Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Estepona, Spain

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Estepona, Spain


  • Avatar for eliasa10
    By eliasa10 Mar 24, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort
  • Avatar for andrewb289
    By andrewb289 Jul 17, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    As an existing owner already for 6 years I was very pleased to see a Resales office called FAB Timeshare Resales opposite Playa Andaluza specialising in Marriott Vacation Club as well as a few other quality brands. We wanted to buy more and purchased 3 more weeks for for the price they charge for one in the Marriott Preview & Sales Centre. The Fab team were very knowledgable and our transfers we done very efficiently. They also explained and reassured me that a lot of the things we were told by the Marriott Sales rep about buying Resales were just scare tactics to try to get he to fall for purchasing direct at 3 times the price I got them for. With a Resale all you are doing is taking over an existing Owners Marriott Vacation Club membership which apart from been able to pay the maintenance fee and take Marriott Reward Points continues with all the same benefits. No brainer to buy a Resale really!

  • Avatar for unitedpilot
    By unitedpilot Feb 11, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort
  • Avatar for billyr19
    By billyr19 Updated Mar 3, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Absolutely Perfect in every way. Only wish we could make it home. We are owners there and are so glad to look forward to visiting each year, only trouble is the time passes too fast. Sad to leave every time. Perfect for families or couples of all ages.

  • Avatar for joolvera
    By joolvera Mar 18, 2010

    Undoubtedly one of the best resort in Spain. True to the Marriott tradition. Units are spotless and well equipped with everything you could possibly need while you are on vacation. We cooked many meals because we had all our grandchidlren with us. But we also frequented the snack bar and nearby restaurants. Very worthwhile to explore all that Andalusia has to offer. People at the desk were very helpful and polite. We'll go there again. Not enough time to see everything that part of Spain has to offer. So much to see. so little time.

  • Avatar for barryl62
    By barryl62 Updated Feb 16, 2010

    We own here, but I can honestly say this is a 5 * resort. This is a sequel only 10 miles distant to the Marriott Marbella (MMB) resort which is another 5* gem. Playa 'tweaks' the attributes of the MMB resort & improves on the little things to create a resort which feels quiet, luxurious, & unique. The result is a high-end experience without the pretensions. Lots of room to spread out here & enjoy the resort ammeneties.

    On site store & restaurant as well as a beach chiringuito. Resort associates are a motivated group of folks who sincerely have the guest in mind. You'll be torn between hanging out on-resort and heading to the mountains where the white villages are. Concierge can assist with any request. The resort cornerstone is 3 seperate pools; a main masterpiece w disappearing edge view of Med; a sports pool w volleyball; a kiddie pool with water slide & tiny tots wading area -- the result is guests spread out as people find their own pool experience. Don't forget the beach either.

    What else to say about a beautifully conceived resort & well executed service? Do visit Playa & experience the rich culture and great food that Andaluci­a has to offer.

    PS: some dining hints. The resort restaurant food is excellent. Also a private chiringuito ( Vela Azul ) at resort's edge directly on the Med & La Capannina, a 5 minute stroll across the highway w Italian fare out of this world. You can eat, drink, and be merry without driving if you so choose. Of course excellent dining in nearby towns.

  • Avatar for verub
    By verub Sep 14, 2007

    September 2007

    As everybody may expect from a marriott resort..... absolute 5* !!!

    Some guest speak about pool capicity ??? We went there in August, Peak season and there was still plenty of sunbeds.... the split up of the pools (kids/adults) is fantastic as we dont want to be bothered by screaming kids.....

    It is still pre-construction... after several timeshare experiences AND presentations we decided to invest in the youngest Marriott resort in Europe... Value for money and pre construction benefits $$$ defently involved our purchase decission....

    Hope many of you will visit this resort and enjoy as much as we did.....

  • Avatar for nigele6
    By nigele6 May 16, 2007

    One of the best resorts in Spain. Beautiful apartments, indoor and outdoor pool. Chiringuito and beach bar, gymnasium. very easy to exchange

  • Avatar for martinw14
    By martinw14 Nov 28, 2006

    Excellent facilities and staff. A woinderful place to have a break! The site is still under construction, the restaurant will open in 2007, but we experienced no disturbance.

    Fantastic !

  • Avatar for craigbeck
    By craigbeck Aug 7, 2006

    This is very unusual for me to give a Marriott resort anything less than a 5 star rating. Playa Andaluza certainly gives you the touch of class you want and expect of the Marriott brand but there are too many disapointments to ignore.

    The pools are not really big enough for the population size they need to serve, which gives a cramped and cluttered feeling in peak season. The layout of the pools is not ideal, the childrens pool at one side of the complex is about 3 foot deep (not deep enough to swim in) and the other pools are too deep for kids so you are left baking on the side while the kids play or vice versa.

    There is no real evening entertainment and no on site restaurant. There is a nearby beach side restuarant with fantastic views but an expensive and limited menu.

    The Marriott magic is missing from this one

  • Avatar for vicki133
    By vicki133 Jun 22, 2005

    Fantastic time! Loved the quality of the resort. Grocery stores nearby, great day trips to Rhonda and Gibralter. Terrific restaurants in Puerto Banus... just terrific all around. It is RIGHT ON the beach, however we found that we were around the pool more than on the sand... it was just so nice. Be sure to rent a car, because although everything is close, you will come and go lots, and its really too far to walk. Puerto Banus: Great restaurants and shops. Pricey, but fun. Parking in Puerto Banus is difficult, so either go early, or just go straight to the pay garages... we spent 30 minutes or more each evening we tried to park looking for a street parking spot... its not worth it! Rhonda: Rhonda was one of our favorite day trips -- don't miss it! Gorgeous drive, beautiful city -- great restaurants and pastry shops. Easy to park and walk around. Don't worry about any language barrier -- its really easy to get around and speaking English is generally not a problem. Gibralter: Gibralter is a great day trip, but you better have a tiny rental car if you are driving and parking there! Morocco: We did not take this day tour (or 2-day tour for some), but talked to others who did. They said it was not super clean, but it was really interesting and worth doing.

    Have fun! This was a terrific vacation.

  • Avatar for carole162
    By carole162 Oct 21, 2004

    The second Marriott resort on the Costa del Sol. Playa Andaluza is stunning with a particularly nice outdoor pool. It has its own beach and currently indoor pool, gym (looking over indoor pool), spas, saunas, steam rooms etc. Opened in July 03 so still under construction but you don't really notice the building work when there. Very close to Puerto Banus with its fabulous marina and ritzy lifestyle! Not too far from Marbella, Gibralter and many inland villages such as Rhonda and Benahavis. (Lots of great reasonably priced restaurants here!)

  • Avatar for karenperry
    By karenperry Updated Dec 4, 2003

    Lovely new resort. Opened July 2003.

    Lives up to Marriott luxury.

    I liked being able to explore Andalusia, Gibralter and the mountains.

    Also liked it being 5 minutes away from cosmopolitan Peurto Banus.

    On the beach - great to relax & on a clear day could see Africa.

    Nice sub-tropical gardens.

    Security level was good but unobtrusive.

    I can see that this will become Marriott's best vacation club in Europe.

    Easy to get to - 30 mins from Malaga which is 2 hours from London.

Back to reviews
Resort review