Williamsburg Plantation

Williamsburg, Virginia

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Williamsburg Plantation

Williamsburg, Virginia


  • Avatar for andyb86
    By andyb86 May 15, 2015
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Very satisfied with entire experience at this resort. Have never stayed in such a spacious Villa in our lives. While ours slept 8, because of the full kitchen and partial kitchen in lockoff, we could have accommodated 4 more.

  • Avatar for monicam223
    By monicam223 Jul 23, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Really enjoyed this resort! The staff was friendly and helpful, even during check in when a computer glitch turned a 10 minute wait into a 50 minute wait. Our room was recently renovated with a new paint job and updated linens and was very clean and convenient to pool, playground, and spa. The resort was only minutes away from Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, and Colonial Williamsburg which allowed us to return to the resort for the afternoon to wait out a rainstorm or just rest a few hours before going back out for the evening. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to returning next year!

  • Avatar for monica142
    By monica142 May 21, 2012
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We've had two stays at Williamsburg Plantation - one was the week between Christmas and New Years (2009). Was great to see all the Christmas decorations and fireworks at Williamsburg, but was very cold. The next was the week after Thanksgiving (2011) and was wonderful all around. This is our home resort but we had never stayed before. It was very clean, spacious and staff was friendly and responsive. Plenty to do on the resort and nearby attractions. Our favorite was Jamestown settlement. Check out restaurant.com before going down as we saved at several local restaurants. Can't go wrong with Williamsburg. courteous and responsive.

  • Avatar for rcnet
    By rcnet Updated Jul 31, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Just came back from a week in Williamsburg Plantation. Had a great time. Our 2 bedroom was spacious and had all the amenities. Master bath was huge with a large jacuzzi. Plenty of space to stretch out. It's close to all the area attractions. Could have stayed another week, if I had the time. Relatively quick check-in/check-out given the volume they serve. No sales presentations were necessary. Both outdoor and indoor pools were pretty crowded, but hey, it was mid-July. Paid WiFi service was strong.

  • Avatar for bonita27
    By bonita27 Updated Dec 10, 2009

    just returned from the williamsburg plantation! My family was due to stay 7 days but we only stayed 4. the carpet in the unit was soiled, cobwebs in bathroom, spider in bed when bedspread was turned down. overall dirty unit with horrible smells. after changing units the next one was no better.

    overall cheaply put together and outdated.would never stay there again.

  • Avatar for patk70
    By patk70 Updated Nov 5, 2009

    Beautiful spacious units and great indoor pool. Love Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown. This resort should be rated much higher.

  • Avatar for dallasl4
    By dallasl4 Nov 1, 2009

    We the wife and myself are owners in Va. beach were getting a little bored with the same trip there year after year.So we did a exchange week here at the Williamsburg Plantation.We were very happy with the unit was so much nicer than the one we own at the beach. Much bigger 2 bathrooms big jaz. in between the bedrooms,nice showers,large living room,gas fire place,nice deck,outside grill just everything was very nice.Plenty to do there and many sites to see in area and great tours of Washington DC 15 hr.tour captial,whitehouse,arrlington cem,JFK gravesites,all the mem.in the area to much to mention here,much walking.Navil station,and navy base tours ect,to much to do,oh yeal and busch gardens,and also Old Col.Williamsburg,a lot of walking there the tour bus comes right to your door to pick you up, no driving,the best stay at a resort we have ever taken.We are very very happy here going to try to trade our timeshare or sell it at Va beach and get one here very impressed here,love the area,and not to forget the great food in the area ,many choices to make us all happy,cant wait to go back,Dallas and Terry Lawson,Old Fort.NC

  • Avatar for ken242
    By ken242 Updated Oct 5, 2009

    We, too were very impressed with the resort. Apparently management has made some very important changes. We were satisfied with everything and look forward to our return.

  • Avatar for johno243
    By johno243 Jun 3, 2009

    Just returned from a one week vacation at Wiliamsburg Plantation. I was just a little anxious after reading some of the negative reviews. After a week at the Plantation, I am just amazed at how different our experiences were. The only negative thing I can say about the resort was the mold high up on the ceiling in the very spacious swimming pool. There was no mold or dirt obvious around the pool area itself. The beds in the rooms were very comfortable and everything in the room was sparkling clean.

    We were so impressed with both the resort and customer service that we are in the process of negotiating with two different parties for their timeshare. Williamsburg Plantation is very close to all the attractions and within easy driving distance to about any restaurant you can name. Other than the mold on the ceiling of the indoor swimming pool, this place is one of the best kept resorts we have stayed in.

  • Avatar for luke6
    By luke6 Mar 23, 2008

    Clean units well maintained. Courteous staff. Plenty to see and do when we went last October. Busch Gardens was open on the weekend schedule which was ok. Cooler temperatures, not so many people, shorter lines, less chaos that comes with big crowds.

  • Avatar for tom245
    By tom245 Sep 9, 2007

    We have owned here for 3 years and have been fairly happy. It's a great location with lots of area attractions. I was disappointed the last time I stayed there because I rented 3 units for my family and friends and was told I would receive $200.00 in the form of visa gift cards. Never got the money they were supposed to refund me. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

  • Avatar for barbarak86
    By barbarak86 Jun 20, 2007

    Just returned from Williamsburg. Had a two bedroom condo 228B that was beautiful. Floor plan was great and it had alot of room. The two pools were great. Plenty of outdoor seating. Programs for day trips available although we didn't take advantage due to our busy schedule. Would recommend this place to anyone. Great location--close to everything.

  • Avatar for bennett3
    By bennett3 Updated Apr 25, 2007

    We visited this year starting 4/6. Once again we had a wonderful time. We found that not all the units have the jacuzzi bath in the second bedroom and you can request whichever you prefer.

    Checkout and checkin was very quick. Free movie 'rental' was a plus. Still plenty to do in the area!

    Gas fireplace and back patio was very nice. Units are beautiful. We bought another week here.......

  • Avatar for debrat42
    By debrat42 Updated Apr 10, 2007

    We love the new townhouses. The two levels being both separate and with the option to have them opened up to make one unit makes it perfect for family get togethers. The pool is lovely and the people are friendly. Williamsburg has so much to offer, it's a great location to get away from the fast pace of today's living.

  • Avatar for rscotth
    By rscotth Updated Mar 21, 2007

    Exchanged for March 16-22, 2007 a two bedroom lower unit (full kitchen) in a higher numbered (ie newish) unit. The kingsized bed was in the room attached to the mater bathroom. The jaccuzi tub was large and relaxing.

    However three significant annoyances, first the smoke detectors went off unit wide whenever we opened a heated oven (no visible smoke ever), second, the shower was small and very loud. (cant hold a coversation with another person in the bathroom when the shower is running), third the dishwasher is very loud too.

    Plus three items which just put me off as just cheap, first the "fireplace" was electric and provided no heat, the doors between rooms are plastic fake wood, lastly the checkout proceedures are long and listed with "fines" if not done properly.

    We did like the desk staff, and the resort is located not all that far from most area attractions but far enough to be a bit quieter.

  • Avatar for murtonsm
    By murtonsm Nov 28, 2005

    We stayed the week of Thanksgiving. We were pleasantly surprised to see a well maintained very roomy 2 bedroom unit. The baths are mixed up a little but our unit had a queen bed in the second bedroom and a pocket door that you could close off to the living area. The only thing it lacked was another TV in the second bedroom, this would have been handy. We loved it. Sandi from KY

  • Avatar for cheryl424
    By cheryl424 Mar 17, 2005

    I exchanged into this resort for a 2 Bedroom unit, and was shocked to get a 2 bedroom unit with the reversed bathrooms. But how do you expect a family of 5 or 6 people to cook on a hot plate and an electric skillet. The sales rep explained that if you exchange into this resort you get a limited kitchen not a full kitchen in a 2 bedroom unit. Only owners get full kitchens. I was surprised that there were very few activities for kids. I'm a Marriott Owner but didn't think to exchange into Ford's Colony, it was last minute. I couldn't consider going there again.

  • Avatar for david2147
    By david2147 Sep 21, 2004

    We stayed at the resort the week of Sept. 12 - 19. The first thing that struck us was the bedroom/bathroom mix-up every other review has mentioned. Otherwise, upon stepping into the unit, we were very pleasantly surprised by the appearance of the unit. Everything seemed new and the unit nicely furnished.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, and immediately responded when we had a problem in the unit. The grounds are very nice, with a nice size pool.

    Within a short drive was all the shopping or restaurants we needed. Great family vacation destination. Besides Colonial Williamsburg, the other historic attractions, and Busch Gardens, Virginia Beach and the City of Norfolk are about an hours drive away. I recommend visiting Nauticus in Norfolk. It's a naval museum where the USS Wisconsin is also docked. The kids will love it! Great value attraction at under $10 admission per person.

    Would even consider rating this resort a 5-star if it weren't for the bedroom/bathroom mix-up.

  • Avatar for donna671
    By donna671 Updated Aug 31, 2004

    Our family stayed here July24 thru July 31, 2004. We have come back several years in a row. There is always something we never had enough time to do before. This year we went on the Yorktown hauntings and boat cruise. It was very good. Very knowledgeable tour guides. Kids liked to see the cannon balls in the original buildings and here the tales of pirates that roamed the waters.

    Williamsburg also has a ghost tour which we enjoyed very much. We also go to Watercountry USA and visit Busch Gardens. One hours drive we went to Virginia Beach for the day. Everyone has a different attitude of what they want to do on their vacation. There is always something to do here. Enjoy

  • Avatar for debbie15
    By debbie15 Jul 24, 2004

    We stayed here June 3, 2004. This was our second time at the resort. the first time we stayed in the older brick buildings. They are well kept. This year we got lucky and were the 6th family to stay in the brand new units. We had a two bedroom (176a). I agree with one of the other reviews about the bathroom/ bedroom mix up. We thought the furniture movers just mixed up the beds but I guess not. It made no sense why the kids room (second bedroom) would have a huge master bath.

    The units were furnished very nice. My only complaint was you had th share a washer and dryer with the other unit in the building. The older building units each have their own washer and dryer. The washer and dryer is located in a tiny closet at the top of the stairs.

    Also, two years ago when we were there we thought the property was not maintained very well. Sad to say it's the same this year. It needs some TLC. Also, the indoor pool has major MOLD hanging from the ceiling!!! Nasty.

    Over all, I would go back again. I wouldn't exchange for a week here but would recommend a Getaway deal if you are an II member. We usually go the first week in June b/c our kids are small and it's not crowded. We booked a getaway in feb 2004 for june and got a great deal.

    Also stayed at Ford's Colony and that's to die for. Nothing like a Marriott.

    Tons of stuff to do for kids and family in the area.

  • Avatar for quint1
    By quint1 Jun 22, 2004

    Overall this was a very nice place. We stayed in a new 2-bedroom unit.

    My biggest issue was with the layout of the unit. The master bedroom had an average bath room. While what I would call the master bath was connected to the guest unit with 2 twin beds - didn't make sense to me why they did it that way.

    Otherwise I would definately return here.

  • Avatar for shanielle1
    By shanielle1 Feb 27, 2004

    We are owners of this resort and are very pleased with it... The decor in the units are very colorful and the unit its self are well kept.... We have been to this resort several times and are going back again in may .. Everything is close by and the landscaping is very nice and well maintained.. The Bathroom has a large hot tub in it which is Great..:) If any one has any questions about this resort we would be very pleased to answer them.. the staff is very friendly...Always willing to help you .. They have things for you to do at the resort such as Bingo,wine and cheese tasting ,arts and crafts which all was started recently ... plus other things to do . The resort is about 10 minutes away from busch gardens and wild water country..

    Lots of shopping close by such as Walmart,Kmart,Target,and the outlets which has over (70 stores) the pottery outlet, lots of places to eat.. There is alot of history to be seen and to learn here ..You will not be disappointed.. :)

  • Avatar for shawnaberle
    By shawnaberle Updated Dec 8, 2003

    Large warm indoor pool. Well equiped units with extras, dishwasher soap, quality towels folded nicely, videos, Resort in keeping with area quietness and homes. Great welcome party real shrimp and wines.

  • Avatar for goddard
    By goddard Updated Oct 2, 2003

    We loved our stay here. It is very close to many Williamsburg attractions and the staff is very nice. We brought our entire family including grandparents and fit nicely in both the top and bottom units. I would recommend to everybody coming here to see Virginia's history and relax by the club house pool.

  • Avatar for sachsab
    By sachsab Jul 15, 2003

    Stayed there this year. The units are new and nice on the inside but there is nothing else to do here. The grounds are undeveloped and lacking a lot. If you are going places every day, this is a good place to stay, if not, try one of the bigger resorts.

  • Avatar for surfer307
    By surfer307 Mar 11, 2003

    Has a lovely lock out unit. Both units can be used if necessary for a large family, or if the space is needed for privacy for couples.

    It has two bedrooms and a pull-out sleeper sofa in both sides. The Master Bedroom has a Jacuzzi and a bath. There is a full bath for the other guest to use. Kitchen, Living Room, Dining Area and Laundry Room.

    All the conveniences of home are on sight. All you need is food, clothes, laundry and cleaning products. Just think if you want to cook you can, or if you want to go out to eat you can do that also. Best of all you don't have to take any dirty laundry back home.

  • Avatar for karenj
    By karenj Feb 28, 2003

    I also give it a five. We stayed here over April vacation 2002. One very, very warm day we even drove the distance to Virginia Beach. Beautiful resort. Large, comfortable, clean rooms. Made our first trip to Colonial Williamsburg very memorable. We have young children so we didn't eat out much, but the pool (which is, apparently, not usually open at this time of year, but was cleaned up and made ready for swimming when the unseasonably very warm weather appeared) was a big hit with my children.

  • Avatar for colden
    By colden Updated Nov 24, 2002

    Wonderful location close to shopping and dining. This is a beautiful home away from home complete with a private jacuzzi in each suite.

    Condos are tastefully decorated and the town does not lack for entertainment day and night for all ages. Golf course discounts were terrific.

    Great family atmosphere at the resort with much to do at the clubhouse and pools, etc... kids were well entertained and we are looking forward to visiting again!

Back to reviews
Resort review