Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii


  • Avatar for trudys2
    By trudys2 Feb 27, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    If you are looking for a full service resort with restaurant and food delivered to your pool lounge this may not be the resort for you. But if you are interested in a beautiful large 2 bedroom condo with huge lanai and a peaceful vacation, this is the resort for you. We could easily stay here for a month or two. Even though you have to enter the resort from Ali'i Rd, you can avoid much of the traffic by turning up (or down) Lunapule at the stop sign and use Kuankini to go toward Kona or Keahole. The resort is a fairly easy walk from downtown Kona which is a big plus. Beds are some of the most comfortable we have slept in. This resort is set on a hill and the better units are toward the top. There are two nice pools with hot tubs. Only complaint would be that the setting for most activities is on a parking lot under a tent, but since we are one of many families that don't participate, we really shouldn't mention it. The wifi bandwidth should be increased for the number of wifi enabled devices that people bring with them these days. We were able to get wifi, but sometimes it was slow. We will definitely be back.

  • Avatar for a123
    By a123 Nov 15, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Second time to the island, and first time to this resort. We stayed at the Hilton (fabulous) for a few days prior to our stay here. The Hilton is located north of Kona and is in a much newer area of the island. The Wynhdam Kona Hawaiian Resort is located in the old section of Kona, close to all the in town amenities, but subject to in town traffic congestion. The staff is exceptionally responsive and friendly. A few minor issues with the unit and they were resolved within minutes.

    The complex is located on a sloped lot, with the first phase on the lower section. We were told that all the units were furnished the same. NOT. The upper sloped units had newer furnishings and are usually reserved for owners of the resort who can reserve a specific unit up to 13 months in advance. We did a rental through an exchange company and got it for $375 for the week. Just paid cash. No trade. Despite this, we did get a choice of several units in the lower section and picked a nice upper floor end unit adjacent to a large (maybe 15 acre) vacant parcel. We arrived early, checked in and then went off grocery shopping at "The KTA" a few miles away while the unit was getting ready. While shopping, the staff called and informed us that the unit was ready for occupancy. Again, great service!! We later hit Costco a few days later to get the big stuff.

    All units, both old and new are set up the same way. Only difference is slightly newer furniture. All have huge lanai's and great floorplans. The grounds are immaculate, quiet, and very pleasing. The outdoor BBQ's work great.

    As mentioned by others, beach chairs, boogie boards, and sand toys for the kids are available to use at no cost. These are left overs by previous guest.

    The concierge desk is helpful, but they make most of their money setting up timeshare presentations. Some one else does the presentation. They originally offered us a $100 amex cash card or an excersion discount card good for 20-40% off activities. We turned them down, and a few days later on our door, they left a note upping the cash card to $150 to attend.

    We caved in, did the presentation and held the sales person to the 60 minutes promised. I gave them a 5 minute warning, and the sales staff got irritated and said I was "time crunching" her. She went on for another 15 minutes before wraping it up and giving us the amex card. A few other guests told me later they had been sucked in for 2-3 hours!! FYI. They wanted around $22K for a points program membership through the developer. Also, the Worldmark next door is poor. Looks like a cheap motel.Don't go there. The guest below us went last year and confirmed that.

    Graet time and we have already arranged a return visit, this time doing and exchange.

  • Avatar for eugene237
    By eugene237 Apr 8, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    “Garden of Eden setting in Kailua/Kona” The Kona Wyndham Hawaiin Resort is a beautiful spot on the resort lined Alii Drive along the coast of Kailua/Kona. The grounds are magnificient! There are even are a number of apple banana trees with fruit on them. Three historical sites are encompassed within the grounds of the resort. One nice feature of the resort is that it is comprised of small double/triple/ two story buildings as opposed to some resorts that are structures like hotels with long indoor hallways. Makes it feel very private.

    The unit we stayed in which I was able to obtain through RedWeek.com had been rennovated within the last five years. It was clean, well equiped and very comfortable. You can tell rennovated units by the fact they have metal roofs as opposed to ones with cedar shingle roofs. Appliances were new as well. The unit had two new large flat screen LED tv's with 80 channels. The 2nd bedroom did not have a tv. but then who comes to Hawaii to watch tv? The resort also offers free Wi-fi, a small business center and exercise room. The furniture all looked relaltively new. Rugs were clean. The private linai provided us with a view of the Ocean and the sunset and a beautiful spot for meals.

    The resort provides a number of bbq areas relatively close to each unit. At first I was not impressed, being more familiar with each unit having it's own bbq. However the bbq's that were provided were first rate, commercial type units that worked very well! Besides it gave an opportunity to visit with other guests while bbq your Ono or Mahi steaks.

    Excluding the timeshare sales staff, the strength of the resort is it's people, The registration was done quickly and ably by people like Albert. We were able to select our unit from a number of choices given to us. Any requests by housekeeping and maintenace were dealt with quickly with a follow up by the front desk. There are a number of activities offered and most are related to Hawaiian cullture and traditions. These activities and the staff doing them were excellent! Thursday afternoon is "make your own sundae' activity.

    Two swimming pools exist:a larger upper pool and a smaller lower pool. Both pools are appropriate for children. Both were very clean with clean change rooms. Pool towels are provided in the villas. The villas have centralized air conditioning, not ones stuck in a window.

    A neat feature at the resort is what is known as the "Green Patio" type storage unit filled wiith borrowable beach items such as chairs, mats, goggles, inflatable toys etc, donated by previous guests. These can be borrowed for the duration of the stay and then returned. No need to buy!

    One drawback is that the resort does not have a convience store and if you don't have a car, supplies maybe a problem. Other wise the resort is centrally located to most attractions and other ammenities and there are a number of the ubiquitous Hawaiin ABC stores along Alli Drive. The resort is within walking distance to a number or smaller beaches.

    Not-withstanding the timeshare presentation, this is an excellent to stay when in the Kailua/Kona area. It is very family friendly. It also has a number of specially equipped units for handicapped impaired.

    We would stay again!

  • Avatar for denisew
    By denisew Updated Jan 17, 2010

    Upon our arrival we were greeted by a native playing a ukulele and serving Hawaiian bread and guava punch. Nice spacious unit perfect for 4 people with 2 large bathrooms with entire suite in the master including a wonderful jetted claw foot tub. Shower in each bathroom. Master has a door to the spacious veranda with lots of patio furniture including a giant table for outdoor dining. There is an eating bar for 4 in the kitchen area as well. The unit could easily sleep 6. Beautifully appointed in an authentic Hawaiian theme; the resort is modeled after an 1880 Hawaiian Village. Palm thatched roofs create a rustic island ambiance and lush fruit trees and flowering plants are prevalent throughout the village. We are in an upstairs unit which provides beautiful ventilation in the unit and peeks of the ocean. At night you can hear the ocean waves crashing since the resort is right across from the shoreline. This time of year seems to be a quiet time to visit and the weather has been wonderful. Wireless free internet in room. Exercise room was in excellent shape with towels, television etc. Upper pool has a kids pool and adult pool with a Jacuzzi including lots of picnic tables, umbrellas and lounge chairs. The main pool is wonderful and has a very unique hot tub amidst large lava boulders with a sandy bottom. This is an area that is used for many of the resorts activities including a nice party with entertainment one night a week. Any maintenance issues were dealt with immediately. If you like tropical waters, exotic foliage, extreme beauty and a serene atmosphere, you will love this resort.

  • Avatar for ellens144
    By ellens144 Updated Oct 31, 2009

    I stayed here in August 2008 and LOVED it! The resort design and landscaping were lovely, great location close to town (although lots of traffic outside at times). Large grounds. There is a pool hidden in the middle of some of the bungalows that is much nicer than the one that is easy to find--the hidden one has waterfalls and a hot tub with a sand bottom. The bungalows are decorated old Hawaiian style (supposedly) and are very nice.

    If you want to eat really cheap, go to any of the shopping centers and do takeout from either one of the Hawaiian Barbeque or Chinese restaurants. You can get two or three meals out of one of their takeout platters, all of which are under $10. Much much cheaper than buying groceries at island prices & going to the trouble of cooking.

    They will try to hustle you into a sales presentation and dangle big tour discounts in front of you because they give you a Diamond Card. If you look on ebay I think you can buy one for yourself before you leave and you will save $$$ and can avoid the presentation. They wouldn't talk to me because my husband wasn't along, which was just fine, although I did feel ike a second class citizen.

    They have several FREE activities that are worth doing, especially the lei making--they give you piles of dendrobium orchids to make your lei with. Imagine how much they would cost at home!

    If you want to go to the beach there are lots around. I found the nicest one was a bit of a drive, but it was well worth it--it's near the Veterans' Cemetery and absolutely amazing. The closer by beaches are not bad, it's just that this one is beyond beautiful.

    Be sure to do the Mauna Kea trip if you can, it's another amazing experience. And be sure to see the Place of Refuge. I found the Circle Island Tour by bus well worth the cost, if you can handle a 14 hour bus tour.

  • Avatar for kevinh89
    By kevinh89 Sep 18, 2009

    Stayed there in April 2007. The resort itself was very very nice. We had a 2nd floor unit (also nice). Balcony was great (overlooked the pool) so it was great to have breakfast out there. The only issues: The "hot tub" isn't heated, so it's a bit cool. The ants in the kitchen were not welcome. The furniture seems a bit dated (like the couch in the living room should've been steam cleaned as you could see it had been used a bit). Bathrooms were nice, but someone needs to rethink the bamboo "screens" on the showers as they're all black with mold/mildew. Oh, the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was great. Until we turned on the bubbles and out came a bunch of black floaty things. (someone needs to actually use some bleach in the system to clean it).

  • Avatar for sh18
    By sh18 Jun 26, 2008

    We just came back from the Kona Hawaiian Resort. We had a 2 BR unit and it was one of the nicest units we've had. You are a block or so from the ocean where you can watch surfers. It's a little further to a location where you can actually swim. This resort is walking distance from town. The employees were very friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again in an instant.

    The only negative would be the pool area. It almost seems like it was an afterthought. But - we didn't use it and had no intention of using the pools. We were in Hawaii and we did things there that we couldn't do at home.

  • Avatar for sandrad152
    By sandrad152 Jan 31, 2008

    easy walk to beach and town. Hawaiian fauna, pick bananas outside your apt. Beautifully maintained, friendly and helpful for all your needs for a perfect Hawaiian holiday.

  • Avatar for marlene109
    By marlene109 Updated Oct 15, 2006

    If you want an ocean view, don't stay here. If you want beach to relax on, don't stay here.

    Our stay was in a two bedroom unit with family and we had all we needed. Beautifully decorated, totally functional, including full kitchen and apartment style laundry. Within easy access to restaurants, shopping, beaches and entertainments/excursions of all kinds. Hottub totally cool, free formed waterfall of warm water. Be sure to have a car so you won't miss heading up the mountain for a horseback ride OR taking a plane ride over the lava flow.

  • Avatar for donnav25
    By donnav25 Mar 30, 2006

    LOVE this resort! Extremely clean, lovely, charming and perfect for families and lovebirds alike. Spa is awesome and lanai is unbelievable. Can't wait to return and will place our preferences on our wish list for owners looking to rent.

  • Avatar for kevin.tft
    By kevin.tft Updated Oct 27, 2005

    What a wonderful place for a 25th Wedding Anniversary trip! We could not have been more pleased! It was better than everything we read about the resort. Set in a 1940's atmosphere, the resort has feel of "old hawaii". There is even a music cd in your room with recordings of 1940's radio shows from Waikki beach. We had spent our first week on Waikki beach. Nice touch!

    The pool and the hot tub was gorgeous. The resort has a meet/greet session that is very helpful on getting to know the area. The staff was extremely helpful in planning our week.

    You really do not go to the big island for the beaches. If you want normal beaches go another island, but then again if you want different this is the place. The lava rock beaches, black sand beaches, and the secluded beaches are a sight to see. With a 4 X 4 vehicle, we found a small state park beach that we had to ourselves several days.

    Plenty to do and see. We traveled over most of the island. The big island has everything from desert conditions to rain forests. What a trip in a great resort. We would go again.

  • Avatar for kathy1909
    By kathy1909 May 7, 2005

    As stated in another review, don't confuse Kona Hawaiian Village with the other Kona Village. We have always had a 2nd floor unit with either a view of the ocean (at a distance as you are across the street) or a unit overlooking the pool and parklike grounds. We found it to be an easy and enjoyable walk to town for coffe in the mornings. You would probably have to drive to a sandy beach, closest is about 1/2 mi. away, but the Big Island is mostly lava rock so most of the coast is black lava with beaches scattered between. Will return as often as we can. The staff is great and very helpful.

  • Avatar for marilynbw
    By marilynbw Jan 13, 2005

    Although the accomodations here are lovely, the location of the resort is not ideal for someone who enjoys an ocean view, or being walking distance to a swimming/wading beach. We could not see any part of the ocean from our unit, although a slice of it can be seen from some of the upper floor units. To get to a place where you can touch the ocean water, you have to walk a mile up Alii drive from here, a swimming beach is even farther - you'd have to drive. So if you are looking for a place where you can step out of your condo into the ocean, this is not the place. Our view of the evening sunsets was completely blocked by the front buildings of the resort, which was disappointing.

    We had looked at this resort two years before staying here and thought that more of the construction would be finished by the time of our visit, but there is still alot of construction of new units going on, and there is still only one pool - the building of the 2nd pool has not even started (as of October 2004). The pool area that is finished is nice, although be aware than the bar in the pool area is for craft classes only - no alcoholic or any other kinds of drinks are served. I asked them if they would be getting a liquour license soon and they said they didn't know. Also, if you forget to bring shampoo or any other essential items, you will have to drive a mile to the nearest store, as there is no gift/sundrie shop on the resort grounds. They said they were working on it, but no guarantee there will ever be one. Also, be aware that if you are not a timeshare owner here, they are very persistant in trying to get you to go on one of the 90 minute "presentations" - one of the reasons they are so friendly. Because of the poor location, lack of views, lack of a bar and gift shop and the pressure they put on us to view their timeshare plan, we would not stay here again, but it may be a good choice for someone who doesn't care about those things and enjoys a large niceley furnished condo.

  • Avatar for elizabeth39
    By elizabeth39 Jan 6, 2005

    This was a very clean nicely decorated inside and out resort. The room was very large, as new, and the hospitality wonderful.

    I rate a resort based on the above, and location. I love being at the sea, and this resort is miles away.

    I have found many fairfield resorts to be lovely - but situated on non-prime property.

    This is a personal need - to be on the Ocean for vacation, for those that like being situated away, or drive out for the day - this resort would be a perfect match.

    For those that like hearing and seeing the Ocean and waves every morning noon and night, this is not the place to go.

  • Avatar for sherriec1
    By sherriec1 Dec 15, 2004

    Is this a resort for Fairfield Resorts timeshares?

  • Avatar for jose139
    By jose139 Aug 15, 2004

    Most authentic Hawaiian resort with music and entertainment truer to Hawaiian culture. The interiors and exteriors bring out the beauty of the islands. Always clean and refreshing, we have stayed there since the doors opened, 2001-2004, and twice last year. The personnel are so helpful and friendly that we truly miss them when we're not there.

  • Avatar for aliikai2
    By aliikai2 Apr 8, 2004

    The check in went quickly and the friendly staff in the outdoor check in area had us in our suite within an hour of landing at the airport.

    When we arrived at the unit we found that the unit was one of the most pleasant we have ever used.

    Very nicely appointed and wonderful decorations and paintings.

    Both bedrooms have king size beds and the greatest pillows,( in fact I am trying to find out how we can get some of them from administration.)

    The air conditioning worked flawlessly, I can't remember any repair issues.

    Joyce really enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub and it stays warm for the entire 20 minute cycle.

    We were in unit 3b, building 2 lower since Joyce doesn't do stairs well.

    The resort is laid out extremely well, the archaeological sites make for great separations between units and the pool area, plus it gives you that open space feeling, along with adding that historic feeling.

    The one site dates from around the 1400's, this place is steeped in history of Hawaii.

    We enjoyed this resort so much I made reservations for October next year while we were there.

    One of the best resorts in Hawaii, and we enjoyed the island also.

  • Avatar for golferwa5
    By golferwa5 Feb 4, 2004

    Recently returned from the Big Island and this resort was an excellent place to stay. The resort was within walking distant to town. The units and the grounds are well maintained and very refreshing. The large lanai was very private and peaceful.

    We attended their Monday night pool activity and it was one on the best activities We've attended at any resort. Food was good and the entertainment was fun.

    The staff was very helpful with planning your activities or just general questions. We just had an awesome stay.

  • Avatar for konaemi
    By konaemi Jan 9, 2004

    Step back 70 years into this unusual and quaint cultural resort preserving the real Hawaii.The units are decorated in the old Hawaiian plantation style with modern amenities and luxuries. Immerse yourself in the old Hawaiian way by joining in the many activities orchestrated by a friendly and talented staff. Minutes from Kona town makes this resort very convenient to shopping, restaurants and activites.

  • Avatar for roncpa
    By roncpa Aug 11, 2003

    The resort was all 2 bedroom units, with about 1100 square feet (including the lanai). Everything was just as expected (except for the ants in the kitchen). The scheduled quarterly pest control spraying was scheduled for our week (a mild inconvenience). This resort is highly recommended!

  • Avatar for willyaugust
    By willyaugust May 31, 2003

    This resort is truly one of the best places I have ever stayed on the big island. The richly designed bungalows with their Hawaiin woods and floral fabrics provde an atmosphere of Old Hawaii and Victorian charm. Privacy and space is a real plus here. Location is great...close to the town of Kona and the "gold coast" with a great ocean view from the private lanai. Plenty of water , pools and spas in the resort and lots of "space". There is so much to do and see on the most awesomely beautiful Kona Coast....snorkling, swimming, and exploring.... that there is never a dull moment. I had one of the most magnificient Hawaiin vacations here that I have ever had. I really felt that I was living my dream surrounded in luxory and the Hawaiian culture. peace and joy....mahalo

  • Avatar for javacat
    By javacat Updated Dec 18, 2002

    Just a tip to be careful to distinguish this from Kona Village located in the Kohala area. The other Kona Village is the one that's gotten all the press over the years. I'm surprised there's apparently no litigation over the name of this new resort.

    However, this is in a nice location, though not right on the water. It was still under construction when I viewed it. It's luxurious and very, very nice. It wouldn't be my first choice of places to stay, however, since I require something right on the water.

    It's about a mile south of the town of Kailua-Kona, which makes it within walking distance if you're an average spry person. It's up the hill right off Alii Drive, which puts it above the noise of the road. If you are a diver and snorkeler like me, Kailua-Kona has much to recommend its location: dive boats leave from the Kailua Harbor in town, there's a nice swimming beach next to the Harbor, and several very good snorkeling beachs just a short drive up or down from this location. Also, while not as jungle-y as the Hilo side, it is rich with greenery, unlike the desert Kohala area.

Back to reviews
Resort review