Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

4.1

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (12)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for andrewg139
    By andrewg139 Nov 10, 2016

    This resort is amazing. The location is perfect close to all kinds of shopping from local merchants with unique items to Costco and Wall Mart with the best open market fish fry I have ever seen. Activities are everywhere around you and the beach is a few steps from the resort. The pools are to die for and the service is great including some of the best restaurants in the entire area right inside the resort. This is the kind of resort everyone dreams of staying at. Andrew G

  • Avatar for brandieb9
    By brandieb9 Updated Oct 1, 2016

    We just got back from this resort today. 10/1/16. We had a 1 bedroom 2 bathroom with a garden view. We loved it! It was very spacious and served our family of three very well. Can't say enough about this hotel. We will be going back.

  • Avatar for suzannes141
    By suzannes141 Updated Mar 18, 2016

    We rented a full 2 bedroom, 3 bath unit here for New Year's week. It is a beautiful resort, great location with a beautiful spa. If you are a renter, however, please know that they will not honor the view category of the owner. When we checked in, we had to sign a paper acknowledging that we would not be getting the owner's view. We were put in a unit that looked out on another building and a vacant lot that was used for dropping off the parasailors at the end of their ride. Every renter I talked to had the same (or worse) view. The owners there should complain because if they bought a certain view, they should get it no matter who is going to be staying in it.

  • Avatar for chrish355
    By chrish355 Nov 30, 2014

    Wow, the finest quality and service in Cabo! Arco is far superior to Villa del Palmar. The rooms are huge and made with the finest materials and furnishings. Large furnished balconies with views. The pool is heated and shallow enough to touch bottom. There are separate pools ideal for kids and 2 hot tubs and view of lands end. The service is top notch from everyone there.

  • Avatar for jamesp688
    By jamesp688 Apr 20, 2013

    Great resort.......but.......don't buy a timeshare there. Bought one several years ago in del Arco but despite what they tell you, when you trade, they make you trade a lessor resort next door. The villa del pal mar. Like 3 star so you don't trade well at all.

  • Avatar for sg20
    By sg20 Updated Jun 17, 2012

    Vacationed here in February 2012 and will be back! This is a fabulous resort and deserves a 5 star rating. The resort is beautiful, staff is great and Villa del Arco is a perfect vacation spot. The comments made below from colinm27 are not about the resort but about the Timeshare Sales Staff. Reviews should be made about the resort (i.e. location, staff/service, cleanliness and sleep comfort) and rated accordingly. You can certainly add your comments but you have not accurately rated the resort.

  • Avatar for colinm27
    By colinm27 Aug 17, 2011

    This resort gets the lowest rating possible only because of their Timeshare Sales Staff. Signed a timeshare deal with 7500.00 down (huge mistake), got home with an entire 4 days to rescind and did so via FedEx and Fax. A guy named Shane will try to downsell you into a smaller unit to keep your deposit. If you don't agree he then will tell you your deposit is non-refundable. Mexican Law requires a FULL REFUND if you rescind within 5 business days. VILLA GROUP TIMESHARE SALES REPS ARE COMPLETE SCAMMERS. DO NOT BELIEVE A WORD THEY SAY. I will work through my credit card company for a charge back since I have proof I rescinded the contract in time. VILLA GROUP DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR MEMBERS == THEY ONLY CARE ABOUT RIPPING PEOPLE OFF. I was thinking about buying on the secondary market for 1/5 what they charged me for the same thing, but doesn't seem a good idea given how they are acting. Bottom line - do not attend the timesahre presentation or if you do, set your watch and leave in 90 minutes.

  • Avatar for maryannm66
    By maryannm66 Jul 8, 2010

    We just returned from a week stay in a two bedroom/3 bath ocean view suite and it was the best. The resort speaks for itself (FIVE STAR). The service is amazing and extremely friendly. We loved it and will recommend it to anyone who asks. There were 6 in our group and we elected to do the all inclusive. It really is worth it. The food is amazing especially the sushi. Again the Servers were Fantastic ( Esteban, Juan and Jose) They made my family feel quit at home. Can't wait to go back. We consisted of two adults, two 18 year olds and two 13 year olds. All enjoyed themselves emensly.

  • Avatar for bobb314
    By bobb314 Updated Feb 17, 2010

    We stayed at Villa del Arco during the week of 2/6-13/2010. We are new owners in the timeshare - this was our third trip to Cabo, but the first time we stayed at Arco. We stayed at the sister resort next door, Villa La Estancia our last two visits. The Arco facilities are excellent.

    We were with two other couples in a 2 bedroom/ 3 bathroom unit with no problems. Master bedroom is spacious and opens to the main balcony/patio. The second bedroom also serves as the lock-off unit and can serve as a studio - it has a half fridge and 2 burner stove with full kitchen utensils. It also has a full bath. It opens to a small private balcony/patio. The unit has a full kitchen in the main living area with dining room table for six and living room area that opens to larger balcony/patio with table/chairs and two lounge chairs. The main living area also served as the third bedroom for our group. The third bath is off of this area and offers shower so each of three couples had a "private" bath so to speak. In this room was the "Murphy" bed that pulls down for sleeping purposes- it's a full mattress and the couple that slept there had no complaints. Each room in the resort offers a view of the Sea of Cortez...we had a nice view of Medano Beach and the isles that contain the arch. Our one complaint about the room is that the pillows are hard as rocks...if you are picky about this think about bringing your own.

    The resort offers a three part pool with plenty of lounge chairs available ... at least this week. The resort also offers a number of chairs in a roped off area on the beach. We had our choice of beach or pool every day. There is a really large and well furnished fitness facility at Arco - I used it almost every day...cardio (elliptical/bikes/treadmills) and weight equipment that would be the envy of a small health club at home - they also have an on staff trainer for private workouts and group yoga, etc. There is also a large full service spa that I did not partake of but the ladies were pleased with their visit.

    There are three onsite dining areas - we didn't eat onsite that much as we like to get out and experience the vast array of local dining options. The couple of meals we had at the resort were all very good. When you stay at the Arco you also have access to dining at the restaurants in the sister resorts Villa La Estancia and Villa del Palmer next door...so there are plenty of chocies on site. To go off site for meals you can walk 10 minutes down the beach to a variety of beach bars including the well known The Office (nice for lunch but recommended for dinner). It's not a bad walk into the marina area, but its a 5 minute taxi and only 70 pesos...so we typically take the taxi.

    We found the service to be excellent, but we're not particularly hard to please...we're on vacation after all. Check-in was no problem...but, even as owners we were subjected to the pitch to attend the timeshare presentation...just say no thank you (perhaps a couple of times) unless you are interested in the freebies they are offering or you think you might be interested. We've found after numerous trips to Mexico that a few well placed tips early in your stay can really enhance your visit. We typically seek out a pool/beach waiter and introduce ourselves and leave a nice tip the first day...you'll be amazed how attentive and timely they can be when they know you'll take care of them. Similarly, a tip for the maid will assure you have plenty of towels and that your dishes get done (not included in the daily maid service, but ours were done everyday). And the same for the bell captain and concierge. Both can be very helpful as you look for interesting places to visit and dine. It doesn't take much to get them working with and for you.

    This was our fourth stay in a Villa Group property (La Estancia Cabo twice, two weeks at Villa del Palmar Flamingos in Nuevo Vallarta and this trip to the Arco). We are very impressed with the quality of the resorts themselves, the upkeep (the grounds are beautifully maintained) and the service.

    5 stars from us.

  • Avatar for brianp131
    By brianp131 Updated Jan 1, 2009

    I just stayed there this past December with my wife, Dad and Mother-in-Law - we had a fantastic time! Great resort with several resturaunts and shopping. Beautiful beach! 5 Star quality!

  • Avatar for haroldb52
    By haroldb52 Updated Jan 22, 2008

    We have returned to Villa del Arco twice now since it opened just before last Christmas. The hotel service and accommodations rate favorably with first-class hotels in which we've stayed in Europe and Hawaii. The hotel is situated on Medano Beach, the only true swimming beach on the southern end of Baja. We chatted with some first time visitors today who were impressed that the pools are heated to 80 plus degrees, making for a very pleasant swimming experience.

    The hotel rooms are wall-to-wall marble and the hotel is situated so that most rooms have either a direct view or at least an indirect view of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. We love to eat the buffet breakfast at the hotel's restaurant that is on a veranda about ten feet above beach level and on the edge of the Sea. We watched what looked to be Manta Rays dancing on the water as we ate the other morning. Last year, we saw whales and porpoises while we dined.

    This is our fifth visit back to the Villa Group properties...we continue to be impressed with the service and how much attention hotel management pays to upkeep and maintenance. This has been a first-class, five-star experience.

Back to reviews
Resort review