Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort at Gatlinburg

Gatlinburg, Tennessee


  • Avatar for marko205
    By marko205 Aug 27, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort
  • Avatar for bigeyes1
    By bigeyes1 Oct 13, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We've been in the "timeshare world" since 1998. This exchange was by far the BEST exchange we've ever had. Our jaws dropped when we first arrived at the Westgate Smoky Mountains. It is so beautiful and breathtaking. The staff always greet you with a smile and/or a friendly wave. The units (we had a stand alone cabin) are so gorgeous. The landscaping is well-maintained and well-lit.

    The cons: (yep, even this resort has some flaws) - They charge for internet usage. If you like to be connected to the outside world, make sure you bring your own source. Luckily, we brought our broadband and didn't need Westgate's internet service. Secondly, while they are pet-friendly, they have just recently raised their pet fees. It now costs $100 refundable pet deposit if there are no damage and a $170 NON-REFUNDABLE cleaning fee. Simply ridiculous!! Thirdly, the unit did had some minor maintenance issues. We told them about it so hopefully, this will get fixed before the next person comes in.

    The location of the Westgate Smoky Mountains resort is great: Right between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg and right next to the Smoky Mountains National Park entrance.

    Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to exchange into this resort again. We would just save money in advance for the outrageous pet deposit fees.

  • Avatar for patrickc196
    By patrickc196 Jul 22, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    The service was fantastic. Anytime we needed something, even something small like a spatula, our request was serviced within 10 minutes and our room was located near the top of the mountain. Location is between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge so you don't have to go through one city to get to the other. Kids love the water park. On-site restaurant is wonderful. We've been twice and enjoyed our vacation each time.

  • Avatar for nancyk31
    By nancyk31 Jun 10, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We visited in June 09 and were very happy with the resort. The check in was excellent, and the people friendly. We were given a unit in the tower but complained that we did not come to stay in a high rise and they moved us to a cabin the next day. We were very happy since it was close enough to walk or get a shuttle to the pool, which was very crowded.

    We were close to Gatlinblurg and the city life, and had a lovely view of the woods. we were happy here and would like to go back someday. Our grandchildren also had a good time visiting the local attractions and Dollywood!

  • Avatar for danield94
    By danield94 Oct 6, 2009

    My wife and I traded to be able to stay at the Westgate Smoky Mountains in June. We received an efficiency unit, which was joke. In our efficiency, all of our "conveniences" were crammed into a space 20 by 20 feet. Our view was not of the mountains, it was the walkway in front of our door. Our "concierge" was non-existent. The fact we traded from another resort apparently meant we were to be simply tolerated. What a shame as we have visited other Westgate Resorts and had an interest in buying here. The resort itself appeared to be very nice, but we would not know as we were denied the opportunity, in spite of our requests, to even see a unit. We were allowed to sit on the deck of one of the lounges and watch group after group being paraded past us being lead by salespeople pointing out all of the nice features at Westgate Smoky Mountains.

  • Avatar for dann21
    By dann21 Dec 27, 2007

    Just stayed here Christmas week 2007 with wife and 2 kids. We all had a great time. Location is very close to both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Cabin was very spacious with DVD players. Parking was great as we always parked right infront of our Cabin. Waterpark was not the best I have ever been to but everyone had a great time. There is a lot to do in the area. If traveling to this area I would highly recommend this resort and we will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Avatar for cathi8
    By cathi8 Jun 2, 2007

    Exceptional resort. great indoor waterpark. excellent service.. Only drawback is check-in time is somewhat slow. We go every year with two children and have a blast. We love the cabin style, garden tub, and fireplace.

  • Avatar for joanl2
    By joanl2 Sep 11, 2006

    Resort is beautifull Water park isn't finished yet, but is huge. Walls thin even though made of logs. Need to put something on the bottom of the dining chairs to cut down on the sound of moving furniture. Maintenance needed taken care of immediately. Everyone very friendly. Avoid peak seasons, as the traffic is terrible. Many activities for kids. No restaurant so you have to leave the property or cook in. They have nice grills for you to use. Washer and dryer are not in your unit. You share it with 3 units. Shows in Pigeon Forge are fantastic. Don't miss The Smith Family show! It is the best!!!! Joan

  • Avatar for ty24
    By ty24 Updated Aug 29, 2006

    My wife, my toddler and myself have stayed here several times and found the staff very accomodating even at 1:00am when we checked in one time. The place itself is physically Awesome. Babbling stream running almost beneath our log cabin. Very picturesque with stone mountains, tall trees and Horseback riding (which my little one just went crazy for). Fireplace, beautiful decor and nice amenities. Definely a 5-star experience as far as timeshare resorts go. Quaint trolley going into the town (less than 10 mins if I remember correctly) and tourist info center just across the road. Wish I could spend a week there avery month, but... :) Hope this review helps P.S. the high pressure timeshare 'tour' will take a bite out of your experience. Do it only when you're ready to buy. Definitely our favorite place to stay in the Smoky Mtns.

  • Avatar for pa11261
    By pa11261 Jun 12, 2006

    Just returned from here last week. Occupied a 1 Br which was beautiful. Facilities were good for us. Agree with earlier assessment that there are some "sound" challenges. Floors are thin. Woke up to kids running upstairs in am, and chairs sliding on floor. Mgmt is aware of this.

    If you go, attempt to get a unit up the hill, as the ones on the lower levels seem to be like row houses... extremely congested.

  • Avatar for jeffeckel
    By jeffeckel Updated Apr 25, 2006

    Beautiful resort. In construction so some of the amminities are lacking but an indoor pool with lazy river should be done next year.

    Only negative are the rooms are not soundproof enough. Can't hear voices or TV's but you can hear walking etc and check in is too slow.

    Overall it is the best resort in the Smokies at this point. I have stayed or visited every one and I have owned 7 of them. Crown Point will be another good one when its built.

  • Avatar for anna258
    By anna258 Aug 3, 2005

    I agree that the check-in process needs ALOT of work. We preregistered for check-in at 1:30pm. Supposedly, after this you can just come back at 4pm and get your keys. WRONG. We came back at 4:00pm to find dozens of others waiting for the congested and SLOW check-in process. We waited for an HOUR or so to get our keys and we are OWNERS. We definitely let them know our thoughts on the set-up in our guest survey and by talking to the management.

    We had an awesome 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin at the VERY top of the hill. Our balcony was huge and up in the treetops. We couldn't have asked for a better spot. We LOVED the cabin! It was definitely 5 Stars!

    A big problem is that there are only TWO pools that serve the ENTIRE Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort and they are TINY. That was our other complaint on our survey.

    Other than that, we were very happy with our stay. There were 6 unchaperoned boys ages 4-14 years old at the pool who were doing dangerous jumps and flips over the tops of small children's heads in the tiny pool. I called security and within minutes they were there and spoke with the boys and told us if we had any more problems to call and they would escort them back to their cabin.

    The two big issues are the check-in nightmare and the lack of adequate pools.

  • Avatar for ronald118
    By ronald118 Updated Jul 13, 2005

    The Management of this complex is extrememly poor. The check-in process may require an hour or more. Parking is very limited. -- The original units are fine, but beware of the units which parallel the Gatlingburg Highway - the road noise is extreme & outdoors is like living next to an interstate highway.

    We were annoyed by a next door neighbor who held an extremely loud drinking party that lasted all night - repeated calls to management were fruitless.

    We also experienced the "intrusive pressure to take the 'inventory survey' (aka Sales presentation) which was deceptive and many participants were anoyed that they were lured into presentation without any incentives." We bypassed this scam.

    Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Avatar for johnny45
    By johnny45 Sep 9, 2004

    located just off hgwy 441 in gatlinburg. lots to do in area. trolley service available to gatlinburg and pigeon forge if you don't feel like driving. friendly staff.

  • Avatar for glenda67
    By glenda67 Jul 19, 2004

    Beautiful. Convenient location. Large variety of entertainment possibilities from shopping to hiking to theme parks to live entertainment. Unbelievable scenery.

  • Avatar for lititz
    By lititz Updated May 11, 2004

    This resort is under construction, which accounts for only a small amount of the noise. The resort is next to a major highway. The floors and walls are paper thin resulting in noise traveling in all directions. Be warned, across the street is a water treatment facility from which stench can be smelled on occassion-our experience was 2 of 7 days). There are very few amenities outside of the villa (villa's are beautiful, but stay out of the dark, small lockoff units). There are no game rooms, shuffle board, indoor pool, etc.... The weekly activities are pretty good, though. Staff was friendly, but there was intrusive pressure to take the "inventory survey" (aka Sales presentation) which was deceptive and many participants were anoyed that they were lured into presentation without any incentives. There is horseback riding and hiking on site. The $.25 trolley to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg and Dollywood is a bargain! The Smoky Mountain area is SPECTACULAR. LOTS to do.

  • Avatar for dmoore
    By dmoore Sep 15, 2003

    Very new and nice. Good location, close to all activities. Great plans for future.

Back to reviews
Resort review