Tortuga Beach Club

Sanibel Island, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Tortuga Beach Club

Sanibel Island, Florida

4.4

Out of 5
8 reviews
  • 5

    (10)

  • 4

    (4)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Tortuga Beach Club lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for randyk87
    By randyk87 Updated Mar 21, 2015

    Here now and the resort is what the reviews are saying but never having stayed elsewhere on the island I have no idea it's the best or not. One word of caution is location of units. Some claim pool view, ocean view and ocean front. The unit we rented was listed as ocean front but really is a pool view with a peekaboo view of the ocean. When I mentioned this to management here they said all buildings are one classification and were surprised that owners were claiming different views. There are two buildings that I would consider ocean front since there are no obstructions in front of them. The remainder of the buildings have the club house, pool or foliage blocking some or most of the view to the ocean. Pool is very nice and the perfect tempeture. Lanai is where we are spending afternoons. Overall a nice place to stay. Sunsets are not seen from the beach at this time of year but rather where the island bends towards Captiva. Sunrises were pretty. Shelling is great!

  • Avatar for normn3
    By normn3 Nov 26, 2014

    We have now stayed at Tortuga four times. The resort is very well maintained by an excellent manager and staff. On our last visit, we enjoyed the renovation and new furniture. The view from the lanai is always enjoyable and relaxing.

    The location is superb, right on the beach. It is also easy to walk to the lighthouse and the ice cream place (Pinocchio’s). The causeway is only a few minutes away so you have an easy exit off the island if you want to explore the beaches to the south of Sanibel or the Edison museum in Cape Coral and other attractions to the north.

    The beach in front of the resort is loaded with shells. There are many little treasures to be found in the surf or on the sand. We walk for hours finding shells to take home. Sanibel is probably the best shelling island in America.

    If you have check Tripadvisor, you will see that Tortuga Beach Club is usually ranked 1st among 27 hotels on Sanibel. It is an honor that is well earned.

  • Avatar for dennis940
    By dennis940 Jan 5, 2010

    Tortuga is the nicest resort that we have stayed at in Florida. It is a beach front resort on Sanibel Island, each unit has a view of the Gulf. The resort is composed of seven main buildings that surround the pool / activity area, there are several walk ways over the dunes that lead to a very wide expansive beach.

    Each of the buildings has eight units in them, so there are only 56 units. Each of the building has four floors. The first floor is the parking area, the second floor and part of the third floor make-up the first town house. Part of the third floor and the fourth floor make up the second town house.

    The units are large and are in very good shape, with newer appliances and furnishings. The upper units do have one strange feature, however, both bathrooms are on the top floor. Which can be a lot of climbing to get to where you need to go! The kitchens are well supplied. The lower units have an exterior staircase leading down to the pool / beach area from the screened in Lanai. This made it much easier to access the resort amenities. Both upper and lower units are accessed by a staircase up the rear of the units.

    The resort made a nice improvement with new pavers on the driveway, which brightened up the area dramatically. The tennis courts were also well maintained.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Planning ahead is important on Sanibel and Captiva Islands as the bridge is relatively expensive $6 and can be time consuming to go across. We always try to minimize the number of trips off island.

    The resort is family friendly with many activities and located on one of the prettiest islands in the world. The Ding Darling Nature Area is a rich environmental area, with abundant wild life in an expansive refuge. There is a sink to wash shells immediately off the beach.

  • Avatar for johnb717
    By johnb717 Updated Jun 19, 2007

    My family of four spent Thanksgiving 2006 here and had a great time. The unit has plenty of space, it's equipped with everything you need and very well maintained. The staff was very helpful, from planning daily activites to making sure the unit was perfect when we checked in. Daily lunches by the pool and kids activities are planned to bring guests together, I highly recommend the Grouper sandwich and margarita day!!

  • Avatar for jerryk
    By jerryk Sep 23, 2003

    This is a very well maintained resort in a beautiful location. The unit had the best equipped kitchen that I have encountered. The only negative is that only one building has an elevator. In all the others, it is a lot of steps to the living area of the lower unit. The top units has both bedrooms and the two bathrooms on the highest level, so be prepared for a lot of stair climbing. Other than this, we loved the resort, its employees, and Sanibel Island.

  • Avatar for kmrekow
    By kmrekow Jun 21, 2003

    We have stayed at Tortuga 10 years in a row. It is absolutely a top of the line resort. The condo's are very well maintained and the service from the staff is second to none. There is something for everyone in the family. Golf, Tennis, Volleyball, Horseshoes, Ping Pong, a very nice pool and whirl pool all on a beautiful beach where the shells are plentiful.

  • Avatar for kinelo
    By kinelo Apr 29, 2003

    We have owned since pre-construction which is 1981. Due to the excellent management team and the constant preventive maintenance program, this small complex of only 7 buildings looks as terrific today as it did the day is was brand new! We have always loved staying at tortuga, but some years circumstances prevent us from going. Everything in the descriptions is true. This is a tropical paradise and all units look out on the beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Because the complex is small it is always quiet and peaceful as is the case with the beach. If you stay here you will love it as much as we have for so many years.

  • Avatar for dahlquist
    By dahlquist Jan 26, 2003

    As an owner of two weeks at Tortuga I can attest to the high quality of this timeshare. This is an extremely well maintained site with many amenities uncluding excellent onsite tennis facilities and golf for the cart fee only at an excellent course.

Back to reviews
Resort review