Beachwoods

Kitty Hawk, North Carolina

Back to resort

Reviews of Beachwoods

Kitty Hawk, North Carolina

3.6

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (5)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (3)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Beachwoods lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for singyg2
    By singyg2 Aug 11, 2007

    I own a time share here and it is a wonderful resort. Family oriented and close to many restaurants and attractions. There is an indoor and outdoor poor. The ocean is about 2 miles from the resort and they have free parking available. I have been able to rent my week very easily. The Outer Banks is a great place to vacation.

  • Avatar for thomas472
    By thomas472 Nov 24, 2006

    Spent the first week of November at BIS. Weather great. Staff very pleasant and offered suggestions that were pertinent. Very unusual for time share staff to know something about the area other than paid tours and trips! The exterior are poorly maintained. We stayed i think in 904 a ten year old bldg. it looked more like a 40 yr old unit. Needed to cllimb two flights of steep stairs, but some of newer units looked like you only needed to climb one flight. Interior of unit fairly standard but looked like it had just been refurnished. Kitchen very complete except for one pan. Staff brought it to us immediately. But again not overly maintained. Cob webs in upper corner of one of the baths. Dishes still in the dish washer (but cleaned). But still clean and neat for now since it is so new. 5 years from now....? Hanging trees all around the back; looked like something out of a vampire book. So unit was always dark. but I bet these trees are great in the hot summer!. Weird thing was on the back dank and dark porch there was two fake plants. Surronded by the real thing someone obviously felt the need for fake greenry. Common facilities great. We would definitely stay there again but would hesitate to suggest it to some of our more fastidious friends.

  • Avatar for michelle1073
    By michelle1073 May 29, 2006

    We have stayed at many Gold Crown resorts and this resort met our expectations. The location was wonderful. The units are tucked away in the "woods". They are tucked away from other units and the main strip leaving a feeling of tranquility when you are actually only minutes from all of the action. The units and grounds are very clean and well maintained. The decor in each unit is bright and airy. You are only blocks from the beach and the resort has its own private parking lot across from the beach.

  • Avatar for sr23
    By sr23 Jun 21, 2005

    fairly nice facilities but very poor location for a beach resort.

  • Avatar for schultzie6
    By schultzie6 Updated May 6, 2005

    Considering that the previous reviews are over 2 years old - much has changed at Barrier Island Resort in Kitty Hawk.

    These condominiums are beautiful & spacious. The resort has some great amentities and as an owner, summer timeshares at this Gold Crown resort fetch some incredible trading power with RCI!

    You can bank lock-out condominiums as separate units and receive awesome trades or you can convert your timeshare into RCI Points - a 2 bedroom lock-out generally translates into well over 85,000 RCI Points. A 3 bedroom lock-out translates into over 100,000 RCI Points!!! That's enough points for 3 - 6 vacations weeks per year when trading through the RCI POINTS program!

    No matter whether you want to vacation in the Outer Banks each year OR trade your timeshare week - Barrier Island will offer you many years of enjoyable vacations!

    The only reason I give this resort a 4-star instead of a 5-star is because it is not a beachfront location. But then again - there are only a few Outer Banks timeshare resorts that are located on the beach!

  • Avatar for obx
    By obx Updated May 4, 2004

    This is the fifth resort we have visited on the Outer Banks, and our least favorite. We liked Barrier Island Station in Duck and were disappointed with the one in Kitty Hawk. The units were about the same, but the Kitty Hawk resort is so far from the beach that it is a real nuisance. We should have researched that better before we accepted the trade. Also the Kitty Hawk resort is in the woods and ticks are a problem, not something one anticipates on a ''beach'' vacation. We will certainly return to the beautiful Outer Banks but not to Barrier Island Station Kitty Hawk.

  • Avatar for bykerdutch
    By bykerdutch Dec 13, 2003

    We stayed here in March, 2003. Our unit was beautiful and very clean (we even bought a new home on much the same layout). The master bedroom was huge with a whirlpool tub just beside the kingsize bed and the MBR. had it's own dressing room and full bath.

    It was a little cool in March but there was a lot to do. The crafts were everyday and excellent ones at that. A short walk away was wal-mart and more stores at a mall across the street.

    The complex is just beautiful and so private with lots of trees. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Avatar for bethmollick
    By bethmollick Updated Jul 8, 2003

    We love the natural maritime forest setting. Access to the beach requires driving and I feel the resort should add a beach restroom/ changing room or locker room facility at their private parking area. The pools and fitness center are great facilities. Units are comfortable and relatively private compared to some properties I have seen.

  • Avatar for ddunlow
    By ddunlow Apr 25, 2003

    Great resort - quiet away from the hussle and bussle of the "busy" beach. Nice pools (inside and out), good exercise facilities, nice family functions. Everything you need right there - sauna, hot tubs, exercise, tanning, picnic and playful ducks!

  • Avatar for marlbank
    By marlbank Updated Jan 19, 2003

    We own at 2 resorts on the Outer Banks, one for the summer and one for winter. We love Barrier Island Station, their ammenities, employees, accomodations, and location. It is very quiet and secluded, unlike the resorts on the strip. The pools are large enough that you never feel crowded, and they have wonderful pools for toddlers. Everytime we have been there, either as owners staying during our week, or guests while we are at the other resort, we are treated with kindness and consideration. The units are large enough that a family of 4-6 has plenty of room. We are extremely happy that we bought into this resort.

  • Avatar for confederate
    By confederate Updated Jan 17, 2003

    Poor location in the woods behind the Wal- Mart, along way from the beach.

Back to reviews
Resort review