Marriott's BeachPlace Towers

Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's BeachPlace Towers

Fort Lauderdale, Florida

4.1

Out of 5
40 reviews
  • 5

    (42)

  • 4

    (31)

  • 3

    (8)

  • 2

    (6)

  • 1

    (4)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's BeachPlace Towers lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for jillb348
    By jillb348 Aug 2, 2016

    Urban beach location in South Florida. Plenty to do for the entire family.

  • Avatar for maryd368
    By maryd368 Updated Feb 10, 2016

    We just got back from a week we rented from an owner. We got a great rate since it was last minute in a 2 bdrm / 2 bath condo. I will start with what we liked: The unit was spacious - great to have a full kitchen (even though we never cooked in once). Always nice to have a full Fridge, as we love our cold drinks and was able ot keep our ice coffee cold. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Very nice linens (100% cotton) with a super comfy light down duvet coverlet. We were on the 18th floor with great views of the ocean/ beach etc. Nice balcony to sit outside and watch the boats in the ocean.... What we didn't like: THE POOL! First, it was HEATED! Nothing worse than lying in the sun, getting hot, and then diving into warm water...not refreshing at all. We were shocked at how small the pool was for the amount of units/people at this resort! My sister's pool is the same size at home!! You could not swim since there were so many people in the pool. Just stood there like you were in line with others.... The BEACH! My dad used to own a condo in Sarasota (gulf coast-west side) and the beaches there are like walking on baby powder. We were SHOCKED at how filthy and narrow the beach was in Ft. Lauderdale. The sand was like walking on broken shells continuously....not soft at all. It was like dirt brown- nothing like the pure white pinkish sand in Sarasota. Also, you're packed in like sardines. Beach is too narrow. They charge for the chairs as well -$10.00 per day- they get you for parking too- $14.00 per day if you are a renter. (Owners of course is free) The Location: If you like scummy bars, tattoo parlors, drunks, heroin addicts, bums, homeless people then this is the location for you! Seriously, We would be afraid to bring our kids here!! I can't tell you how many times we were confronted with bums asking us for money as we walked along the "strip"....so many drug addicted bums just roaming the strip. Not to mention, we were bombarded by timeshare people as soon as we walked out of the elevator onto the main platform where the shops are located. It's like they watch for you to come off the elevator and POW they're in your face. Maybe we are snobs, who knows...but, as far as we're concerned, we would NEVER go back here. It is down right gangster!! Seriously, we thought it was bad during the day--wait to you see what and who comes out a night! Super seedy area!! Be warned!!

  • Avatar for daniels468
    By daniels468 Apr 10, 2015

    Spent the week in a 2 Bdrm - great place for families or just friends sharing some vacation time. Some good food within walking distance and even better restaurant 10 min drive - Las Olas. Rooms were clean and comfortable, great view from the balcony in each room, great kitchen with all you need. Staff was great

  • Avatar for wilas
    By wilas Updated Apr 5, 2015

    Great place! All of the unit was completely redone! New appliances, granite countertops, new furniture in the living room, dining room. Bedrooms had new artwork, bedding, new tubs. I loved the decorator they worked with. The elevators were great...no waiting. Concierges were helpful with restaurant reservations.

    Walked across the street to the beach everyday! The pool was nice for a few days. Great washer and dryer in the unit. Went to Publix on Cordova Rd and stocked up. Went to Las Olas for dinner and a nice walk down the avenue. Sat on the balcony and watched the boats go by....and saw the million dollar houses across the inter coastal.

    The 2- Bedroom unit was spacious, new and clean. I couldn't have asked for a better vacation! We rented over Christmas and New Years Eve ......had a great, great time! If you can go over the holidays...you are sure to have a great vacation!!!

  • Avatar for micheles36
    By micheles36 Jun 4, 2014

    Family of 5--2 Adults and 3 teenagers. Can't say enough about this resort. Location is on the beach with so many things to do with-in walking distance. Elevators are slow but everything else was very casual & fun. This is a classic casual beach resort--very relaxed. Other than checking in we really didn't deal with the staff. Check-in was problem free--had requested the inter-coastal view since last year we had the ocean view and just wanted a change. Both are good. Great having a kitchen and washer/dryer in unit with the kids. Enjoy!

  • Avatar for lindajoyceann
    By lindajoyceann Updated Mar 14, 2014

    We had a lot of fun at Marriott BeachPlace Towers. The units are very nice and clean. We had a 2 bedroom and it was perfect for the 5 of us. Only two negatives is the parking garage (ugh!) and not very convenient for golf. So much to do nearby .. just a block from the water taxi and walking distance to many great restaurants - Coconuts & Casablanca to mention a few. I loved the beach .. they clean the sand every morning and despite how much litter might be there by the evening, it was spotless every morning. I would definitely return. Next time would ask for the intercoastal side (quieter).

  • Avatar for donnap350
    By donnap350 Apr 6, 2013

    We just spent a wk over spring break at Beach place. The resort is great and lots to do in the area. YOu really don't need a car as their are restaurants all around. The beach is right across the street and the kids had a great time

  • Avatar for lisal201
    By lisal201 Updated Dec 21, 2011

    We stayed here from 12/2/11 to 12/9/11 and could not have been happier with our choice. We rented from an owner, Andy Miller, who I found on Redweek.com. Andy could not have been more helpful by answering all of my questions and making the transaction a smooth one. The room we had which we requested was on the 18th floor with the most beautiful intercostal view of multi-million dollar mansions and watching the yatchs go by.

    The location directly across the street from the beach was very convenient as well as being able to walk to many restaurants, shops and bars. The room we had was a one bedroom with a full kitchen which was large and efficient. We would return here again without question and will rent again from Andy Miller.

  • Avatar for jhanie
    By jhanie May 14, 2011

    Beautiful Beachfront location on the strip. Two choices for accomodations, Ocean View or Intercostal View. At night the intercostal view is lite up beautifuly and able to watch boats going by. Ocean View is nice during the day but nothing much to look at when it gets dark. Lots to do within walking distance of the Marriott. Great night life, restaurants and a beautiful beach right in front of you. Have been an owner their for 13 years and never had any regrets. In fact, just returned from a week stay in April 2011.

  • Avatar for jeffd249
    By jeffd249 Jul 20, 2010

    Premier location on main boulevard across street from beach. Boutique shopping, including drug/grocery store, located at base of this wonderful high-rise resort. Restaurants also on site.

  • Avatar for laurac260
    By laurac260 Updated Dec 23, 2009

    We rented a week from a private owner. We were supposed to be there for an entire week, but only got to stay two days due to a family emergency. Unfortunately I saw all I needed to see of the area to determine I would not go back.

    Regarding BeachPlace itself, the villas weren't bad. The units felt smaller and not as functional as our timeshare in Grande Ocean in HHI. I know from reading on other forums that people love having the lock off option. When we arrived a night early all that was available was the one bedroom villa portion. We were able to access the lockoff portion on our regular check in day. Personally I prefer having one two bedroom villa, rather than a one bedroom villa with what is essentially a hotel room attached. But I get why the lockoff option is something that others like. I thought it made the two bedroom villa space seem too small and choppy. I was also not a big fan of the w/d in the kitchen (if one person was doing laundry, a second person could not open the refrigerator). But still, having a w/d is better than not. The soft goods seemed fine, the furniture in our unit was nice. The appliances are in definite need of upgrading, esp the dishwasher. The stove and fridge were decent. Housekeeping is a bit lax, the bathrooms definitely need a good scrubbing. Also the kitchen items are very bare, four plates/salad bowls and one spatula? Bring paper plates/bowls. You will need them.

    As far as the grounds, there wasn't really any place to sit down and relax. Too much concrete and absolutely no grounds. It was basically a highrise hotel in a downtown area. The pictures make it look like a paradise. It wasn't, atleast not to me. The marketplace had a bar, but it was not staffed during the Sat-Monday we were there. The marketplace closed at 8pm, which I thought was rather early. We decided to check in a day early, and ended up having to eat pb&j the night we arrived because the marketplace closed so early, and with it being a saturday night we didn't feel comfortable venturing out with two little kids looking for food.

    The beach was very short, picture a busy road, sidewalk, a few steps of grainy, dirty sand, then waves. The beach itself was littered with cigarette butt and trash.

    Which brings me to the general area. Not a family friendly place. We came in on a strip that was full of bars, restaurants, etc. Saturday night and the place was hopping. It looked beautiful. But in the light of day when we went out for a morning walk what we found was tattoo parlors, seedy bars, storefronts with lots of trashy stuff in the windows, etc. I'm sure there are some beautiful areas, but mostly we saw pawn shops, gun shops, tattoo parlors, many businesses had bars on their windows, and many others were just boarded up. I didn't see many vacationers with children, and I understand why. I haven't been to Ft Lauderdale since I was 6, and after what I saw in just two days, I don't plan to go back. I think it is more for 20 to 30 somethings with no kids. I suppose if I was still in that lifestyle I could have found fun there. But as a family with small kids, it wasn't our cup of tea at all.

  • Avatar for megans53
    By megans53 Updated Oct 24, 2009

    Excellent location; beautiful rooms. My family with teens loved it!

  • Avatar for donaldm103
    By donaldm103 Oct 13, 2009

    Marriott's Beach Place Towers is one of the most terrific family vacation values on Ft. Lauderdale Beach. So convenient to dining and shopping that you do not have to rent a car. It sits on top of the Beach Place mall and there is a CVS an elevator ride away. Very hospitable staff and concierge desk ready to serve. We keep going back!

  • Avatar for melissas70
    By melissas70 May 16, 2009

    Nice accomidations, close to everything would not recommend renting a car, cost to much to park in gargage at resort and the garage can be very hectic. Would not recommend with young kids during spring break time due to large amount of bars on the grounds and on the strip by the beach.

  • Avatar for richard573
    By richard573 Updated Apr 19, 2009

    BeachPlace has become an established resort. Next door to the north, the St Regis is completed and operated as the Ritz Carlton. To the south, the Fort Lauderdale condo project is completed and occupied. The BeachPlace shopping center continues to evolve...for the better... now to include a CVS! You can find everything you need there to include wine, food, paper goods, pharmacy, beach supplies, etc. Farther.. a couple of blocks... north is the new W Hotel, the Hilton and the Trump. To the south is the new Marriott Courtyard. At BeachPlace, the newly furnished rooms are just right...we eat in most of the time, with a few nights out. Just thoroughly enjoy sitting on the deck in the am to read the paper and in the evening to watch all the activity. The views are stunning. The beach is fabulous. Find a palm tree and stay the day. There are few other streets in the world that afford the parade of cars as does A1A northbound (it's only one way past BeachPlace) be that mustangs, hotrods, luxury cars.. cars of all types... along with tons of people to see and watch. We already are looking forward to next year. Don't forget the suntan lotion.

  • Avatar for adrienne54
    By adrienne54 Mar 20, 2009

    We just spent 4 days at BeachPlace Towers. The accommodations were beautiful, and the staff is very helpful. The pool is fantastic. That being said, we would not recommend this week for families with children (we fall into that category), as it was Spring Break, and there were lots of college students staying at the hotel, and many of them were carrying giant bottles of alcohol. There were lots of very drunk people parading around the beach area. We used it as a "teachable moment" point for our child.

    We recommend the Eco Safari Tour, which is a day long tour into the Everglades, you get to ride on an airboat, learn about native culture. The guides are very well trained and enthusiastic about the environment.

    The elevators were tolerable, although slow at times. There were 2 days of heavy rains and the garage was flooded on the hotel level, a probable design flaw. So we just tried to stay away from the pools of water (which in spots were a couple of inches deep).

    Having the kitchen was great, we prepared breakfast in the room. We were not too far away from Las Olas, where we went for dinner a few times (Mango's) and Kilwin's ice cream for dessert.

  • Avatar for lloydk8
    By lloydk8 Updated Dec 22, 2008

    BeachPlace Towers is a wonderful place in a GREAT location. We were there in Dec. 2008. We had a VERY nice room on one of the higher floors on the Inter Coastal side. It had a fabulous view of the waterway and downtown which was beautiful either during the day or night. The location was perfect right along a wide stretch of some of the best beaches in Florida.

    If you like to walk as we did, you can walk to downtown along Las Olas Boulevard which has many nice shops and restaurants and then catch the Water Taxi (only $13 all day with 11 stops and on/off privileges including at the BeachPlace Towers). Also, many nice restaurants along Ocean Boulevard right in front of the resort.

    Just a couple things to watch out for….1) many of the restaurants near the hotel have signs for 2 for 1 giant Margaritas which are rip-offs at $15 each and are only half full when you get them 2) the other thing is that A1A going north runs along the front of the resort. The speed limit is 35 (with most going faster) and the traffic rarely stops for anyone in the many crosswalks. There appears to be NO traffic enforcement.

  • Avatar for constancev2
    By constancev2 Dec 8, 2008

    Other than having to use a parking ramp-- (but car stays cool and dry)- this place can't be beat!

    Gorgeous pool is the place to relax and have some lunch. We walked the beach every day- and all the way to the inlet.

    Great views-- the waterways view is more fun than the ocean-- since the ocean is dark at night--- all the lights from the city and the boats are beautiful.

    Clean, re-furnished, and one of the nicest layouts we think.

  • Avatar for markr240
    By markr240 Sep 12, 2008

    Our family has truely enjoyed Beachplace with the great beach, the Boatshow and all the events and restaurants near. Very relaxing and great facilities.

  • Avatar for joel158
    By joel158 Updated Feb 24, 2008

    After a year's absence, we returned to BeachPlace for week in early February. The weather was glorious, sunny and 75 degrees almost every day. The ocean temperature was in the low 70's, and very pleasant, but we were afraid to go too far from shore because of an infestation of Portuguese Man O' War.

    BeachPlace Towers seemed much the same as last year. We found the service and cleanliness to be fine, and our one bedroom facing the Intracoastal was quiet and comfortable. The elevators are working well....no long waits. The garage is still a pain in the neck, but you get used to it. There will be a complete renovation of all the apartments, beginning this Spring. If you visit the sales center you can see the detailed plans for the new furniture, new kitchens etc. Generally speaking the new furniture will be more modern, lighter, and less bulky. This should be a very positive change.

    The Ritz Carlton just to the north has opened but seemed half empty. The new Hilton hotel has also opened. The Trump and W hotel/apartments are still under construction.The retail scene along the beach is has not changed very much. But I heard that the shopping center below Beachplace Tower was sold and that the new owner is letting the old leases expire. I'm hoping that by next year it will start to have some interesting stores and restaurants.

  • Avatar for adamp20
    By adamp20 Jan 12, 2008

    I am a non owner. We just spent week 52 at Beach Place. This was a great place to stay with a young family. My kids are 5 and 3 and loved it. Pool in the am. Beach in the pm. It could not have been an easier holiday. We read all the reviews that mentioned concerns about slow elevators and complicated parking. We had no trouble with the elevators. With respect to the parking, you do have to drive up to the top of the garage, however, there is a private section for beach place guests which we were grateful for. There were always spots close to the elevators and it made it easy. The staff was very helpful. Housekeeping was an extra $15 per day if you wanted it, however, they were very responsive and did a good job. They will refresh your towels as often as you want at no extra charge. Looking forward to going back next year. If you are an owner reading this and have week 52 available (Dec, 2008) please post it soon so I can rent it.

  • Avatar for johne26
    By johne26 Nov 24, 2006

    November 2006

    This place ROCKS! We have vacationed there for the past 4 years. We have stayed on the Atlantic for a week, then caught a Cruise Ship from the convenient Port Everglades just a few miles away.

    Great activities in the Greater Miami Metro Area are just down the way.

    Try it: you'll like it!

  • Avatar for kevino46
    By kevino46 Updated Nov 18, 2006

    The rooms are great. It is convenient to the beach, and shops of Ft Lauderdale. The hotel is in the heart of the action (heavy traffic, lots of activity). Parking deck is difficult to navigate, but convenient to the hotel. If you are looking for a quiet vacaction, this is not the place. If you want lots of activity - people, you found it here.

  • Avatar for posttime2000
    By posttime2000 Updated Jul 19, 2006

    Stayed here for the past two years during Labor Day. Great place for everyone. Restaurants, entertainment and of course the beach is right outside your door. Rooms overlooking the intercoastal give a better view and less noise from Beach Place below the hotel. Pool area is great but does not get sun during mid to late afternoon. Also on off-season the Kid's Club does not offer services. Be sure to visit Cafe del Mar - walking distance from hotel on the Boulevard - for great food, fun and entertainment.

  • Avatar for 124peter
    By 124peter Updated Apr 14, 2006

    excellent location....good restaurants...great beach....great for New Years !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Avatar for skitimber
    By skitimber Dec 27, 2005

    Great resort and great location: Everyone gets waterfront views as half the property faces the ocean and the other half the intracoastal. You don't need to use a car as there are many restaurant (some very good) nearby. If you do use your car, you're just moments from Las Olas and activities such as concerts at the Broward Center or Riverwalk. Free live music downstairs just about every night with something for everyone during the course of a week. Daily activities for kids and, of course, the great Ft. Lauderdale Beach just a few steps from your door.

  • Avatar for norma69
    By norma69 Aug 8, 2005

    I stayed there 7/30-8/6/2005. The accomodations were beautiful and plenty of room! My only complaints were the elevators (always crowded and the need to walk through the parking lot at night to get to hotel) and the pool was too small and in need of repairs.

  • Avatar for ross14
    By ross14 Jul 21, 2005

    Stayed there end of June, 2005. Was somewhat disappointed with the property considering it was a Marriott timeshare. Traded in from my Marriott in Orlando which is really 5 star. Air Conditioning would fail intermittently throughout the week, some outlets in the kitchen didn't work.Peeling paint in living room.4 foot water spot in the hallway outside the unit, never dried all week. Units only have VHS players, no DVD players and VCR rental machine in hotel was broken all week, local Blockbusters didn't even rent VHS tapes anymore.Complained about all these issues while staying there and except for the chronic air conditioning problem got no response from staff.The water on the floor in the hallway I was told it was from condensation and couldn't be fixed. Construction on both sides of the resort diminish the attractiveness of the resort that you see in photos. Pool is only 4 foot deep. Staff was not up to Marriott par, I left my access card in the suite one day and went to the main desk to obtain another. All they asked me was for the room number before issueing new access card, no identification was ever asked for. Not up to Marriott standards and the $12 dollar a day parking fee was excessive.

  • Avatar for kekouri
    By kekouri Updated Jun 4, 2005

    Added: 5/05: HOA votes $12.00 daily parking fee. Includes owners who split week using L/O, or not exchanging into their use year. (One week will be free to owners ONLY. The second week owners will pay). I continue to feel 3 stars is appropriate, as this unfair to exchangers, traders, or renters.

    Water Taxi office (BUS) is moving offices. Michelle is no longer there, so the discounted water taxi tixs are not available for awhile. www.lauderducks.com is still broken (but available in Miami).

    ADDED 12/20/04 AND VERY IMPORTANT: According to a letter from the HOA...PARKING AT BEACH PLACE FOR TRADERS, RENTERS, OR EXCHANGERS WILL BE $12.00 PER DAY starting 4/01/05. An additional car will be $40.00 per day. Is this still considered an equal trade to other T/S/ I believe the owners may request the HOA to reconsider. However, you ought to be aware of this. Star rating has been changed from 5 to 3 for renters or exchangers. MBP is still an excellent place, but it appears a maintance fee of just under $1000 a week ought to be able to handle parking free.

    Added: 8/04: FYI= The Ft Laud Broward Cty water taxi has promised all Broward T/S users an excellent discount on the www.watertaxi.com usage, provided you follow these steps. Go to the water taxi base next to the Swimming Hall of Fame (on A1A S). Have photo ID and II, RCI or other T/S CONFIRMATION in hand. M to F to 5 PM. Buy as many tixs as you need. $5.00 off the weekly for $15.00. Also. %age off the 3 day. EVERY T/S in this section of Redweek Lists (except Weston), you can WALK to the taxi stop. Check it out. Excellent value. May not have to move car for the week.

    Added 2/04: Construction continues on St Regis hotel adjacent to the north side. Ft Lauderdale Beach Resort Hotel (and H2O resturant) closed across Cortez for another new high rise Hotel/Condo. When we stayed, there was very little noise from construction and they did stop at 5 PM. You can get very good discounts if you attend the Monday AM meeting in the owners lodge (top floor). Water Taxi discount for the week, & the taxi has many coupons for various resturants it stops at or near (ie- 15th Street Fisheries, Shooters,). Think week pass & days was $10 or 15.00. Black & WHite dress shops in the Beach Place Mall section manager gave out up to $50.00 coupons. Nearly every resturant has Ent Coupon discounts. Sometimes www.gobeachplace.com has some as well.

    Added for additional info: Some reviews on other sites inicate a laundry problem if you rent or trade a studio. There is a large, free laundry across from the gym, as the studios have no W/Ds

    Right near Las Olas, Water Taxi stop in back on Intercoastal side, this is a great location for just about everything. Studios, 1, 2 full sized Bedrooms are available. Full consererge service. Compass Kids Club/Camp. BP includes Sloppy Joes (Key West), LuLus Bait Shop (resturant), Howl at the Moon, Maxs as food service (all good to excellent). Free parking for one car only. Most park and car stays put. Use water taxi for most transport ($20 for week unlimited- includes narrative tours- see www.watertaxi.com - Walk to Las Olas, MAR Harbour Beach, & so on. Live music to late (carefull of room choice- music may penetrate through open patio doors. Beds may not be supportive enough. (As

  • Avatar for steve1421
    By steve1421 Updated Apr 5, 2005

    WE STAYED HERE IN FEB. '05' GREAT VIEW, ACTIVITIES, HELP, & LOCATION. DISAPOINTED WITH A GOLD CROWN RATING. BASEBOARDS NEED PAINT, HOT TUB NEEDED CLEANED, POOL WAS NOT HEATED FOR 5 DAYS UNTIL SOMEONE TOLD FRONT COUNTER,& LARGE STAIN SPOT ON CARPET 5TH FLOOR BY ELEVATOR. ALEX at CONCEIRE DESK WAS GREAT HELP.

    WOULD RETURN SOMETIME. DONT FORGET TO MOVE LAWN CHAIR TO SOUTH SIDE OF DECK IF YOU WANT SUN AFTER 4-5PM. WATER TAXI BOARDS 1 BLOCK BEHIND RESORT... GREAT VALUE $5.00 ALL DAY....MAKE SURE TO TAKE WATER TAXI UP TOWN TO LAS-OLAS & RIVERFRONT! NICE WALK!

  • Avatar for marcia189
    By marcia189 Dec 11, 2004

    This is a great place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale. It is is in the midst of all the action. It is within walking distance of everything and is right on the water taxi line. The ammenities are excellent with multiple daily activities available directly through the resort as well as built in entertainment from the shopping and restaurants/lounges on the three floors below the resort. The concerns about the parking garage and the construction going on on both sides are exaggerations. Neither of these two issues were as big of a deal as some reflect them to be. We would definately stay here again.

  • Avatar for daveozks
    By daveozks Updated Nov 16, 2004

    JUST STAYED AT BEACHPLACE TOWERS FOR THE THIRD TIME AND THE PLACE IS GREAT!

    1. POOL IS VERY NICE AND ADEQUATE CONSIDERING YOU'RE JUST ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE ATLANTIC OCEAN (WHICH HAS PLENTY OF WATER) AND THE TWO HOT TUBS ARE SUPER.

    2. PARKING IS THE BEST, FLOORS 4 & 5 OF THE GARAGE. YOU'RE NEVER MORE THAN A FEW HUNDRED FEET FROM THE ELEVATORS THAT TAKE YOU RIGHT UP TO YOUR ROOM. THE PARKING WAS FREE.

    3. BEACH IS RIGHT ACROSS A1A, TWO LANE ONE WAY STREET WHICH WE FOUND EASY TO CROSS. ALSO THERE IS AN TUNNEL THAT GOES UNDER THE STREET RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE RESORT AND BRINGS YOU OUT ON THE BEACH. COULDN'T BE ANY SAFER, ESPECIALLY WITH CHILDREN.

    4. FOUND ROOM TO BE VERY CLEAN, IN EXCELLENT CONDITION AND VERY COMFORTABLE.

    5. WE HAD A GREAT VIEW OF THE OCEAN (IN 1/2 OF THE ROOMS) AND THE OTHER 1/2 HAVE A VIEW OF THE INTERCOSTAL WATERWAY.

    6. NOTICED IN THE DAILY BULLETIN MANY ACTIVITIES FOR THE KIDS TO PARTICIPATE IN AND THEY ALSO HAVE MOM & DAD' NIGHTS OUT WHERE THE RESORT PROVIDES ACTIVITIES & EATS FOR THE KIDS IN THE EVENING. (SLIGHT CHARGE)

    7. CONSTRUCTION ON ADJACENT BUILDING WHICH MADE SOME NOISE BUT VERY TOLERABLE.

    8. GREAT LOCATION, CLOSE TO AIRPORT ($18.00 TAXI RIDE), CLOSE TO THE ACTION, TWO BLOCKS TO WATER BUS ON THE INTERCOSTAL, FOUR BLOCKS TO DEEP SEA FISHING, HAS MANY, MANY RESTAURNTS AND SHOPS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OR BY A RIDE ON THE WATER BUS.

    CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN! A+++++++++

  • Avatar for motoole
    By motoole Apr 30, 2004

    This was our first time staying here. Everything excellent; location, room, accomodations.

  • Avatar for housefrau
    By housefrau Jan 3, 2004

    Very well maintained and nicely appointed two room timeshare with lockout for total privacy. Definitely what you would expect from a Marriott property. The short walk to the ocean was delightful and the waves were great when we were there. Many good restaurants near-by or a water taxi ride away. Had a fun time at the Ft. Lauderdale flea market. The nightly music downstairs in the plaza was an enjoyable way to end the evening.

  • Avatar for pwrshift
    By pwrshift Updated Mar 30, 2003

    Former managemement let Beach Place deteriorate over the past few years, but in the Fall of 2002 the suites were repainted, new carpets, new thick mattresses, and new sofabeds. I split my two lockoff weeks and stayed 4 weeks mid-Feb to mid-Mar and loved every minute of it. Great location, tons of things to do and see, and record setting summer-like weather this year! Can't wait to go back. A million dollar view.

  • Avatar for geocollazo
    By geocollazo Updated Mar 29, 2003

    Stayed here during week of 3-23-03...Was impressed with location of the property and the quality of the room (stood in Deluxe Guest Room)....Had view of ocean from 9th floor...hardly heard outside noise with patio window closed.

    Amenities were what I expected from Marriott Vacation Club...enjoyed the fact that property was located above an outdoor mall with bars & restuarants...along with the beach just across the street.

    Be warned: A1A road can back up very easily during high traffic...if you can avoid driving your car often, do so...Closest supermarket just 3.5 miles away from Beachplace...worth the trip to stock up on what you need for the room.

    Free Parking is located on 4th & 5th floor of property for Marrott guest only...Can be a pain in the A** when going in and out often.

    Water taxi - although nice, runs every hour on weekdays and takes approx 40-45 minutes from Las Olas Riverplace to Beachplace...Discounted ride passes offered at owners meeting on Mondays.

    Enjoyed owner's meeting...good info on what to do in the area...Took advantage of Scuba diving offer at hotel...If going to SCUBA or Snorkel, keep in mind that you have to drive 8.5 miles on A1A North to boat dock area and park in municipal parking across marina that cost approx $4.00-$5.00...If weather look questionable, please call the tour Operator (OCean Promotion) to see if trip has been cancelled or not...or else pay parking fee to find out 1st hand.

    Golfers - Found two courses close by (10 miles in Hollywood, FL) that offer 18 holes for $40.00 with cart...$25.00 for club rentals...Hollywood and Orangebrook GC...Choices offered by Property are closer but MORE expensive.

    Overall, I was very impressed with accomodations and would go back there again.

  • Avatar for nagasper
    By nagasper Dec 20, 2002

    Resort is top of the line, including front desk service. Great location, too. Parking garage can be a bit tedious going around in and out.

  • Avatar for grounder32819
    By grounder32819 Nov 18, 2002

    Had a 2 bedroom, 10th floor, center of the bulding above the pool deck looking out onto the public beach accross the street and the ocean. The shopping and dining areas connected to the property keep your parked pretty much the whole time you are there. A little more going on around this Marriott property than others but still very good.

  • Avatar for mikes
    By mikes Updated Oct 2, 2002

    The highrise bulding enjoys prime location on a superb beach. Service and housekeeping is up to Marriott's standards. Relative to the number of guests in the building the pool and the terrace are of limited capacity. Restaurants, bars and other commercial establishments located on the first two floors may cause considerable noise problems. In peak holiday season and over the school break the public beach in front of the resort becomes quite crowded.

  • Avatar for mike0917
    By mike0917 Updated Oct 2, 2002

    GREAT location! Beautiful pool and services.

Back to reviews
Resort review