Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Banff, Alberta, Canada

Back to resort

Reviews of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Banff, Alberta, Canada

3.8

Out of 5
9 reviews
  • 5

    (3)

  • 4

    (7)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for loriej
    By loriej Updated Apr 28, 2010

    Exchanged timeshare to stay in Banff again (March 5-12)...Kinda like winter spring...we enjoyed skiing in Sunshine and the soak in hot tub after our day's trip. Best accommodation and good food around downtown area.

    I just got back from our one week stay from this resort. JULY 13-20 wonderful place to stay...no complains...we will definitely come back on spring time. Banff is a beautiful place to explore..the Rockies are wonderful... we drove all the way to jasper and saw a lot of real wildlife animals like black bears, mountain goat, elks, and lots of gophers everywhere. Very relaxing and refreshing place to stay. The place is in the heart of Banff and Lake Louise is only an hour away drive...if you want to go further drive all the way to jasper (about 4 hours drive) and even visit Calgary which is about an hour and a half drive.

  • Avatar for donaldd67
    By donaldd67 Updated Aug 29, 2008

    Firstly, let me admit to being an Owner of a TS Unit at this Resort so my comments are regarding the ENTIRE Resort. Banff is surely a "Commercial Resort".... but as affordable as any I have visited in North America. The "Business Area" of the Townsite is 'compact' to about 50 blocks so most visitors could hike/walk thru most of it within a week. There are 'several' Art Galleries featuring all sorts of Bronze Castings, Stoneware, Woodworks, Paintings from both 'local'and World Renown artists.... all for sale. Most shops are 'Open for Business' from 9:00 am until 11PM. No shortage of eating and drinking establishments.... nighttime activities last 'forever'... or longer! At least two FULL grocery stores (Safeways, IGA,...another.??) and prices are similar to Calgary. Finally, all the Ski-lifts function during summer months and you can DINE at at one of those majestic mountain tops. Or you can Hike the myriad of Park Trails or climb one of the rugged mountain faces. Take along your camers. Again, we are PROUD to be owners at BRMR... and have adverts with Redweek.

  • Avatar for jaya32
    By jaya32 Updated Apr 13, 2007

    My week 26 normally includes both Canada Day on the 1st and July 4th, so we have gotten a great taste of both Canadian and US patriotic celebrations...and the fireworks along the water has been spectacular!

  • Avatar for erniel
    By erniel Updated Sep 12, 2006

    We recently spent a week at the Rocky Mountain. We were in a 2 bedroom unit. The units are small, older but very clean and more than adequate. All units are to be remodelled in the next 3 years. The size of the unit is a result of restrictions in Canada's National parks. The unit is well located and you can easily make day trips to many major attractions. We have passed threw Bnaff many times but have never taken the time to really visit the many Senic things in the Park. It is well worth it. ERL

  • Avatar for eggerts
    By eggerts Oct 31, 2005

    We just returned from a week in Banff..The resort is quaint but needs upgrades..they are working on it..But, honestly, we were not moving in, just hanging our hats for a week. My suggestion would be ask for a room off of the street..the street is noisy...The resort is in a GREAT location and offers everything you need for a week..the scenery is breathtaking and well worth the trip..I highly recommend it! We would return to the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort for sure..We saw a huge elk in the yard eating the grass and there was no extra charge for that neat experience...

  • Avatar for david3550
    By david3550 Jul 21, 2005

    This resort has everything you could ask for; Fireplaces in each room, Tennis courts, Squash Courts, Big Fitness Facility, Swimming pool and outdoor Hot tub, A great place to spend a week in Canada's premier national park.

  • Avatar for easystreet
    By easystreet Jul 4, 2005

    Property is dated and requires upgrades. Our stay was in april 2005 and with the availability of other resorts in the area we would select a different resort next time.

  • Avatar for thomas136
    By thomas136 Jun 26, 2005

    We just got back from the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, and we enjoyed it quite a bit. The location is perfect - close to town, but not in a noisy location.

    We don't have kids, but they had kids activities daily. Pool was nice, there were 2 guided hikes each day. Bar was fun - has a pool table. We used the gym every day.

  • Avatar for kbljel
    By kbljel Mar 19, 2003

    We have stayed at Banff, AB and also at Ketchem ID, Palm Springs CA, Lake Conroe TX and a Marriott in Park City UT.

    The Banff resort is one of our favorite resorts. The views are spectacular. Plenty of activities from skiing, hiking, sight seeing etc. They have free squash in their state of the art fitness center. One of the great events, is the resort offers free tours of various trails in and around Banff please a free shuttle every hour to downtown. Well worth the visit.

Back to reviews
Resort review