Back to resort

Reviews of Hotel Marina El Cid Cancun - Riviera Maya

Puerto Morelos, Mexico

4.2

Out of 5
9 reviews
  • 5

    (5)

  • 4

    (3)

  • 3

    (0)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hotel Marina El Cid Cancun - Riviera Maya lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for chrish355
    By chrish355 Oct 23, 2016

    Beautiful resort with excellent food at the restaurants. There are 4 main restaurants, 1-seafood, 1-Itallian, 2-Mexican, 3-International, & 4-Buffet. There is lots of entertainment for the whole family, clean comfortable rooms, All Inclusive is mandatory, but very affordable.

    You can swim in the ocean or pools. Go snorkeling from the marina on site to 2nd largest living reefs in World. It is totally amazing.

  • Avatar for juliyac
    By juliyac Updated Mar 6, 2016

    Great location, amazing food and enterteinment, going 4 times a year and it's never enough! Must Go!!!

  • Avatar for lisae248
    By lisae248 Updated May 28, 2012

    This is a beautiful luxury resort in a nice location away from the busy atmosphere of Cancun. It is not oversized and you feel well taken care of by the friendly staff. Shopping and dining in the nearby village is a short walk or bike ride away. Our MAJOR complaint: we purchased our timeshare in 2007 and were promised that owners would NEVER have to pay the all-inclusive fees. It was optional for owners. The very next year in 2008 the resort went MANDATORY all inclusive for EVERYONE. We have visited some of the other El Cid properties since then, but have not returned to our own beautiful home resort, because of the large mandatory fees for meals and drinking for a family of four. Much of the services we would not use and would have to pay for meals twice since we do not spend the entire time on the resort and the kids don't drink!

  • Avatar for gdenisea
    By gdenisea Aug 16, 2011

    Stayed here Feb/11. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, many restaurants to choose from, beautiful gardens, quiet pool for adults, great fun for children. Very good shows. Excellent holiday. Returning in Feb/12.

  • Avatar for chuckb60
    By chuckb60 Updated Feb 17, 2011

    Only 20 minutes from the airport, the fishing village of Puerto Morelos is a nice change from the urban setting of Cancun. If you decide to rent a car, the location is great for getting to places like Playa del Carmen and Tulum.

    If you like snorkeling and diving, there's a National Reef park all along the area. The resort became mandatory all-inclusive in 2008, so you need to check on those costs before you buy or rent.

  • Avatar for katrinad18
    By katrinad18 Updated Jul 30, 2010

    We just returned from El Cid. It is an amazing resort for families. The pool and diving cliff kept my two boys (10 & 9) busy all day. The snorkeling off the beach was great! We found star fish, barracuda, lobster, sting ray and coral fish. The activities are plentiful and the food good. We were put on groundfloor next to the pool. We found it easy to walk to and from the pool, but did miss the ocean view, which we are used too. The music is a bit loud and one DJ didn't mind playing songs that had vulgarity in it. We and many others complained about it, so hopefully they took care of it. Overall we had an amazing time and trying to find a way to go back next year....we are rci and they have the 1/4 rule!

  • Avatar for tomp115
    By tomp115 Updated Feb 26, 2009

    Fantastic family resort. We stayed in building 16, with a view of the pool and the ocean and loved everything about this resort. We travelled to the resort from 10-18 Feb 09, were picked up and transported to the resort without difficulty. We had a very smooth check in and took advantage of the "freebies" given out if you endured the notorious time share meeting. Snorkelling is spectacular on the National Reef, only 15 mins by boat from the Marina towards Puerto Morelos. Our kids swam with the dolphins at Isla Mujeres(near Cancun) and will remember it forever. The restaurants were all very well presented and service was very efficient and speedy. All of the meals were great. The pool was a real highlight for our younger kids, who spent countless hours jumping off of the cliff located within the pool. We felt very safe and comfortable in this resort and let our kids enjoy the safety within. It wasn't one of the huge resorts where people get lost in the shuffle. The staff were all very courteous and friendly and rectified a small TV remote issue for us immediately. The maid service took excellent care of us and we tipped accordingly. No worries with this resort, we will be going back again!!!!

  • Avatar for robertg159
    By robertg159 Aug 1, 2008

    We bought a studio time share there 6 months ago. The firm has refused to act according to the contract, and refused to honor its commitment to provide a studio time share. It has refused to discuss the matter despite repeated attempts (by phone, email, and fax) to communicate with them.

    We have owned 9 timeshares now and in the past, in the US and in Mexico, and this is our first experience with outright dishonest services.

  • Avatar for umfleea
    By umfleea Dec 31, 2006

    If you like a smaller resort with activities and great food, then this is the place for you. This Resort is NEW (2006).

    I visited with my 21-yr old daughter on a mother-daughter trip (in August 2006), but it is a great place for families, couples, singles, and groups, too.

    The pool has a cliff jump, waterslide, and swim- up bar. Many activities that appeal to young and old alike, or just sit by the pool or beach and relax. Many beach activites and a great marina that offers the best snorkeling trip around (this is one thing you don't want to miss).

    Located outside of Cancun, but offers transportation and trips to nightlife, ruins, etc. Felt very safe here and plan to return. NOTE: If you want to be in the center of the nightlife, noise, and action, then a resort in Cancun would be better for you.

    RATING: The only reason I don't give it a 5- star rating is because I've stayed at 5-star resorts and this one is just a bit more relaxed and you get to know people (i.e. not stuffy). I don't have one negative thing to say about it.

Back to reviews
Resort review