General Discussion

Newbie: Questions on TS prices and selling getaways?

May 14, 2009

Hello. I'm totally new to the timeshare scene. We were planning on buying a timeshare in Florida for about $5500 with an Interval Gold membership. But I saw on a few sites where the resale timeshares cost around $100 or $200 with maintenance fees of $400-$500 per year. So here are my questions:

1. Resale Timeshares that are for $100 to $200...are they the real deal? How do you tell what is legit and what is a "scam"? What are the safe websites to use to purchase resale timeshares?

2. Some of these timeshares offer the Interval Gold membership. I hear the getaways for a 1-bedroom for a week can be around $299. Is that true? If not, what is the average getaway price for a 1-bedroom for a week?

3. The salesperson at the timeshare we went to said that you can even SELL your getaways for a higher price. Thus, if we pay $179 for a one week getaway in the Caribbean (he showed us print-outs), we can sell that for $1500. Is this true? Has anyone ever sold a getaway? Is it even allowed?

Thanks for answering my questions.

JB

James B.
May 14, 2009

If you are dealing with sales person [Developer] and their mouth is moving they have probably lied to you or just clueless or both! You are over paying so back off like it seems your doing by asking questions. Buy resale and at this time there are so many good deals out there.