Report Abuse

Catch 22 - Need advice as 1st time renter........

Let me preface this by saying I am pretty new to timeshare do's and don'ts. Here is my dilemma. I found a lady on e-bay who was advertising a week at the exact resort I wanted. Her record on e-bay was excellent, so I contacted her but it was a fixed week and did not work for me. She said she could get me something else through RCI (I think we know where this one is going?). She did get me what I wanted - we completed a rental agreement (Jayjay's template) according to our agreed upon terms; money was exchanged and she emailed me my reservation confirmation and my guest certificate. RCI also faxed me a confirmed guest certificate directly. While all this transaction was about to happen, I had been reading forums here trying to make sure I was doing things right (that is how I came up with the rental agreement) and after talking with her and her record on e-bay was excellent, I felt comfortable going forward. I had, however, read one or two forums about it being against the rules to rent to an exchange. I queried this with the lady (not understanding really what an exchange was at the time) and she don't worry about that, that she did this all the time and RCI don't really care. Frankly, I did not really understand much about "banked weeks" or "exchanges" and based on her re-assurance- I felt all was ok and went ahead. I have subsequently read more and more forums - and being more educated, I do believe she actually did rent me an exchange. I feel badly about this yet my money is paid and my reservation is confirmed. But I also learned from the forums that not only could her membership be cancelled with RCI but that I could be denied my reservation at check in - should they find out about this. Again, when I agreed to rent a week from her and I did not fully understand if it was or wasn't an exchange, the rules, or the ramifications. I queried it with the member and she assured me all was ok - in fact, s