Playa del Sol Costa Sur

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Playa del Sol Costa Sur

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico


  • Avatar for thomasm386
    By thomasm386 Updated May 14, 2009

    Just got back after a one week stay at the Costa Sur. Great experience! Nice rooms with GREAT balcony right on the waterfront. The only disappointment was the food. Didn't think it was very good for what they charge. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Will be there again next year!

  • Avatar for jacquelinem70
    By jacquelinem70 Jan 3, 2009

    Just came back from Costa Sur!! We got there on Christmas Day and left New Years Day. I have to say this place is going to be at the top of our list for a long time. We met so many people who have gone to Costa Sur every year for many years, and for very good reason--this place is the bomb (that's good). First off, the staff is very friendly and we got to know them well. The concierge introduced herself on the first day, and gave some really good recommendations for dinner and excursions, and never hounded us to go to a presentation. The location is the real draw here. The pictures do not do this place any justice. That lagoon in front is the best feature; it's protected from the surf for awesome snorkeling where we saw puffer fish, trumpet fish, and myriad others. Every room is on the water for lovely ocean views and beautiful sounds of the surf all night. The pool is clean and quiet whereas other resorts were over-run with loud music and people. The rooms were very clean though not first class. The restaurant food was reasonably priced and made it economical to eat at the resort rather than go out. The location is close to the old town of puerto vallarta though we would not recommend walking as the buses are frequent and 6 pesos.

  • Avatar for patriciam280
    By patriciam280 May 16, 2008

    Went to PV in April and couldn't be happier with our accomodations. Best ocean views in Puerta Vallarta. Studio units are quite large and have everything we needed. Good food at the resturant and resonable prices. Located S. of downtown in desirable location. Bus ride to town, .50 and cab ride cost $5 . We used the bus a lot.

  • Avatar for davidr146
    By davidr146 Updated Oct 6, 2007

    My wife and I have been going to Costa Sur for the last 6 years. We travel with 2 other couples and is an anual event.

    The rooms are great. The view from the balcony is undiscribable. We are there in Jan. and the weather is perfect. We feel so at home and look forward to the trip each year.


  • Avatar for happy2
    By happy2 Sep 27, 2007

    This is a great resort--out of town a little ways but the bus is so cheap and fun to get to town. I always call it a "sweet" resort--the pool area is lively, the ocean views wonderful-- great vacation.

  • Avatar for j260
    By j260 Updated Apr 6, 2007

    We just returned late March from a wonderful week at Costa Sur. The room was spacious, the bedrooms comforatable, the kitchen adequate. Take your own salt and pepper. It does show wear, but it is very clean. If true, all rooms are due for renovation in the next few years. We liked the fact that is was not in town, yet only a short bus ride away. It's a great place to just relax. The restaurant has good food and a good vairiety. The pool chairs do get saved, but since no one is really using many of them you just take a lounge. Happy hour is a busy time, and you meet people from all over. The free popcorn is a real hit with everyone. The internet is frustratingly slow, but free. Should not need it while on vacation anyway, but it is nice to have. The work out room needs better equipment. Much of it didn't work. Activities were okay, with a guided walk, Spanish lessons, and water aerobics some of those. We already have reservations for a week next March.

  • Avatar for lauriea
    By lauriea Mar 11, 2007

    We just returned from a week stay. It was great. The staff is very helpful, and most all of them speak English.

    They do hit you up about timeshare when you 1st check in. We told them we just wanted to relax and if we decided later we would contact them. The next day they did ask us if we decided any time to go to the presentation. My husband told them, we already have 1 timeshare and weren't really interested in more. They never did pressure us again.

    The condo is 30 years old, but they do keep it up very nice. The internet access is great. Although a little slow, but it is better than nothing.

    You want to get to the pool early. Many people go put books, towels, etc on the chairs and hold them for later. Which you aren't suppose to do, so therefore you might just need to hit the beach instead. Which I liked better anyways.

    We only ate there a couple of times, but the food was good. Happy Hour is everyday for 1 hour. That was always fun!

    The bus stops right out front of the condo, and you can be to town in 5-10 minutes. Only costs .50 cents. To take the taxi to downtown is only $3.00. So getting around is very cheap. And most bus drivers & taxi drivers speak english quite well. There is a grocery store downtown if you want to get items to cook in your room. Walmart & Sams is 2 bus rides away, and that takes about 1/2 hour. But many people from this resort go there.

    I would recommend staying here. It is a bit out of the way, but it is quiet, and easy to get to the action. It is closer to the Malecon than staying in North Vallarta.

  • Avatar for davgln
    By davgln Updated May 8, 2006

    We were there in Oct. of 2005. loved it so much we came home and bought 2 weeks. we are going back this Oct. with a with the whole family. The rooms are great, food excellant, a kick back place for the whole family. only problem, it was football season and they did not have the games on in the rooms, only in the bar. Service was great and I never once was approched by time share peple. what a joy!!!1

  • Avatar for k28
    By k28 Updated Dec 14, 2005

    The resort property and decor are average, but the beautiful ocean views from every room and the excellent staff make it special. In general it is quiet, but some rooms get a lot of traffic noise. Internet access for checking e-mail is free. The location is a bit far from the city center, but it is easy to take a cab or bus anywhere. Caution: do not get roped into a property or timeshare presentation at this resort--they catch you at registration and make you think it is something else. They are relentless, with a misleading pitch. The presentation actually is 3 hours long and they just don't let up. This loses a star for an otherwise lovely vacation spot.

  • Avatar for cdhillam
    By cdhillam Updated Mar 28, 2005

    Just returned from two weeks at Costa Vida. Always enjoyable but now even more so!The new sea wall has created a lagoon that is great for many activities:swimming,kayaking, snorkling,or just lazing on a float.Best of all it very safe,even for children.This is the only pro tected beach in Puerto Vallarta.Can't wait to return with our grandchildren!

    Dave Hillam

  • Avatar for tony84
    By tony84 Oct 15, 2004

    Have vacationed at this resort numerous times and have found it to be a wonderful experience each time. Beach Front units, free cable internet access for checking those emails, friendly staff, clean rooms, and the water is purified.

  • Avatar for aigar
    By aigar Updated Sep 4, 2004



  • Avatar for led92692
    By led92692 Updated Dec 16, 2003

    We stayed here last April (2003) had a marvellous time. Our Unit was beautifully furnished, had a full kitchen, air-conditioned, Queen bed and a full size couch in LR that made into a bed, the balcony overlooked the Pacific and the beach, the restaurant on site fed us grandly, the people were extremely cooperative, we got several trips thru the resort at reasonable prices, Taxis at the front door, and their fares to town were very reasonable. Altogether we had a wonderful stay at this resort. MY week number 14 listed above is no longer for sale. I cannot find out how to cancel the listing. Sorry

  • Avatar for bunkerbay1
    By bunkerbay1 Updated Oct 21, 2002

    This timeshare has a very helpful staff. They go out of the way to please everyone. The accommadations are comfortable. There are studios and 1 & 2 bedrooms. There is a beach but I personally do not like swimming there be3cause of the rocks although many do. The restaurant is suitable and have a great breakfast and lunch. they have live entertanment. A great happy hour and many activities on the premises. there also is a tour desk for your convenience. Taxis are there always for your convenice as well. Transportion is a breeze. they even have local buses for a few pesos. What a great place to relax. A wonderful swimming pool and a heated one as well. A lovely vacation. Just received info on this resort to let everyone know that they have structured a sea wall that makes this resort have a special beach to swim in. They also will have a wonderful beach staff for all your needs. You may also rent days or weeks here.

Back to reviews
Resort review