Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Carlsbad, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Carlsbad, California

4.5

Out of 5
16 reviews
  • 5

    (25)

  • 4

    (12)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for edwardj146
    By edwardj146 Sep 9, 2014

    I love this place. I love it so much I purchased a 2 bedroom ocean view just this week. I stayed this past August as a guest of my sister, an owner. I was first floor room 162 and very pleased with the room. I left my comfortable bed to sleep outdoors on the patio chaise lounge. Oh, what a wonderful Pacific breeze. Cool, crisp and I slept like a baby until the sprinkling system came on. Oh, well. It was fun while it lasted.

  • Avatar for lisam1437
    By lisam1437 Jan 4, 2014

    Beautiful resort with ALL the amenities and pleasant/helpful staff.

  • Avatar for billh136
    By billh136 Sep 10, 2013

    We are owners and have stayed here many times in the last ~six years.

    I rate the entire location a 5 since we love going there and doing nothing (BBQing, swimming, Jacuzzi, walking) other than the kid noise, but, this is a facility that caters to families. Lego land is next door and it is a family resort. Costco is on the other side of the street.

    The staff is very helpful.

    Being in Carlsbad allows you to go south into La Jolla and San Diego, or even just eating/wine tasting in the quiet downtown Carlsbad.

    Reviewers go into great detail, I won't. Grand Pacific Palisades Resort is a really nice Resort, great location and the people that work there are very helpful.

  • Avatar for emily6
    By emily6 Feb 28, 2009

    we are owners at this resort and live close but for the first time stayed at this resort.

    This resort is definately family oriented. It is across the street from Legoland which is meant to appeal to kids I would say primarily 10 to 12 and younger. If you have older kids make sure you make the hour drive to Disney - north.

    There is one pool that the kids love. We frequent this pool and note that there are many local owners who come in the summer - Summer weekends kids are allowed both in the kids pool (with a pirate theme splash area) as well as the "adult" pool.

    the one bedroom unit which we stayed in had an ocean view from the second story. If you were on the third you would have a better view, on the first, probably not so much. NOTE that the ocean is across on the other side of the 5 freeway which can be busy and a bit noisy. the units are large, have a fireplace, and a nice patio. This is plenty of room for a family of 4 even with high energy kids. NOTE no washer and dryer IN unit. There is also a small arcade room plus a 50's diner style room where they have activities.

    As to stocking up on food, etc- there is a costco literally within walking distance. In the parking lot is their gas station PLUS a Pat and Oscars, a great reasonable restaurant. In the Timeshare parking lot is a San Diego upscale brewery restaurant called "Karl Strauss" - one of my favorite places but not cheap.

    Also up Palomar airport road (you need a car in San Diego) is a Trader Joes as well as a new I believe Albertsons. This is about a 3 to 5 minute drive. These are in a very upscale area and have great to go items.

    Also you are above the flower fields which are planted to bloom at their peak on Easter. If you are there during this its amazing.

    Below the flower fields is an upscale outlet center which also has some GREAT food alternatives including Ruby's diner (kids love, 50's style, inexpensive), Panda Express, and a nice place for a fabulous brunch BelleFleur.

    Resort is in North San Diego county so downtown is about a 35 to 60 minute drive depending on traffic.

    Great resort for families - have fun!

  • Avatar for roger432
    By roger432 Oct 23, 2008

    Review of Grand Pacific Palisade Resort 10/08

    In early October 2008, we spent a week at the Grand Pacific Palisades in Carlsbad, CA. The front entrance and lobby present a very grand and congenial appearance, although the ‘gift shop kiosk” is very minimal. It’s not possible to get a quart of milk or loaf of bread there; only a case with the standard cold drinks and instant coffee, plus some children’s gift items are available.

    The check-in included the requirement to sign up for the marketing presentation in order to get an ocean-view room. We actually down-graded to a 1- bedroom suite as there were only two of us, but still had to follow this marketing procedure. Otherwise, ocean view rooms go to owners only.

    We did find the marketing interview painless. The person interviewing us could tell from our history and current ownerships that we would not be interested in their new property being developed several miles away. When I suggested we hurry things along, she said we were required to spend the full 90 minutes, and she would try to make it as pleasant as possible. She took us through the model of the new development ( the model is in the current resort) and it had some nice decorating features.

    Our biggest surprise, even though the resort is located right next to Legoland, was that even in early October, the resort was filled with families with young children through elementary school age. Two reasons for this: Schools in the area are on a year round plan with vacations at odd times, and we apparently hit a week when many children were on school break, and Owners have day access to the resort public areas: family pool and small water park, and restaurant on the premises. As this pool area is in a central court surrounded by units, many units hear the voices of children through their front doors til well after dark. Thankfully, there is an ‘adults only’ pool and a small spa located some distance from the Children’s area.

    We do recommend that those who are trading into this resort request the “C” wing, which has the best outlook to the ocean. As noted above, it will require listening to the marketing presentation. There is a $9 daily fee for parking (underground) wireless internet access and daily local newpaper. The properety is very well maintained with outdoors falling in the category of excelent.

    We found the one bedroom unit spacious and adequate, other than a rather small balcony, that accommodated a small table, two chairs and a lounge chair, with not much room left over. However, it worked well for breakfast and for watching the sunset over the ocean. It’s true that the ocean is about a mile away, as this resort is located on a ridge above the town. In the late spring (April/May) the famous ‘flower fields’ are immediately below the resort, and would be a lovely setting; we have previously seen this display while travelinig through.

    Area activities abound, especially for those who like the ocean environment. We had a lovely lunch on the pier at nearby Oceanside, sat on the beach at Del Mar, drove to La Jolla, spent a day at the Wild Animal Park ( the resort offers slight discount as part of the marketing package, plus $50 food discount at the resort restaurant), and walked through Legoland during the last hour of operation ( free at this time of day). We visited one of the nearby California Missions, and spent some time relaxing near the adult pool.

    We would have preferred more on-site food amenities and a nearby place to get small food items. There is a large Costco ( with gas station) just down the hill from the resort. The resort programs were not well advertised, and poorly attended. The scheduled “Bar-B-Q” night featured hamburgers and hot dogs, with the listed salads not available, and ‘bring your own drinks”. The ‘happy hour’ and jazz night earlier in the week was held in the lobby, and while food was adequate, it was poorly attended due to lack of promotion. The elevator to underground parking is notoriously slow.

    This resort is focused on families with young children and those without should take note and plan their days around the ramifications of this.

  • Avatar for lynnc161
    By lynnc161 Sep 6, 2008

    Great location with charm of Carlsbad and great access to greater San Diego area. Wonderful for families or singles (has fun children's pool/play area and another beautiful adult pool). Decor was nice and unit well furnished and maintained. Would go again in a flash.

  • Avatar for susan506
    By susan506 Sep 7, 2006

    We managed to get an unheard of exchange here-and boy-were we lucky! This is a fabulous family resort-probably the best in the state. It is located right next to Legoland (discount tickets in lobby-and great conceirge services) its own WATER-PLAY area (excellent-I have never seen one this big and well done) in the really nice family pool and jacuzzi area (only problem-my kids never wanted to leave...), pretty nice playground, great landscaping, great exercise room with separate massage room, beautiful adult pool-Olympic sized with ocean view, the works. Easy 5 min. drive to good swimming beaches (with NO NOISY TRAIN TRACKS behind the building like most coastal resorts) and easy drive to anywhere we wanted to go. (Although probably a little far to get to Disneyland and LA.) Excellent units, well furnished, nice decorator style, black-out drapes and good sized with enough space for our family of 5. Only problem...the view was a “park view” and it was only ok. Even with the only ok view, I still rate it a 5*.

  • Avatar for sandman2462
    By sandman2462 Updated Oct 19, 2005

    This is a great Resort. The staff is helpful, and they sell tickets for just about everything at the concierge desk. The pools are very nice, and the adults-only pool over-looking the ocean is great, if too many kids occupy the main pool with the kiddie water- park. The view from the rooms is beautiful!

    The $9 a day for parking & a newspaper is a pain, but I did get used to having the paper outside my door every day :). This is also offset by having two FREE computer stations by the lobby, and FREE internet connections in EVERY ROOM. They also have their own entrance to Legoland, which saves a parking fee. So I guess it is a wash (money-wise).

    The on-site Brewery-restaurant & room service is delicioso!

  • Avatar for bmb11
    By bmb11 Sep 21, 2004

    Just spent a week there in a 2 BR suite. We were supposed to check in at 4:00pm. They told us the suite wouold not be ready until 4:30, but that is when they first started to clean it. We did not get in to the suite until 6:00pm.

    The place was crawling with ants. Don't stay on the first floor!!!! Also, at the end of the week they charge you $9 per day for parking, and $14 if you participate in any of the activities.

  • Avatar for fotojo44
    By fotojo44 Updated Apr 16, 2004

    Very nice resort, great location, excellent facilities. Not much to do but RELAX, but we enjoyed it. Special kids pool area is GREAT, but thankfully separate. Easy and quick drive to numerous beaches, loved that, different beach everyday. Adult pool is very quiet BUT would have liked to have had a pool bar or snack bar or something, maybe music in the evenings. Nice touch is that they deliver a newspaper to your door each morning, problem is, they missed 5 of the 7 days we were there (delivered it immediately when called). Very UNCOOL is that they charge you $9 a day for resort services, which is basically for parking. It's never mentioned until you read the welcome material given to you at check-in (not a WORD). We were there in April and the Carlsbad Flower Fields are right below you, they're awesome! Would probably stay here again.

  • Avatar for expresso
    By expresso Jan 5, 2004

    One of the very best Southern California family vacation resorts! I own here and I live here so I know. San Diego is hot, hot, hot! The units are 1-3 stories, with the ocean view units best. Take the Coaster train at the nearby Poinsetta Street station or the Amtrak at the Oceanside station and save yourself from the traffic on Interstate 5 when you go north to Anaheim or south to San Diego. Otherwise traffic can be nasty on the freeway. Walk to Legoland. Shopping at Costco or the Carlsbad Factory Stores is less than half a mile from the resort. Something for everyone here.

  • Avatar for jadombro
    By jadombro Jan 1, 2004

    This is our home resort and we still look forward to our stay every summer. There's plenty of family fun to be had. Two pools, one for families and the other for adults only. Family pool has attached water activities for the kids. Legoland is across the street and a short walk away. Costco is 1/2 mile away so you can quickly stock up for the week. The resort sits on a bluff over looking the Pacific. Plenty of beaches less than 5 mins from the resort. Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and Wild Animal Park are only 30 mins away. Don't forget to check out Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant next to the resort for great food and excellent beer. I could go on and on.

  • Avatar for gawright
    By gawright May 10, 2003

    This is one of the rare resorts that has a swiming pool in which serious swimmers can actually swim laps. The fitness center is very well equipped. The spring flowers are spectacular.

  • Avatar for etanneh
    By etanneh Feb 2, 2003

    This is a fabulous resort. The units are very large and it is located only a mile or two from the beach.

  • Avatar for lauran24
    By lauran24 Dec 26, 2002

    This place is gorgeous, with a great water area/ playground area for the kids and activity center. The fitness center is very nice also. The rooms are well maintained and spacious. This is very close to the beach and across from Legoland, and when the flowers are in bloom it's absolutely gorgeous!

  • Avatar for bobby2
    By bobby2 Nov 19, 2002

    Doesn't get much better for location and family activities. Not to mention the best weather on earth PERIOD. Only thing keeping this from being perfect is that it is about 1 mile from the beach. Beautiful elevated view of the entire Carlsbad coastline though.

Back to reviews
Resort review