Jul 12, 2009

Hello! I am new to redweek.com and I have heard great things about this site. How successful have you been in actually renting out timeshare weeks? I currently own in South Africa which I have been successfully exchanging each year, but I am also thinking of buying at the Morritts Tortuga in Grand Cayman. Since I will not be using both timeshares every year, I need to be able to successfully rent one out. If there is success in renting, I will purchase the Morritts In Grand Cayman timeshare. Let me know if renting has worked- especially for Grand Cayman. I just need to be sure I have a good chance that my annual fees will be covered by renting my week before I purchase more timeshares.

Thanks for any advice! Darla

Darla M.
Jul 13, 2009

darlam23 wrote:
Hello! I am new to redweek.com and I have heard great things about this site. How successful have you been in actually renting out timeshare weeks? I currently own in South Africa which I have been successfully exchanging each year, but I am also thinking of buying at the Morritts Tortuga in Grand Cayman. Since I will not be using both timeshares every year, I need to be able to successfully rent one out. If there is success in renting, I will purchase the Morritts In Grand Cayman timeshare. Let me know if renting has worked- especially for Grand Cayman. I just need to be sure I have a good chance that my annual fees will be covered by renting my week before I purchase more timeshares.

Thanks for any advice! Darla

I know many people own SA timeshares for trading purposes, though after searching a few websites, I did not see a hugh amount of rentals (I'm not sure if that is good or bad).

Search the web and determine the what the market will bear for renting the Morritts In Grand Cayman. IMHO, I would not buy a timeshare knowing that I would ultimately have to rent it out.