Desert Vacation Villas

Palm Springs, California

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Desert Vacation Villas

Palm Springs, California


  • Avatar for j260
    By j260 Updated Jul 15, 2015
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We will give it a four (minus). From reading previous reviews it seems that some of the issues have been dealt with. Furnishings are fine, they don't appear dated, bed is very comfortable, kitchen has good appliances, range appears to be new and everything works. They have an interesting way to make ice, by filling little white trays and putting them in the freezer. But we can live with no ice maker. Not really a complaint. The main bedroom's bath is rather cozy. The shower is very small but adequate. The guest bath is full sized. There are plenty of cupboards throughout. The old fashioned TV has a great picture and is plenty good for watching college football or anything else. The tile in the kitchen could use minor repair. A washer and dryer is always nice in the unit, but the common laundry is only a minute away. The staff have been very friendly and helpful. If it cools down - getting up toward 100º in October - we will take advantage of the bikes and ride around. Free wi-fi which allows me to write this review in the condo. We like the quietness and size of the resort and its location. Overall, it is a nice place and we would stay here again.

  • Avatar for anita356
    By anita356 Apr 11, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We stayed here with our family. We thoroughly enjoyed the serenity, the location, and the cleanliness of the place. We have been to many other places that are fancier and bigger, but with our fairly young family it was great. Being that it was small it was easier to keep on eye on our young ones while they were swimming and we were laying out. It was quiet too, not a lot of loud music or lots of people. They had bikes which my husband took the kids on a ride to Ben and Jerry's. The location was great, just down the street from downtown.

  • Avatar for mike1536
    By mike1536 Updated Apr 21, 2009

    I agree with jim469. It is a small resort (less than 40 units) and it was a great place to "hang your hat". The 2 BR units are adequate, but smaller than expected; perfect for two people or family of four. It would be tight with 5-6 people. The furnishings definitely need updating and there needs to be a larger bureau in the Master BR. But the unit was clean and comfortable. Don't expect flat screen TVs, or high priced appliances in the kitchen. It's close to downtown Palm Springs and the highway for that quick getaway to other areas (free local calls were a plus).

    The staff was pleasant and helpful, but the office closes in the evening, so be sure your friends & family have your room number if they need to reach you through the resort phone system.

    In addition to the basic pool and the ping pong tables there are a few bikes available for use. There are no planned activities for guests.

    If you are expecting a 5-star resort, with all the pampering, etc, then this is not the place for you.

  • Avatar for jim469
    By jim469 Mar 17, 2008

    This is a very basic facility - pool, jacuzzi and ping pong tables are it for amenities. The units and furniture are not elegant, but they are very nice. The units are reasonably sized and well supplied. Everything we needed was there and everything worked. The "amenities" is the location. You don't go here for the resort, you go here to enjoy Palm Springs, and it's perfect for that. It's right at the north end of old downtown Palm Springs, which has had a wonderful renaisance; I hear we can thank Sony Bono for a lot of that. That makes it a great place to stay. There is fine dining and a coffee shop right across the street (Uptown Grill & Baker's Square), and a convenience mart/liquor store also across the street. There's probably 20 other restaurants within 10 blocks and maybe a hundred within 2 miles. We were there in March for the Indian Wells tennis tournament and the weather was fantastic - low to mid 80s during the day and eat-on- the-patio-in-short-sleeves evenings.

  • Avatar for carolyn133
    By carolyn133 Feb 24, 2008

    we stayed at this resort for 2 weeks. we own gold crown resorts and we were assigned to a terrrible first floor condo. my husband talked to the staff and they moved us to an upstairs unit which saved the 2 wks. the resort is in a good location to downtown; it was adequate but tired looking. we would not stay there again.

  • Avatar for jogeo
    By jogeo Updated Feb 7, 2007

    older timeshare, having only 37 2- bedroomunits.Rooms are small but adequate for 2 couples, Furnishings are basic and comfortable. There is a daily t owel exchange but no midweek cleaning unless u pay for it. Has a good location, quick acess to all of the Palm Springs happenings. Kitchen has most of the amenities provided, not so with baths. Staff very helpful and accomodating.

  • Avatar for lorraine36
    By lorraine36 Dec 17, 2005

    Quiet, lovely resort, prime location. Minutes from the airport and downtown Palm Springs. Great pool and hot tub. Very clean and spacious rooms.

  • Avatar for helen73
    By helen73 Dec 12, 2004

    Oh my goodness - we stayed at this resort many times and have NEVER had the experiences reported by the RedWeeker who had a can of bug spray! The place always seemed clean, comfortable and convenient.

    This year in California there is an epidemic of ants and most homeowners in California will find these guys trying to make their way into homes costing millions to those costing a lot less - they are part of the area and you have to put up with them - kind of like alligators in Florida, snakes and scorpions in the desert , and sharks in Australia.

    We like this resort and consider some of the buys for sale on this site to be a GREAT BUY!! If we didn't already own four we would pick one of these up!

  • Avatar for donna1351
    By donna1351 Updated Nov 5, 2004

    We stayed here for a week over the Christmas holidays. I was not at all satisfied with the cleanliness of the resort. They had a bug problem... even gave you a can of bug spray when you checked in, YUCK. They warned you of "ants" -- which we didn't see, but saw plenty of brown cockroaches -- YUCK. Palm Springs area & activities are wonderful, but my honest opinion is to stay elsewhere. This was my worst timesharing experience (we've owned for 9 years).

  • Avatar for chilimom
    By chilimom Jan 10, 2003

    We staye here in Dec. 2001. I had requested handicapped access which was not yet available but was able to use the facilities with the addition of a rented shower stool and toilet seat. The resort was clean and service was excellent. It is very convenient to all types of activities in the area.

Back to reviews
Resort review