Wyndham Majestic Sun

Destin, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Wyndham Majestic Sun

Destin, Florida

4.1

Out of 5
9 reviews
  • 5

    (11)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Wyndham Majestic Sun lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for phillipb70
    By phillipb70 Updated May 15, 2015

    My wife and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary at the Wyndham Majestic Sun, and we had a wonderful time! The entire staff was very friendly and supportive, and they provided us with some very nice treats in celebration of our anniversary. We will definitely be returning many times in the future! Boiler Up!

  • Avatar for jydixon
    By jydixon Updated Feb 14, 2009

    staff is the best--great location--we go as often as we can. Units have been redecorated since these pictures. Fluffy beds with lots of pillows--new furnishings--drapes--lovely and fresh.

  • Avatar for caroln57
    By caroln57 Aug 18, 2007

    It was great! Across the street from the beach. Could see the beach from the balcony. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool was very nice. Clean. Just was we were looking for with a large family. (7 of us)

  • Avatar for fairwynd
    By fairwynd Updated Dec 28, 2006

    Fairfield has finally gotten around to renaming this resort "Fairfield Destin." Majestic Sun is not a Fairfield property. The Fairfield building is not beach front; it is located behind MS. The rooms here were okay, but noisy. There is no pool on site. Guests and owners have to hoof it over to MS to use the pool there. You may be subjected to "pedestrian polo" in crossing a busy roadway to get to the beach.We found the front desk people uncaring. This location just doesn't deserve a "Gold Crown." Dave Carey

  • Avatar for amym102
    By amym102 Mar 9, 2006

    We have been to Majestic Sun twice in the last two years - once for spring break and once in June. It was spectacular both times! Traffic in Destin is heavier in June, but once you get to the resort, it doesn't feel crowded - even though the resort is completely full.

    The ocean view is at an angle, but we enjoyed it a great deal - and could hear the waves from the balcony. There is a small road that must be crossed to access the beach, but traffic is not heavy and cars are going quite slowly and often stop for pedestrians even if they're not in the crosswalk. The soft, white-sand beaches and clear blue-green water make this our favorite of all the beaches we have visited.

    We have stayed in a one-bedroom unit and a two- bedroom unit. They are quite spacious and the kitchens are very well equipped. There is a TV in the living room and in every bedroom. The two-bedroom unit accomodates eight very easily.

    The Fairfield Majestic Sun building is located on the Seascape resort, which has a golf course and many condo buildings, including a large building that runs parallel to the beach and perpendicular to the Fairfield building. There are five pools on the Seascape property, but we used only the one nearest the beach. There are also two hot tubs at this pool. You have to walk a short distance to the main Majestic Sun building to access these, but it wasn't a problem.

    Fairfield has lots of activities for kids and grownups, many of which are free. They are also helpful in identifying restaurants and other attractions in the area and offer discounts at many of these places. We particularly enjoyed the dolphin cruise. The Fairfield staff is friendly and helpful; the coffee-maker was leaking, but they replaced it immediately when we reported it. Check-in and check out were quick and easy.

    We will definitely go back to the Majestic Sun!

  • Avatar for pamraymond
    By pamraymond Mar 9, 2006

    We have stayed at Makjestic Sun for the past five summers. The location is great, the beach is the most beautiful, the rooms are beautiful, up to Fairfield high standards, the staff are helpful, and there are plenty of activities for all family members.

    Contrary to the reviews below, the building in the picture is the one you stay in and all rooms have an ocean view. The building is a right angle to the private condo building, but you can still see the ocean. The back view is of a lake with downtown Destin in the background. Both buildings are across the beach highway from the beach.

  • Avatar for sunseeker1
    By sunseeker1 Updated Sep 1, 2005

    Check-in and check-out were fast and efficient and we did not feel pressured at all to attend any sales presentation.

    The FF resoft at Majestic Sun does not face directly the beach. It was built behind another building also called Majestic Sun which is a full condo ownership property. Having said this, the two bedroom units still all have ocean views if you go to the balcony and look to the right.

    Our unit was bright, well furnished, maintained and rather spacious. We have small kids so the full size kitchen was quite handy for breakfast and quick meals.

    The pools and other amenities are located in the other building and we have to walk across the parking building to gain access to the facilities which is a little awkward. The beach in front of the resort is beautiful taking a short two minutes walk where you would have to go across a small street to get there.

    We did not participate in any of the resort activities although it seems that there were good options. Area attractions are plenty: fishing, boat rides, snorkeling, excellent restaurants, water sports and ... the most beautiful beaches: the water is clean, transparent, warm and the sand is the way we like, sugar white and not packed.

    Destin is still full of tourists in early August but somehow manages to maintain a nice family atmosphere.

    We love beaches and most of our vacations are in beach resorts and Destin is one of our favorite destinations. I would rate this resort an 8.

  • Avatar for rlorincz
    By rlorincz Updated Jan 1, 2004

    Our family has just spent the last two holiday weeks at Majestic Sun. The first week we were in a two bedroom lockout on the 10th floor. The rooms were up to Fairfield standards, leaving little for us to desire. The second week we moved to a 2 bedroom unit on the 9th floor, which we enjoyed even more. The units with the higher numbers (963 and 962) are closer to the ocean end of the building so a better ocean view was enjoyed. Even though the building is not right on the beach, we could still see the ocean and surrounding area very well. The staff is outstanding, willing to help with activities, area information, and even extra cooking dishes. Internet access is free. Resort shares a great indoor/outdoor pool with the Majestic Sun condo complex. Four other pools are also on the property but we used the warm indoor pool almost every day.

    The beach is across a very small road, very easy to access. The beaches in the Destin area are the best we have ever encountered. White sand and the emerald green Gulf make for amazing views and photos.

    This is a terrific location for the holidays. We heard that it is extremely busy here in the summer but this time of year there aren't many people around so it is quite peaceful. Weather was really nice, 60's every day we were here. This will be a location our family will look forward to visiting again.

  • Avatar for travel2
    By travel2 Aug 28, 2003

    AM VERY FAMILIAR WITH THE DESTIN AREA. A POINT OF INFO THE MAJ.SUN FF PROPERTY IS PART OF A FULL OWNERSHIP CONDO BLGD.THE TIMESHARE PORTION DOES NOT FACE THE GULF. THE BLDG HAS TIMESHARE AND IS AT AN ANGLE TO THE BEACH AND WOULD REQUIRE GOING OUT ON THE BALCONY FOR A VIEW.

    FACILITY IS NEW AND VERY NICE. WHAT YOU SEE IN THE PICTURE IS NOT WHERE THE TIME SHARE ROOMS ARE LOCATED.

    SO BE ADVISED.

Back to reviews
Resort review