Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Hawaii

Back to resort

Reviews of Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Hawaii

4.4

Out of 5
18 reviews
  • 5

    (17)

  • 4

    (6)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hanalei Bay Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for maryw581
    By maryw581 Updated Oct 9, 2015

    Just got back from another week at HBR and this resort has been totally renovated! All the rooms run as timeshares are newly renovated and beautiful. The location, views and pool are to die for! We love this side of the island for it's beauty and relaxed atmosphere! It is what you would think Hawaii would be if you had never been, lush and tropical! There are privately owned units at Hanalei Bay rented out so you don't always know what you will get when renting outside the timeshare system. Just FYI! The bar and restaurant are supposed to be open by the 1st quarter 2016. Almost forgot to add the resort is opening a swim up pool bar soon! Love this place!

  • Avatar for laurie121
    By laurie121 Updated Nov 2, 2014

    Hanalei Bay Resort is now managed by Grand Pacific Resorts in Carlsbad, CA and is now totally owned by timeshare owners and private ownership year round. This lovely resort is now back on track with solid management and exchange benefits, a great staff and great improvements at our favorite annual get-a-way after construction winding down. The new restaurant and bar should open soon; the tennis programs and pools are great! The new firepit at sunset, mai tai Mondays, gifted orchids now hugging trees on site, a new lobby and a "delayed guest" facility on site all speak to the energy of this "Heavenly Bay" resort. If you're looking to decompress and discover the meaning of ALOHA, come see why so many of us have made this our home away from home...

  • Avatar for dennyw10
    By dennyw10 Updated Aug 17, 2013

    We've owned HBR now for 10-years and stayed in the newly remodeled 2b/2b unit in March-2013. What an improvement the remodeled units make. The grounds, newly updated pool have always been fantastic and the view looking out at Hanalei Bay is unbelievably beautiful. Truly this resort is on the right path. A great place to relax and enjoy paradise.

  • Avatar for airmiles
    By airmiles Mar 4, 2012

    Wonderful resort in a perfect location. We stayed for two weeks. First week in a two bedroom and the second in a one bedroom. I did not give it five stars because it is not there yet. The resort is in the process of being updated and improved. The newly decorated model units are definitely five star. Unfortunately at this time there is only one one-bedroom and one two-bedroom newly redecorated. That being said I see improvements everywhere. The units all have new pots and pans, coffee makers, knives, cutlery, utensils etc. The bedding and towels are all new and very good quality.

    They have replaced all the furniture around the two pools and they look great.

    We loved every minute of our two weeks and have bought a third week (from a redweek posting). I highly suggest giving this resort a try. We have been coming here for 12 years and we feel things are definitely improving.

  • Avatar for ralphz3
    By ralphz3 Jul 11, 2009

    From the Hanalei Bay Resort owners web site: "You'll be happy to know that we have been told that "The Happy Talk Lounge" will open in a few days thanks to the efforts of our Assistance Manager Scott Pacer."

    Also, per an article in the Pacific Business News (Honolulu): "The resort’s next-door neighbor is the former Princeville Resort, which will reopen Oct. 1 as a top-of-the-line St. Regis and is expected to draw thousands of affluent vacationers to the golf resort on Kauai’s north shore."

  • Avatar for sandram336
    By sandram336 Nov 21, 2008

    FYI, the resort restaurant and bar are still closed (as of Nov. 2008). Princeville Hotel is also closed. So plan ahead for meals. The Makai golf course has 9 holes open (18 are closed). Prince course is available.

  • Avatar for jose103
    By jose103 Jan 28, 2007

    we go EOY just got back on the 26th of jan. 07 We have a timeshare. wish we could go every year. Best place for us to stay and enjoy.

  • Avatar for davida235
    By davida235 Jan 21, 2007

    We own two weeks-wish it was 52! We have gone

    every year for the last seven years, and plan to

    continue. It is a paradise!!

  • Avatar for lamb
    By lamb Aug 12, 2006

    We love this resort and return as often as our schedules permit. Beautiful view, lovely and spacious unit (2BR), great restaurant and bar too. The pool is picturesque as well.

  • Avatar for paul1958
    By paul1958 Jul 11, 2005

    the exterior landscape and buildings are exquisite, lovely, plush, with a large waterfall pool and private jacussi. the next door hotel and the awesome beach/ pool are also fanastic to enjoy. inside the rooms are tropical fabric and a complete kitchen, most items new-some used. every room has a patio to look out to the ocean. the ac and water works well, with good tv reception. one bedrm size has extra big couch bed for guests. nice and quiet - no noise or too many chidren on the property- mostly couples, of all ages. great place to unwind with the best of mother nature, even little colorful birds fly up to your patio in the morning- truly romantic.

  • Avatar for don484
    By don484 Jul 15, 2004

    I have been a timeshare vacationer since the early 1980's and this is by FAR the best timeshare we've ever been to!

    You have a private beach with unobstructed views of one of the most famous natural landmarks in Hawaii. The water is fantastic, the pool is fantastic, the golfing is world class, the restaurant is one of the best on the island... I could go on forever.

    Do yourself a favor and make sure you make the time for a Napali Coast Cruise. If you are adventurous, throw in the scuba option for a truly fantastic experience - I immediately went out and got PADI [scuba dive] certified as a result!

  • Avatar for topsone
    By topsone Jun 27, 2004

    We just came back from the resort, and my family and I, while there in Hanalei Bay felt like we were in paradise. The views are spectacular. Through the palm trees we could see the beach, the bay, the water breaking against the rocks, and the mountains with waterfalls. The rich vegetation was amazingly green. There were plenty of birds. Hanalei Bay is constantly maintaining the grounds with gardeners, carpenters, etc. The beach is shared by the Princeville Hotel and Hanalei Bay Resort which makes it a semi-private beach. There is plenty to do without leaving the resort, such as visiting the tennis courts, the pools, the Bali restaurant/bar, the bbq's, snorkeling or laying out at the beach, and golf.

  • Avatar for zunimilo
    By zunimilo Dec 11, 2003

    Have stayed here twice in the last 3 years. It is a beautiful resort with great amenities. The pool is just beautiful. Great tennis, too. Some of the rooms need updating. The location, amenities and restaurants more than compensate for that. This resort also has a great staff as well. It is quite close to the Princeville hotel and I recommend going to the Library there and eating dinner. We plan on going back this winter and we were just there in October 2003.

  • Avatar for aprilk
    By aprilk Jul 10, 2003

    Beautiful property. Great location. Incredible views.

  • Avatar for barbaraf
    By barbaraf Apr 13, 2003

    Perhaps my mother and I got the worst unit in the complex, but we had a terrible experience at this resort in January 2003. We were booked for 3 nights but would have left the very first night if they would have refunded my money. We had a studio, garden view for $250 per night. The room was supposed to be non-smoking but it was not. The walls, carpets and draperies were filthy. There was mold in the shower. There were no dressers for clothing. The furniture was broken and there were holes in the drapes. The unit had a very moldy odor. A Motel 6 would have rated better than this resort. We moved to the Cliffs Club and enjoyed a very lovely 1 bedroom complete with granite counters and very nice furnishings. By the way, Hanalei Bay Resort even had broken dishes in the cupboard and a very dirty stove. Absolutely disappointing. As a Marriott owner at Desert Springs and Maui Ocean Club, I believe that Hanalei Bay Resort gives timeshares a very bad name. However, there is a chance we had the only horrible apartment in the complex. Passing by the apartment next door, it appeared to be equally shabby. The pool was also under repair and was very unattractive. Did we have an unusually bad experience or is this typical for Hanalei Bay Resort?

  • Avatar for bethroddy
    By bethroddy Apr 8, 2003

    Hanalei Bay Resort is absolute paradise! The grounds are beautiful and make you feel like you are in the "real" Hawaii instead of a "created" resort. The restaurant has good food and the pool/hotub are so shaped to seem like they were nature-made. The hottub/spa area is known as the best in Kauai by the locals.

  • Avatar for bstupek
    By bstupek Jan 24, 2003

    I am looking for a vacation rental for my family (5) near hanalei bay in early july.....25th wedding aniv.......we honeymooned there.....inexpensive please Sonny

  • Avatar for jkaady1
    By jkaady1 Updated Dec 23, 2002

    HBR is the most beautiful place in Hawaii. This is a romantic getaway that provides all the luxuries of paradise. You watch the sunset from the beach or the resturant while dining on the best taste of Kauai. The resort treats you like royalaty. A must see!

Back to reviews
Resort review