Note: Please do not post ads in the timeshare forums. If you want to add a timeshare posting, go here.

Original Message:

Timeshare ownership vs vacation property ownership (by KC):

jurih wrote:
Why do people prefer to purchase timeshares over actually owning their own place. I've never understood the fascination with timeshare when so many people get scammed repeatedly. Does it not make sense to just own the vacation property? Or does the annual maintenance and management of a second dwelling make it unattractive to own.

Please help me figure it out.

I'll offer my input, based upon personal experience with both; I have owned a second home (i.e., vacation property) in the past (but no longer). It can be argued that SOME real estate ownerships MAY increase in value whereas MOST timeshares definitely will NOT. However, there are numerous other factors to consider too. I have nearly 30 years of timeshare ownership experience (all weeks were resale purchases), so I'll directly compare the two:

There is something to be said for a guaranteed, routinely maintained condo, with lots of space, full kitchen, on site maintenance staff, pool, etc. --- with access on guaranteed dates in locations of your choice and preference. Pre-cleaned and fully prepped before you check-in (as opposed to "do it all yourself" (with appliances, cookware, dishware, linens, cleaning, seasonal maintenance) upon each and every arrival and visit as an individual vacation property owner.

Unlike individually owning a vacation property, a timeshare owner is NOT personally responsible for handling grounds maintenance (mowing grass, plantings, pruning trees, removing downed tree limbs and branches, trash removal, etc.), or property security, pest control, property insurance, facility maintenance, plumbing, heat and air conditioning, roofing, and the nuisance (and cost) of periodically upgrading and / or repairing appliances or furniture.