Blue Ridge Village

Banner Elk, North Carolina

Back to resort

Reviews of Blue Ridge Village

Banner Elk, North Carolina

4.4

Out of 5
13 reviews
  • 5

    (10)

  • 4

    (3)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Blue Ridge Village lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for cathyy9
    By cathyy9 Updated Dec 6, 2007

    I can't believe the two negative reviews, especially the one by Charles in 2002, because we have been here every October since 1995, and even came once in July and once in September too and it has been wonderful each time! The staff have always been superb. We have always found the units to be VERY CLEAN and also VERY LARGE. Our unit sleeps 7 and we have more space here than we do at home. We have had four people (2 adults and 2 children) in our in room jacuzzi (with our swimsuits, like our own private pool). We have two TVS and a VCR and two kitchen tables in our unit 5B. Friends and family have all stayed here with us, and they loved it too! There's lots to do, especially if you like nature. Our unit is very quiet. Its not next to the main road, but when we have been outside, that wasn't noisy either. Even our teenagers think its great and they find plenty to do here.

  • Avatar for mummaredweek
    By mummaredweek Sep 20, 2007

    We stayed in a one bedroom November 2006. The two bedrooms are nicer, but we enjoyed the planned activities and the indoor pool. We really love Banner Elk with all the outdoor activities (even in November) and great restaurants. We ended up buying a week at the Highlands (which see).

  • Avatar for davew48
    By davew48 Mar 10, 2007

    We always stay at timeshares when we travel and love all the extra space over a hotel room. Blue Ridge has nice sized units. I dont know if we have every seen a destination with so much to do. Take the hiking tours with the staff they take you off the beaten trail to some really cool spots where we swam and ate lunch on rocks with water rushing around us. The town of Banner Elk is great with great shops and restraunts. We went whitewater rafting, golfed, swam, Grandfather mountain all so cool. AWESOME week at Blue Ridge Village

  • Avatar for dneal1960
    By dneal1960 Jul 31, 2006

    My family has stayed at Blue Ridge Village over 6 or 7 times in the past 8 years. We find it to be one of the best places that we stay. The staff was very friendly (especially Christie) and helpful and our unit - either a two or three bedroom - has always been in perfect condition. Don't let some of these negative comments keep you away from a wonderful vacation. We have even stayed at Chetola and the family still prefers Blue Ridge Village - I think that speaks for itself!

  • Avatar for jamesw35
    By jamesw35 Jul 10, 2005

    My wife and I have owned our unit since 1991. I don't know why Richard shared so many negative thoughts without thinking first. Every year since 1991, we have really enjoyed our time and accomodations at Blue Ridge. Within 5 minutes you can be golfing at Sugar or dining in Banner Elk (Great seafood & steak). Within 30 minutes you can be on 5 other golf courses, dozens of restaurants, Grandfather Mountain, Tweetise Railroad, Blowing Rock, Boone, Seven Devils, etc., etc. The staff at Blue Ridge are always friendly & very helpful. Jackie exceeds the standards for resort management!!!

  • Avatar for richardr16
    By richardr16 Jun 13, 2005

    The unit stunk of cigarette smoke because of their voluntary no smoking policy. We wanted to sleep with the slider open to get some fresh mountain air but there is a very busy road in front of the resort and it sounds like a motel next to I-95. The staff was unfriendly (large girl) and security guard McCor*ick was very rude to my wife and her sister. We'll never stay there again!

  • Avatar for jack298
    By jack298 Jun 25, 2004

    Superb mountain location; next to Grandfather Mountain. Ten to twenty-five minutes from Banner Elk, Linville George, Appalachian State University, Boone (try the ham bisquits at Daniel Boone Inn), Valle Crusis, Cone Mannor, Bass Lake, Blowing Rock and more. Shops, restaurants, playhouses, trails and incredible views. Large fully equipped condos; but it is easy to spend most of your time in the various small villages and attractions in the area.

  • Avatar for janet271
    By janet271 Mar 23, 2004

    Condo was really nice and the staff was very helpful also.

  • Avatar for lumo
    By lumo Jul 21, 2003

    My wife and I have been using Timeshares for about 10 years so I believe our evaluation will be meaningful. We just completed a week at the Blue Ridge Village and What awonderful time we had. It is a rustic environment, , fireplace etc. clean spacious, and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and hellpful. Jackie the manager was very accomodating and Cristie was a delite to deal with. After reading the one review of the dissatlisfiled visitor I just had to add my comments. I rate this location as one I will return to without hesitation. We did have two TVs a VCR

  • Avatar for cpmock
    By cpmock Jun 8, 2003

    We have stayed at this resort three times. It is a very nice place and very convenient to everything. Boone is down the road. White water rafting in Tennessee is great. Fishing on site. We always had a wonderful time. Would recommend highly.

  • Avatar for stevenb
    By stevenb Mar 17, 2003

    Wow....I might be blowing my own horn but in all fairness I too am an owner. I have a unit in the new buildings and can only guess where the person whom gave this place such a low rating stayed. My unit has 2tvs, vcr, gas fireplace, the hot tub has worked everytime I've been there. It's a nice place if you like the out of doors and very warm and pleasant on the inside.

  • Avatar for gmills
    By gmills Mar 3, 2003

    I am an owner and my unit has tv's in all bedrooms, VCR in living room and a fireplace. It is rustic but very peaceful. Jacuzzi in master bedroom also.

  • Avatar for charles
    By charles Updated Oct 2, 2002

    Rooms are a little small. TVs are small and not in each room. No VCR or DVD. No jacuzzi in MB. No fireplace. Never saw the health club. Zero activities provided by the resort. Parking is terrible. If you get a space, don't ever move your car. Long walk to all rooms espcially upstairs. No elevator. Staff help was slim to none. Nice indoor pool but the hot tub was broken and we never were able to use it the entire week. No cell phone service unless you drive down the mountain to the next town. It snowed the entire week and skiing is available down the road. They did keep the roads clear of ice and snow inside the resort and out. Nice quiet, rustic resort with a beautiful view.

Back to reviews
Resort review