The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico

4.6

Out of 5
30 reviews
  • 5

    (32)

  • 4

    (3)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for sd28
    By sd28 Jun 6, 2015

    Absolutely fabulous resort and getting bigger and better every year. The constant growth of the property does from time to time result in in some minor inconveniences as the the resort tries to maintain operations while growing by leaps and bounds. There are now four or five Gand Luxxe buildings of various tiles and benefits, one of the original Mayan hotels which now includes the exquist grocery store ( a bit pricey but terrific selections), the Grand Bliss with its terrific lobby and beach side pool, the huge Grand Mayan ( my favourite ) with the great pools for adults and especially the kids pools and a new Bliss hotel along side of no. 2 golf hole. By the way the latest news is that the new golf course on the south side of the the river will be open by this coming winter. We have been going to the this property for over 15 years and now stay about four and a half months per winter. The service staff are terrific, very warm accommodating and friendly. The management is always trying to help and the local Mexican population makes our stay at the Grand Mayan Nueveo Vallarta " our winter home"

  • Avatar for stevent27
    By stevent27 Updated Jan 10, 2011

    great resort once you buy or up grade you are treated like trash. the timeshare sales takes 6 hours. owerners do not get ocean view rooms.the tell you can rent them out for 3600+maintance fees.ha ha iup graded from gd mayan to gd luxxe and was treated worse than before

  • Avatar for sf41
    By sf41 Jul 22, 2010

    I've been an owner for many years. They do everything top shelf at Grand Mayan. This is one notch down from Four Season's and Ritz Carlton properties. The new Grand Luxxe (currently being built) is equal to Ritz, etc! Views are either Ocean or Golf Course and quite nice. In Nuevo there are restaurants within 5 minutes (& 5$ ride) that are good and inexpensive.

    Beds are very firm, so if you like them soft you may have to ask for additional padding. Rooms are very nice, but as with all timeshares, as they get older, they may show some scratches, etc if people abuse them. For the most part any furniture or equipment that I've notes problems with, they've fixed or replaced! That's service.

    Generally, Grand Mayans have wonderful pools and beaches to die for. You won't be disappointed. Luxury at an affordable price. I'll be going back again this fall.

  • Avatar for ira10
    By ira10 Mar 9, 2010

    I have to take issue with 2 of the reviews here. One of them was written in 2008... and the other one which is the one in particular I find a problem with was just recently added in Jan of 2010.

    Anyone who had read any of the reviews has seen that all of the ratings are 5 ***** of this terrific and upscale resort.

    This last review especially has absolutely NOTHING to do with the resort. In fact it opens with the words, "Great resort". So, what is the problem Mr. Owner?

    If you have an issue as an owner of the resort, then PLEASE deal with the membership department of the resort and PLEASE stop Bashing our upscale, wonderful resort here on Redweek in an area for rating RESORTS... not the the people that run them!

    This part of Redweek is a place to rate and review resorts, NOT the intricacies of ownership... and by leaving a negative 2 ** rating you are transferring your feelings about being an owner and dealing with the resort onto the RESORT ITSELF. Now WHY would you want to do that?

    Please, if you have something negative to say about how the resort deals with its over 85,000 owners, then write it on a blog or post it on Redweek where there are discussions and forums.. like I should be doing. But not here.

    I apologize for these comments but I felt I had to respond to the inappropriate comments posted here and explain that they have NOTHING whatsoever to do with the ACTUAL resort.

    It's a fantastic resort and property and getting better year by year!

  • Avatar for xsinner5o
    By xsinner5o Dec 15, 2009

    I stayed at this resort NOV '07 and it has been my favorite of all timeshares so far. The service was excellent, room immaculate and always plenty of room at the pool and beach. That (along with a few cocktails each day) makes a perfect vacation for me! We went to Puerto Vallarta 3 times for shopping and eating and really enjoyed everything there. Great resort and hope I am able to return soon!

  • Avatar for juliec277
    By juliec277 Updated Mar 17, 2009

    Exceptional resort. Every single staff member we encountered went above and beyond to provide flawless service. We got our wristbands from the timeshare people, declined the breakfast, told them they could not call later in the week, and weren't bothered by them again.

    We stayed in a 2BR/2BA. Didn't get oceanview as we rented it from someone through an exchange. We were in the building closest to the Sea Garden, two rooms from the end on the 5th floor. Pretty good view of the marina. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping did a great job. This end of the building is much better for those with kids as it's very close to the wave pool, beach access, and kids' club (which we didn't use).

    Our kids loved the wave pool, slide, and lazy river. No problems with chairs/beds being staked out early. Three different days, we spent entirely at the resort and got to the wave pool around 9-9:30. Each time, we were able to score a palapa bed. Go figure.

    Breakfast buffet at Samba was great. Make sure to try the chilaquiles rojo. Excellent. We ate there 4 days. Very reasonable for right at $15/pp with the current exchange rate (around 15 pesos/$1USD). It was 230 pesos/adult, 115/child.

    Beach here is nice, better than in PV, imo. Water was warm, even for me. Vendors on the beach weren't too bad.

    Cabs seemed to be cheaper from the bus stop for some reason, probably due to competition. We got a cab into PV one night for 100 pesos, no haggling on our part. Bus is easy to take into PV (though we didn't do it), little more complicated to go into Bucerias. If heading toward Bucerias/Sayulita, highly recommend taking a cab to a bus stop in Mezcales (around 30 pesos) and picking up the Compostelos bus there. If you go straight from the bus stop by Sea Garden, you'll be walking over a filthy, scary bridge that spans the highway, then standing next to the highway for up to about 30 minutes.

  • Avatar for johnr638
    By johnr638 Oct 20, 2008

    The hotel was nice, but they really push you hard into attending a presentation, which I found was the longest (4 hrs.10min., when they told us it would be 90 min.) and most outrageous thing I ever experienced. By the time we were subjected to the 4th (yes, that's right) salesperson, we were pretty disgusted with the whole thing. When they finally got the message that we weren't going to buy anything, the sales person (I won't say she was a lady) even cussed at us! I'll NEVER go back!!!

  • Avatar for debrac135
    By debrac135 Aug 12, 2008

    This is the best resort I have ever been too! Everyone is so friendly and the pool is huge! Food is excellent and the drinks at the pool bar are excellent! Had a terrific time...can't wait to go back!

  • Avatar for triciad21
    By triciad21 Mar 30, 2008

    This resort is family-friendly while being adult focused as well. The rooms are modern, clean, spacious and well appointed. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and taken care of. the staff is extremely accommodating, friendly, & professional. There are about 7 different restaurants and 2 or 3 theme nights with a buffet and entertainment. All the food is very good. Prices are a bit high but reasonable for such a high-end resort. This is a cash-less resort with everything being charged to your room. You can walk around all day in nothing but a bathing suit and at night everything is very causal. We just returned from a week with our two kids 10 & 8 and they just had a blast in the lazy river, wave pools, slide, kids play area and all the pools as well as the beach. Also- the gym is fantastic with state of the art equipment and classes. The spa is also wonderful too. I can not say enough how lovely this resort is. Well worth every penny.

  • Avatar for rickw84
    By rickw84 Feb 16, 2008

    Outstanding resort! Only negative comment is the food seems overpriced.

  • Avatar for mike3239
    By mike3239 Jan 19, 2008

    We just got back from our 3rd visit to this property in the last year, and we couldn't have had a better time! This is a top notch resort, with all the amenities of a high end resort, spacious rooms, great pool area, lazy river, wave pool, kid’s area, and great beach areas. Our 2 bedroom unit had plenty of room for our group of five and we were very comfortable. We can’t wait to go back.

    There are at least 6 different restaurants on the property, which consists of the Grand Mayan, the Mayan Palace, and the Sea Garden, all Grupo Mayan properties. Food ranged from average to great, and there was plenty of variety.

    The quality of the property is on par with the best in Mexico. Keep in mind this is Mexico, everyone around you may not speak perfect English, and that every American nuance may not be the same here. If that’s what you’re looking for then stay in the US. This is Mexico so just relax and enjoy yourself!

    The resort is a ways out of the city, but if you are a little adventurous, bus service runs right from the edge of the property and gets you to the marina or downtown for $2.00 or less per person. Downtown has a lot of fun restaurants and shops, and the marina area has excursions such as whale watching.

    As for the time share issue here or anywhere else, you do not have to go or buy. My experience is if you are looking for a place to come back to and have fun for years, timeshares can be good. If you’re looking for an investment, rental, or other way to make money, then put your money to better use elsewhere.

  • Avatar for richarda201
    By richarda201 Jan 4, 2008

    Everything about this resort is 5 star--the waterpark, beach, golf course, rooms, fitness center, and restaurants. You are living the good life if you are staying at the Grand Mayan.

  • Avatar for marym341
    By marym341 Jul 4, 2007

    This is a top notch property with beautiful pools, pristine and spacious rooms and consistently fresh and good food. The staff was gracious and professional. Short taxi ride to town (Puerto Vallarta). Overall a great experience to highly recommend.

  • Avatar for orvillef2
    By orvillef2 Updated Jun 6, 2007

    We just got back from the Grand Mayan but spent alot of time at the Mayan Palace next door and actually we preferred it.

    There isn't a waterpark there, so the kids would probably prefer the Grand, but lots of activities, the shops, spa, disco, game room, better beach, etc. are all at the Mayan Palace.

    The end of May the weather was terrific, hot, but it seems like there are more mexicans vacationing at this time of year and the food was geared more towards their taste. We are in Mexico, of course, but maybe the food was a little too authentic for us.

    The cleanliness and friendly service, of course can't be beat and that is precisely why we go again and again to the Mayan Palaces in Mexico.

    By the way, we were asked if we wanted to attend the owners meeting, we said no thanks and we were never, not one time, solicited by sales people. The resort is the same beautiful place as always, but now that we are owners, we are glad that we get the best rooms. And you won't find a better resort in Mexico, so if you're looking for a Ritz-Carton in New York or a Four Seasons in California, go there, this is Mexico!! Don't expect to trade in your so called "Five Star" and get the best room in the place. Just be thankful if you get to come if you don't own. Or become an owner.

  • Avatar for janetmcdowell
    By janetmcdowell Updated Apr 19, 2007

    We just got back from a weeks vacation. My family loved it! Beautiful room and furniture, grounds and amenities were outstanding!

    We loved the food at all the restaurants and prices were great; unlike the all-inclusive resorts. For the 3 of us, and with no restrictions regarding food and drinks, along with a few souvenirs, our bill came to $780. U.S. for the week. Amazing, compared to an all-inclusive fee of $3150. (150./person) which is low for most resorts.

    The staff were very hard working, kind, polite and very helpful. We will definitely be going back to Mexico but only if we can stay here!

  • Avatar for hollyg29
    By hollyg29 Dec 24, 2006

    Grounds are beautiful and you can't beat the location. Pools are fabulous and the beach is never crowded. Our rooms were immaculate and extremely spacious. Only drawback is having to take the long cab ride into the actual town of Puerto Vallarta. Also the fact that there are no really great stores on the grounds of the Grand Mayan as there are with the other resorts in the area.

  • Avatar for dorothyla
    By dorothyla Dec 10, 2006

    We have stayed at both Mayan Palace and Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta. They are really one connected property but only Grand Mayan guests/owners can use both facilities. I have travelled all over the world, stayed in the finest places, and this place is on par with the best. The facility is spacious and tastefully decorated. The service is great and there is plenty of staff, and all are pleasant.

    The only complaints are the normal for Mexico - the beds and pillows are rock-hard, but that is normal. The beach is beautiful, and fun to walk, but most people swim in the pools due to the currents and undertow.

    We have rented a car, but really it's cheaper to hire taxis to go/from town and the airport, and parking in town is a real challenge.

    There is a great grocery store near town called Pelican, and taxis await you at the exit. The Mayan staff have bins to put your bags into and deliver to your room free of charge (we tipped them of course).

    We have very much enjoyed this resort, the area (which has a dolphin center nearby), and the town of Puerto Vallarta. The golf course is not challenging, but in line with resort courses. The health spa is fantastic.

    All made for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation and we intend to use Grand Mayan often, and return to Nuevo Vallarta regularly. We hear you can see whales frolicking off the beach from December to February - something to look forward to on a future trip!

  • Avatar for modelrr
    By modelrr Oct 14, 2006

    Rooms smelled of cigarette smoke. Beds and pillows were very hard. Chairs not very comfortable.

    Rooms were on second floor with an ocean view, but behind a restaurant, so noise was a problem. We prefer the openness of the grounds and the nearness to the beach of the adjoining Mayan Palace. We will not hesitate to visit again, but we will be more particular about the location of our suite.

  • Avatar for cabochick
    By cabochick Jun 5, 2006

    Can anyone elaborate on what the beaches are like for swiming, snorkeling, diving etc. in PV?

  • Avatar for jwc
    By jwc May 19, 2006

    We spent 2 weeks from 4/15-4/29/2006 at the Grand Mayan in NV. We have also stayed 2 weeks a the Grand Mayan Riviera Maya.

    The accommodations, amenities and service are excellent. We have been timesharing for 20 years and the Grand Mayans are the best. We are not owners but exchanged through SFX. We had an ocean view unit on the 9th floor (top floor).

    We had absolutely no problem with the sales folks. We never attend presentations and told them that when we arrived. They said no problem and didn't bother us at all during our stay. One thing that I like is that the sales is separate from the concierge unlike the Royals in Cancun.

  • Avatar for byron71
    By byron71 Updated Apr 3, 2006

    We have stayed at the Mayan Palace and other fine resorts in the world and these properties are certainly on par. They have been built from the ground up as vacation club properties, not like some that you find in the U.S. which are converted hotel rooms. They follow the history of the Mexican people especially as you enter the entry of the Grand Mayan..totally breath taking. We love the palapas.

    Finally two years ago we purchased 10 weeks at the Grand Mayan for a whopping $89,000 including fees. I give 4 away to family and friends annually. Who would pay $169,000 for 4 weeks of any timeshare property? Even ski-in ski-out Salt Lake City or Aspen, CO? We do realize that we got a during construction deal, but all we call that is "right place right time". My experience has been impeccable and the children, family, and friends love the waterpark.

    Yes, they are experiencing some challenges. Speaking with one of the big wigs they underestimated the number of english speaking customers they would have signing up and exchanging through RCI, ICI, ICE,SFX,HSI and so on. That said they have not instructed their staff to do things as we do in the U.S. or Canada. But that is "OK"! That is why we travel abroad to experience different cultures. we like not being hounded by a waiter or waitress as we complete my meal, cuz they are trying to turn over a table to get more tips, as they do in the states. Ask for the bill and you shall receive...otherwise keep reading your book and sipping your cappacino and they leave you be.

    Now to be fair, more of their restaurants could be properly air conditioned or incorporate better air flow to cool the places down, but we could say that about resorts we've visited in Hong Kong, Beijing, and Korea.

    We do not however, enjoy being hounded by the sales people at any of the resorts, even the folks at the Grand Mayan Palace. Your respected up to a certain point and when we reminded them to look up our profile; they treat us like lepers because we were stupid enough :-)to purchase so many weeks upfront. We were actually left at the breakfast table (GMP-Rivera Maya-Cancun)by one of the Mexican sales associates welcoming us once his American/Canadian sales manager looked up our file and informed him that we were probably not going to be buying more weeks. When we enquired we were enformed that the "Welcome Back," hospitality greeting was for those who had less than 4 weeks. Guys, it is all about sales numbers and commissions, just like in the states, if that is what you want...you'll get it.

    Otherwise, the facility is virtually new and depending on availability each bedroom will have either one king and two queens or each will have a king bed. Allowing for 6-10 sleeping with three pull-out sofa beds. The decorations are bright, colorful and funky and the appliances are all stainless steel. Countertops granite, floors marble, jacuzzi type tub in one unit, marble showers, and a dipping pool on the deck for those days you wish to sun bath without going to the pool. Quality soaps, shampoos, conditioners and lotions are provided to all guests. Overall, the 2 BR units range from 1600-1800 sq.ft., which is on par with many of the finest properties in the world. The decks on the Grand Mayan are spacious and chairs are provided for sitting or lounging. For the children (and those kids at heart) you name it...one of the biggest pools in the world, wave pool, and as we said before it has its own water park onsite. Golf, tennis, great health club lagoon for kayaks and other non-motorized transportation. What more can you ask? Better food in the restaurants...YES...room service is 10 times better. Hopefully, by the next time we visit the restaurants will have improved. Better yet, take a bus ride/rent a car and eat in the city...that is the real reason for a vacation...relax and experience the culture of the place your visiting. If we see another McDonald's, Burger King, Wendy's, Domino's or Pizza Hut, while traveling abroad, we are going to scream. Hope you enjoy the Grand Mayan Experience...we have!!!

  • Avatar for shelleyre
    By shelleyre Dec 13, 2005

    Heaven! CLEAN & SPACIOUS & FRIENDLY. Food is very good. The water park is wonderful. We used the public bus to get to town & Punta Mita.

  • Avatar for harris169
    By harris169 Nov 23, 2005

    We just stayed for two weeks in Nov'05 - the grounds are huge and gorgeous as are the brand new and very modern rooms. The 2BR units have a huge patio (mostly covered) with dipping pool and outside seating. The kitchen and baths are very spacious, even jetted tubs. We've been traveling to Mexico for 15 years and this is by far the nicest place we've stayed. As for slow service, that is part of the Mexico experience, but remember you have to REQUEST your bill (La Quinta Por Favor) after dining...in their custom it is rude to serve you your bill before you ask. Hope you get a chance to enjoy this place - the pool, lazy river, water slide and wave pool are great! And the long, flat beach is a major plus.

  • Avatar for ibq4
    By ibq4 Nov 3, 2005

    No doubt about it, this a a beautiful resort! However the horrible service and food makes it very difficult to want to return. When you check in to the Mayan Palace next door they offer to upgrade you to the new Grand Mayan if you will attend a breakfast for "90" minutes. 3 hours later after telling them 100 different ways that you're not interested in spending $169,000. yes thats $169,000 for 4 weeks of timeshare useage, you finally get to leave. The food service and quality is horrible. We sat outside at the poolside Samba restaurant and waited over an hour to get our dinner, which was horrible, and then waited another 45 minutes to get our check. We tried to eat poolside one night and after asking 3 different waiters for a menu, which they never brought us we finally gave up and went to our room and ordered room service, which was actually better than any of the onsite restaurants. We went over to the Mayan Palace next door for a Tex Mex buffet which was very good and the service there was excellent. Cant figure out what is going on with the Grand Mayan as it is the newest and most expensive of the 3 resorts. The properties are very spread out so it is difficult to go to the other resorts. If you stay at the Grand you can use the facilities at the other resorts, but the people staying at them cannot go to the Grand Mayan. I dont know why they would want to other than the lazy river pool. We have stayed at many resorts in Mexico and many numerous cities and have never had such awful food and service. I dont know that we would ever return to the Grand Mayan. It's a shame that such a beautiful resort cant get its act together

  • Avatar for robertk36
    By robertk36 Aug 14, 2005

    Beautiful resort in friendly community surrounded by mountians and large bay.

  • Avatar for mimi78
    By mimi78 Updated Jun 28, 2005

    Posting R222771

  • Avatar for rob185
    By rob185 May 17, 2005

    Now that it is 95% complete the best Resort we have stayed at in Mexico in 10 years. Rooms excellent, Food great, the Lazy River the best, the golf outstanding. Great for a Golf plus vacation with the family.

  • Avatar for rmrosario
    By rmrosario Sep 27, 2004

    We just came back from a vacation at the Mayan. Even though it was the rainy season it was fabulous! The resort is spectacular. It is large with many amenities. We loved the wine bar, pool service and lounge bar in particular. We also loved their breakfast/brunches. Well worth buying the coupons for this since it is all you can eat and easily will last you until dinner! The service and staff were great and friendly. I only wish they played more Latin music. Will definitely be going back next year.

  • Avatar for sharon597
    By sharon597 Updated May 5, 2004

    We visited this luxury resort Jan 04 and loved it. Spacious rooms, spacious grounds, and the biggest pool we've ever seen. Staff was very gracious, the Spa was fabulous! Miles of beach to walk on. We'll be back!

  • Avatar for maritza10
    By maritza10 Apr 7, 2004

    I have visited this resort and I was impressed with the rooms and surrounding areas. Incredible leisure awaits you. Everything about this resort is quality. Outstanding decor and truly a five-star resort including all the amenities that are offered. I cant wait to visit all five resorts under the Grand Mayan umbrella.

Back to reviews
Resort review