Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Scottsdale, Arizona

Back to resort

Reviews of Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Scottsdale, Arizona

4.3

Out of 5
13 reviews
  • 5

    (13)

  • 4

    (7)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Scottsdale Camelback Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for bobc37
    By bobc37 Updated Sep 1, 2010

    I own a few studios there and go during the winter months. I LOVE it !!The staff is the best. The location puts you near old time Scottsdale, The Fashion Sq Mall, the new Scottsdale waterfront complex, the ZOO & the botanical garden, just to mention a few. The on-site cafe is great for affordable breakfasts right thru dinners if you don't want to leave the resort. The Happy-Hour is also a fine-fine thing. The heated outdoor pool (82^F I Believe) is a welcome site in the middle of winter & there's water arobics to loosen your tired joints. They offer hikes up Camelback Mountain, ti-chi (not sure how to spell) in the meditation area, minature golf course, horse shoes, they have a few out door propane grills if you care to go that way, bingo at the pool, Indian jewlery sale, sometime music poolside. The studio has up & down sleeping & is clean, comfortable & quiet. They are constantly updating the facilities. It is an old resort but is wearing her age well. New TV's, king beds where they can fit them, newer furnishings & a housekeeping staff that is second to none !! There is a ton of hotels/motels/resorts etc in the area, but you will not stay at a more reasonable priced resort & be as pleased for the experience!!

  • Avatar for stanleyf5
    By stanleyf5 Dec 23, 2008

    Mly wife and I and three friends visited mid November of 2008. We all loved the place. The bedrooms were a little smaller than we are used to at other resorts and the master bed was a queen instead of a king, but other than that, we could not ask for anything more. It was well equiped and the personnel were pleasant and helpful. The grounds are lovely. It is not the most luxurious resort that I have visited, but it has a charm that others do not have. I plan on returning with friends soon. If I buy another resort week or two this will be at the top of the list.

  • Avatar for fredl53
    By fredl53 Aug 17, 2008

    Just stayed in the studio which is really a one bed. Queen bed with privacy on the first floor, and on the loft, another queen bed. The staff all have heart about their jobs and really want to please their guests. The resort is in a great location right on the Scottsdale/Phoenix line. About a little over a mile walk to downtown and really near everything, although I recommend a car. Many family activities and amenities with a great boutique style. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Avatar for daveherber
    By daveherber Feb 11, 2007

    We have stayed at the Scottsdale Camelback Resort each year for the last 4 years. Our kids love all of the activities on site with particular attraction for the kids putt putt 9 hole golf course and the weekly tournament that is put on by the resort staff for kids! My older son enjoys the basketball court that is available adjacent to the pool, along with the tennis courts that are also poolside.

    The pool side bar and restaurant are very convenient and the prices at the restaurant are very reasonable for lunch or dinner. They have now added a poolside laptop computer at no charge that is in the restaurant area. So this is a very easy way to keep up on work e- mails or other Internet search needs.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful! The grounds of the resort are one of the big selling points with lots of beautiful green grass, a grass putting green (which is in addition to the kids putting green), and numerous desert flowering plants that have been placed along the resort's hiking trail.

    In summary, this resort is paradise and my kids love to go back year after year!

  • Avatar for garyg109
    By garyg109 Dec 18, 2006

    Stayed at the Camelback the week after Thanksgiving. Stayed in unit A11, a large 2 bedroom 2 full bathroom unit. The unit was clean but had an odd smell, perhaps a freshner using an odd spice. The kitchen is a nice size but sparsly furnished. Never did find any measuring cups. This is an older resort and it is showing its age. The couch and loveseat in the living room both sagged. The outside of the front wood doors and outside of the patio doors both need to be refinished. There were older TV's in the living room and both bedrooms all hooked up to cable. There is no internet access in the rooms. There is wireless up in the lobby and restaurant. Is is a bit of a walk and there is no privacy when checking your e-mail.

    The bed in the master bedroom is only a full size. There are 2 twin beds in the 2nd bedroom. The large patio can be accessed from both the living room and the master bedroom. It is very private with a 6 foot masonary wall surrounding it. One of the best things was waking up in the morning, looking out the double doors to the patio, and being able to gaze up at Camelback Mountain. It looked golden first thing in the morning.

    The dining area is large and the dining set easily seats 6. It was very comfortable.

    The master bathroom was great. Double sinks, a large shower, a large jacuzzi tub, and the commode was in its own area with a door seperating it from the rest of the bathroom.

    The grounds were very nice. They do a great job making sure everything looks great. There is a putting greeen, miniture golf, croquet setup and horseshoe pits. The workout room was well furnished - one of the best I have seen at a resort. The pool was good sized, plenty of chairs, a large hot tub, and a nice kids pool. There is a bar poolside. There are also plenty of tennis courts right next to the pool area.

    The food at the restaurant was not fancy but plentiful and very good. This restaurant is nothing fancy. You go to a window to order your food and then sit down at one of the 10 or 12 tables to eat. We ordered "To Go" and it was fast, fresh, plentiful, and reasonably priced.

    The folks that work there were one of the best things about the resort. Very friendly. I don't think I passed a maintenance worker than didn't smile and say "Hi". The folks at the checkin were friendly and helpful.

    The location is more convenient than some of the Scottsdale resorts. We have stayed at the Sheraton Desert Oasis and, even though I liked it better, it seems like it is out in the middle of nowhere. The Sunterra Village Mirage is right around the corner from the Oasis.

    The Camelback is close to a lot of restaurants (go east on Camelback until you get to Scottsdale Rd and turn right going South and you will find pretty much any kind of restaurant you want). Avoid the Pink Pony in Old Scottsdale. The food was ok, but even though they no longer permit smoking in restaurants, this place smells like a dirty ashtray. It really ruined the meal.

    There is a Walmart about 10 minutes northeast and a Super Walmart about 15 minutes southwest. The airport is really convenient - just go west on Camelback to 44th St (about 2 miles) and make a left. About 4-5 miles down the road you will turn right into the airport.

    Here are some things we did in Arizona that we enjoyed. Drive the Apache Trail. Make sure you stop at the Tortiila Flats' Restaurant. If you like HOT chile, try theirs if you dare. Down by the airport is the Hohokim Indian museum and archeological excavation - very interesting if you are a history buff. Climb Camelback Mountain and get a great view of Paradise Valley. If that is too strenuous, the South Mountains are easier to hike in and, if you hike to the summit, you will get a great view of Phoenix.

    Though I mentioned a few negatives, I would stay here again. There are more upscale places to stay such as the Phoecian up the road or the Biltmore, but if you can rent a timeshare here for $650 for the week as we did, it is a decent place to stay for the money.

  • Avatar for cheryl424
    By cheryl424 Mar 15, 2005

    One of the first timeshare resorts but one of the coziest. The architecture is a nice feature. Though there aren't a lot of activities the staff does work to bring tours of interest to guest. It's central location is one of its nicest features.

  • Avatar for lbellis
    By lbellis Updated Sep 22, 2004

    Stayed in a large studio unit (34B) Sept. 5-12, 2004. This unit was away from the street side. Front door opened to peace and quiet with Camelback Mtn. to the left and mini golf area straight ahead. Area was quiet. Pool other side of bldg. Nice unit layout with large mini kitchen and stacking washer/dryer in a closet, large bath with jacuzzi tub. One bed downstairs and one bed w/furniture upstairs in loft. Livingroom and table area were ample downstairs. Had fireplace-I never used. Good location to take overnight trip to Grand Canyon or other points of interest. Pool area was nice with ample lounge chairs & poolside grill right there to eat lunch beside pool. 3 Tennis courts just East of pool. Nice indoors whirlpool, restrooms and exercise room w/TVs in clubhouse lower level. Also large whirlpool beside pool outside! Nice front desk help at checkin and anytime I called them with a question.

  • Avatar for herdedn
    By herdedn Aug 26, 2004

    MY WIFE AND I TRY TO STAY AT THE CAMELBACK AT LEAST ONCE A YEAR (SOMETIMES TWICE). WE HAVE NOT BEEN DISAPPOINTED YET IN THE LAST THREE YEARS. EVERY TIME WE GO THERE, WE ARE TREATED JUST AS A GUEST SHOULD BE TREATED. IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM, WHICH IS RARE, SOMEONE FROM MAINTENANCE OR HOUSEKEEPING WILL BE THERE PROMPTLY TO AFFORD THE REMEDY. THE UNITS ARE KEPT AS THEY SHOULD BE, BETTER THAN MOST 4/5 STAR RESORTS WE HAVE STAYED AT. WE WOULD NOT CONSIDER ANY OTHER RESORT. THE LOCATION IS PERFECT AND PARKING PLENTIFUL. ALL WE CAN SAY, IF YOU WANT TO GO SCOTTSDALE FOR A WEEK, GO THE "CAMELBACK".

  • Avatar for maryannh
    By maryannh Sep 23, 2003

    Just came back from a week at this resort in a very spacious two bedroom unit. Great unit, wonderful staff. Could not have ask for a better location. We are looking forward to returning to the resort next year.

  • Avatar for wms1230
    By wms1230 May 8, 2003

    My husband and I just returned from Arizona on May 6, 2003. The resort is small, but very well kept and quiet at night. Accomodations are nice and clean. The entire staff is excellent and most helpful. We would not hesitate to return to Camelback Resort.

  • Avatar for rplasket
    By rplasket Mar 20, 2003

    This is a fantastic Gold Crown Resort. These folks know how to pamper you.

  • Avatar for eal
    By eal Mar 9, 2003

    My husband and I stayed here the first week of November /02 and met my brother-in-law, who drove in from Los Angeles. We had a two- bedroom very spacious "A" unit, in a one-story bungalow-style building (neighbors on the sides, not upstairs). If you phone ahead a month or so before arriving they will book you a suite that is away from the street-side of the resort, which is on very busy Cambeback Road. Ask them to avoid A 1-8 and A 35-40. The weather was picture perfect at that time of year, and the sunsets were breathtaking. Our unit was very nicely furnished, with free mid-week cleaning service. The kitchen was well-equipped, the ensuite bathroom had double sinks, a whirlpool tub and a shower. The mattresses were excellent quality. There is a patio off the living room and 2 tv's. We made a couple of calls to maintenance and the response was faster than the speed of light, and very courteous.

    Check-in was a breeze, with a 24-hour staffed front desk. There is a resale office on site with very reasonable prices. The resort's concierge was written up as the "concierge of the month" in a Scottsdale tourist magazine that came out in November. The resort is compact but with lots to do - 3 lighted tennis courts, horseshoes, putting green, mini-golf, bocchi lawn, croquet and volleyball. There is an arcade and a pool table upstairs from the lobby, and an exercise room and luxurious sauna downstairs with a massage therapist. There are barbecues, water fountains and ice machines strategically located around the resort grounds. The resort also provides video rentals, internet access, aquasize, tennis lessons, and poolside bingo.

    The pool has a restaurant and bar, with $9.95 daily dinner specials. There was a one-man dinner theatre one night the week we were there, offering stories about the old west. There is a regular pool, a hot tub, and a children's pool with kid-sized pool chairs and a fabric roof to prevent sunburn - much appreciated by anxious mothers!

  • Avatar for breezy1
    By breezy1 Jan 20, 2003

    GORGEOUS, OUTSTANDING, PERFECT LOCATION..........WHAT CAN I SAY? It's a 10 in our book and we look forward to it every year!! The staff is helpful, lots of activities, huge swimming pool, plenty of lounge chairs, private balconies in all the units, on site restaurant, health club. This resort deserves its Gold Crown!!

Back to reviews
Resort review