Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Need a week in Maui, need advice (newbie here)

Jun 22, 2010

I have rented from DVC owners before, so I am familiar with the timeshare process and rentals, but Maui has me a bit confused. Mostly because there are several condo communities, in addition to those owned by major chains like Marriott and Westin.

Questions?

Where should I be looking to rent from? I am worried about getting scammed on this end of the transaction too, and I am curious if anyone has any ideas?

Is week 19 (the week above) difficult to find? On the rental sites, it seems like that week is just plain not available at many locations?

Does anyone recommend a specific part of the island over another?

TIA for any assistance. I apologize in advance if this post breaks any forum rules.

James T.

Last edited by marty8084 on Jun 23, 2010 10:45 PM

Jun 23, 2010

Your post might get deleted by a Moderator if it is determined that it should instead be placed as a (paid) "RedWish" ad. The forums are for discussion, not for conducting business. If your post is not removed however, a few generic observations follow:

1. Keep in mind that, more often than not, a resort will clearly specify a maximum legal occupancy of 6 people for a 2BR unit.

2. Good potential rental sites include RedWeek, MyResort Network. Go the specific geographic area of interest on either site and read through what is advertised as available. You will also then see whether your identified "maximum price" is realistic or achievable.