Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Renting my vacation Weeks

Mar 18, 2008

When I purchased my time share they threw in 2 additional weeks that I can use at any RCI resort around the world I only need to pay for the first night. How would I go about renting these out since it is not a set week or a set resort?

Sally T.
Mar 18, 2008

I'm not sure exactly what you're asking, but I'll give it a shot. Are the 2 additional weeks in your RCI account? Are the weeks transferrable?

R P.
Mar 18, 2008

jayjay wrote:
I'm not sure exactly what you're asking, but I'll give it a shot. Are the 2 additional weeks in your RCI account? Are the weeks transferrable?

Yes they are in the RCI account and I'm not exactly sure what transferrable means. Sorry I'm new to all this.

Sally T.
Mar 18, 2008

Since the weeks have been deposited into your RCI account .... RCI rules state that deposited weeks can't be rented or sold. If you were selling your timeshare, the weeks could be transferred to a buyer if the buyer is an RCI member. The only solution I see is that you confirm reservations somewhere and use those confirmations yourself or you can give/gift those confirmations to family or friends by buying RCI guest certificates. The only compensation to you being the guest certificate fee and the exchange fee (totalling around $200 for each confirmation).

R P.

Last edited by jayjay on Mar 18, 2008 10:33 AM

Mar 18, 2008

Maybe I am mistaken by saying they are in my account I haven't deposited anything. From what I understand I have the week where I stay at my timeshare and then I have two additional weeks where I can stay anywhere at anytime. I'm under the impression that when I want to use those weeks I call up and book them. But I haven't done anything with them, nothing has been deposited.

Sally T.
Mar 18, 2008