rides to such attractions as Downtown San Diego, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Old Town and the Seapointe Village Shops and Restaurants. The setting, the ocean and the activities all made for some of the most enjoyable vacation experiences we have shared. We are looking forward to visiting Coronado Beach Resort again soon.

  • Avatar for jackiechan
    By jackiechan Oct 1, 2004

    This is one of the most expensive/exclusive places to stay in the US. We love this timeshare. They have 2 different styles of 1 bd's. one is a real 1bd with a wall, the other has a curtain, more like a studio. There is no pool, but witht he ocean out your back door, you don't need one. There is so much to do with a few miles, you'll never need a car. It's not a brand new property, but the Hotel Del Coronado across the street is $300/night. Someone else mentioned the street noise, we only noticed it a couple times during rush hour.

  • Avatar for miaval44
    By miaval44 Dec 3, 2003

    Location, location, location. Directly across from the fabulous Del Coronado Hotel & a gorgeous beach. Roof-top jacuzzi and sitting area with high-quality gas grill available for use. Our room was a reasonably spacious 1- bdrm with jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace, 2 TVs, and all the appliances you need. We had a large balcony w/access from both livingroom & bdrm. Shortcomings; no on-site pool, minimal planned resort activities and the sleep sofa was uncomfortable to sit on. Staff was very attentive, friendly & helpful. Lovely resort area, very pristine, great weather, restaurants & shops. Ten minute scenic drive across the bridge to San Diego. Would stay there again in a heart-beat.

  • Avatar for galen
    By galen Updated Jan 11, 2003


Back to reviews
Resort review