Hacienda Tres Rios

Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of Hacienda Tres Rios

Playa del Carmen, Mexico

4.3

Out of 5
8 reviews
  • 5

    (9)

  • 4

    (2)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hacienda Tres Rios lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for harrietr23
    By harrietr23 Updated Mar 31, 2016

    We just returned from a week at Tres Rios. The staff could not be more helpful. They reserved our beds by the pool in the morning and sent us wine and hors d'oeuvres prior to dinner every afternoon. The accommodations are pristine and the balcony is lovely to sit out on. The restaurants are all good as well as the buffet. One day a week they have a fish market down at the beach where they grill fresh fish and make a great paella! You are close to Chichenitza and Tulum if you choose to go. The activities at the resort are plentiful. The beach has been redone and is very welcoming.

    We look forward to returning next year.

  • Avatar for billc482
    By billc482 Updated Sep 19, 2013

    We have been owners here at Hacienda Tres Rios since it opened and we have been back each year at different times and have never had a bad experience. I am certain that all new resorts have some growing pains, the same is true of Tres Rios, the pain here is the beach, but I can tell you from a meeting with the developers and other owners that in the Fall of 2013 there are to be massive improvments made to beach, much along the lines of what was done in Cancun (proper) after the last storm wiped out that beach.

    This resort is designed to make you do a little as possible. The staff go out of their way to ensure that no request is left undone. We have become friends with many of the staff and the new motto - in 2013 - and that is seen everywhere is 'welcome to your home' We have been to the resort for our 20th and 21st Anniversaries and each time, without promting, the staff have planned and executed a major surprise for our entire party - 14 and 10 people - we did not ask, it just happened. This year we had a 4 hour, resturant closing, when all the staff and the head chef all out to party with us, and we did not plan anything - well done to my friends at HTR.

    We have owned a number of time shares around the world and have sold of all of them and will only own here. We can and have traded into a number of wonderful resorts around the world and have no desire to own anywhere else. With a home resort like the Hacienda Tres Rios, who would ever look anywhere else.

  • Avatar for robinr193
    By robinr193 Feb 6, 2013

    We've been here twice and plan on returning again. We brought our son when he was 7 months old and again when he was 1.5 years old, and he had a great time. The water is lovely, and snorkeling or kayaking down the river through the mangroves up to the ocean is really nice. The buffet offered a great variety of excellent food, and the a la carte dining was also really good.

    The only thing I would suggest is to forgo the shuttle service offered. We ended up standing outside the airport for a couple of hours, not fun after x hours of travel already, with a young boy. Just take a taxi and make sure they aren't filling it up with more people going to different resorts if you want to get to the resort quicker.

  • Avatar for cathyg175
    By cathyg175 Nov 1, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay 2 times at the Hacienda, The beach is lovely though it does have red dye from the cenotes, which is natural and keeps the water clean, the sand is powder white and the pool is magnificent for a morning and afternoon swim, you can actually swim distance in the pool.

    The Food I found to be the best at any resort i've been too, and I loved the variety, and the nighty entertainment.

    the only 1 issue i would find with this hotel is it is sprawling, so if you like a smaller boutique hotel this is not the place for you. If you like variety, entertainment and gourmet, along with nature and relaxation, you will love, love , love it!!!

    Mucho Magnifico!!

  • Avatar for peterd108
    By peterd108 Updated Aug 4, 2012

    Not sure what happened with dmeade7471, but check out TripAdvisor.com for a broader perspective. Beware if you choose to book through any of the discount web sites - you will likely end up in a "hotel room", not a condo suite. And Rivera Maya is NOT Cancun (which is why we love it!) so if you're looking to party all night this is NOT the spot for you.

    As for Hacienda Tres Rios, the service is top-notch. Poolside, room service, and restaurants all treat you like royalty. The food is excellent (especially the Mexican and Italian), drinks are top-shelf, and the fresh guacamole and brick-oven pizzas made poolside are to die for.

    If you agree to a sales presentation just to cash in on the freebies, be ready for some pretty high pressure sales tactics. Only sign up if you really like the place and would seriously consider buying. This is true for most timeshare resorts, but especially in Cancun and Riviera Maya where competition is fierce.

  • Avatar for dmeade7471
    By dmeade7471 Mar 13, 2012

    We are owners at Tres Rios so it does us no benefit to write a dishonest review. We own several timeshares across the globe and this one takes the cake as being the king of scams. While we own a e bedroom, we were crammed into a studio motel room on arrival complete with metal folding chairs on the balcony. Management does not seem to care and "membership" carries no privileges. The resort itself is beautiful though the beach is largely unuseable. Staff says hello but it as though they are programmed and don't really care. All of that is not atypical for a timeshare in Mexico but management and lack of concern for "members" is the worst you will ever experience. You can count on every promise to be broken.

  • Avatar for johng666
    By johng666 Mar 2, 2011

    Beautiful new resort, all inclusive, excellent food and activities, great pool area for kids. Rooms are over-sized studios, nicely appointed, exterior jacuzzi. Superb feature is associated adjacent nature park and very real clear fresh water rivers, with all sorts of fish, which enter sea via a beautiful sandy delta. Beach and sea directly in front of resort are however less desirable because of accumulation of peat from adjacent river, leaving a murky zone at the water`s edge. Sales pressure is insistent.

  • Avatar for victorg36
    By victorg36 Mar 10, 2010

    best resort i have visited by far. plenty of activities. great staff. great foods, luxurious nd comfortable accomodation. It is a dream come true.

Back to reviews
Resort review