Wyndham Ocean Ridge I & II

Edisto Island, South Carolina

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Wyndham Ocean Ridge I & II

Edisto Island, South Carolina


  • Avatar for sandivinton51
    By sandivinton51 Jul 23, 2016
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    I have been visiting Edisto beach for over 25 yrs. My family and I love the eco aspects of the island. We do not enjoy the congestion and chaos of myrtle beach/hhi type places. We come for the Beauty and slowed down life style the Edisto offers. We stay at www.egretspointe.Com and find that it has all we need. I especially enjoy fall/winter/spring when critters are migrating through and the pace is even slower AND the weather is soooo nice in this temperate area.

  • Avatar for nancy1836
    By nancy1836 Jul 29, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We exchanged in through RCI and received the exact room that was exchanged. We are not Wyndam owners. Our unit was 695 in The Villlage. This section is actually outside the true resort compound. It is a cluster of 12-15 buildings circling a pool. Parking on ground level under bldg and then two floors of units. Bldgs alternate slightly: one will have two 2BR units and the next might have four 1BR units. When looking at the map, the unit numbers start (abt 655) at the north-most bldg and then go counter-clockwise. So our unit, 695, was in the northeast part of the circle. Most balconies face the pool area, but the bldgs with only two units have different balcony arrangements than the bldgs with four units. Not all 1BR units have view of pool. All 2BR units have pool view. The units on the southwest portion of the circle MIGHT have marsh views from the top floor only. All bldgs in The Village have outside staircases (under roofs) and no elevators. Parking spot is very narrow and long and could hold two cars. Unit 695 was 2BR unit (as exchanged for) and happened to be on the top floor. A nice working arrangement with the LR/Kitchen at the pool side of the unit and the 2BR and 2Baths at the back of the unit. The unit slept 8 with a king bed in MBR and two double beds in guest room and sofa bed in LR. Full kitchen including dishwasher and stacking washer/dryer. They provided two packets each of dishwasher soap and laundry soap. MBR bath had jacuzzi tub and large shower and was accessed from the MBR. Guest Bath had regular tub/shower combo and was accessed from the hall. The couch in the LR was comfortable but the two modern-style side chairs were not. The family on the first level were older and we didn't hear them and very rarely saw them.

    The unit looked well at first, but then we realized it wasn't maintained well. The guest bath really needed to be re-done and the tub did not have a tub stopper. The bed in the MBR really needed to be replaced. It was soft due to age rather than to foam. And the bedding was beginning to show its age with hems ripped out and old small stains. We saw our first roach (dead) abt the 4th day and then one a day until we left. Wifi is available in the units and is free. But it is wretchedly slow and you need to re-login once or twice a day. Lamps were all 3-way but all light bulbs are single-way. I called in a maintenance request for a tub stopper and something else, and they never came. So all in all, we were not impressed. The resort does have multiple pools and a golf course and children's play area and activities. There is also a bar/grill at the golf club which was actually quite good.

    Edisto Island is approximately one hour from I-95 and 1.5 hours from downtown Charleston. The historic plantations in the area are nice and we also visited the CharlestonTea Plantation. The Middleton Plantation has a wonderful restaurant but pricey--but worth every penny.

    The Piggly Wiggley on Edisto is okay. Reminds me of many old-time grocery stores in small towns. A little bit of everything. The next closest stores are about 17 miles away in Hollywood and Ravenel. Last comment: cops are active on Edisto, so watch your speed. We were stopped for going 41 in a 30 zone. Lucked out and got just a warning.

  • Avatar for frank848
    By frank848 Jan 3, 2008

    Stayed in the South Pointe 4-BR villa. Units are excellent and well maintained - lots of room and privacy for all. easy walk to the beach - but need to drive to the Wyndham property for Golf. Good course - recently renovated.

    SP has a small pool and barbeque grills for the units. Across the street from one of hte hidden excellent restaurants on hte Island. (Looks sketchy from the outside and has a bit of an aroma inside - but food is outstanding) Don't miss Waterside - excellent freshly caught sea food - esp. the oysters and crab cakes.

    Restaurant on property is ok in the grille, a bit pricy in fine dining.

    Staff is outstanding!

  • Avatar for shirley540
    By shirley540 Updated Dec 13, 2006

    We just returned from Edisto Ocean Ridge 11

    and would go back tomorrow. We had a hugh

    three story villa with four bedrooms and five

    baths. It was in the South Point Villas. Could

    not have been nicer. Can't wait to go back.

    There is a Piggly Wiggly right down the road

    and you could see the beach just one block

    down the street. We Had a deck on every level

    and a great front porch. Wonderful vacation!!!

  • Avatar for wilbertp
    By wilbertp Jul 6, 2006

    We stayed during sringbreak of '06 in a 4 bedroom beachwalk house. Couldn't find anything to complain about even with 7 little girls. Can be a little pricey when it comes to eating out but the piggley wiggley can take care of that if need be. What a gem.....Treat yourself

  • Avatar for robert3014
    By robert3014 Dec 1, 2005

    Edisto is relatively unspoiled and the island people keep it that way.

    The island has lots of history. Discover what 'High Cotton' means.

    If you like quiet walks and peaceful bike rides, this is the place. The unit is nice and has a great view of the river and marsh.

    Dinner at the Old Post office is a must do. MMMmm good!

  • Avatar for bobterry
    By bobterry Jan 17, 2005

    The units are large but somewhat dated. Edisto is pleasant and very relaxing and a noncommercial place to "get away from it". The only golf course on the island is in poor condition, but there is a nice course at Stono Ferry, about 35 minutes away.

  • Avatar for kathykg
    By kathykg Updated Apr 15, 2004

    My husband and I just returned from Ocean Ridge and we would highly recommend this resort. The unit we stayed in was older, but had just been refurbished and had new carpeting. Our stay was very relxing and the island beautiful. Last year, we stayed at Hilton Head Island, which is also lovely, but much more congested. For a family or other travelers who want to spend time at the beach, go birdwatching, hiking, biking or just enjoy the outdoors, I would highly recommend Edisto Island.

  • Avatar for rlorincz
    By rlorincz Jan 1, 2004

    Our family has stayed at Ocean Ridge two different times. We would recommend staying at Bay Point, which is located on the river that wraps around the island (these units were Friday check-ins). The view from the rooms was enjoyed, especially the dolphins following the shrimp boats a couple times a day. As stated by previous reviews, the island is VERY quiet, with not a lot of activities available. But knowing this, the beach is the place to enjoy during the summer without a lot of traffic. The tram was a nice way to get around the resort and our children liked the week pass for putt- putt golf. If you are looking for a lot of things to do, try Myrtle Beach but you are looking to get a lot of R&R, check out Edisto Island.

  • Avatar for redwine
    By redwine Oct 16, 2003



  • Avatar for nvlilkat
    By nvlilkat Updated Aug 8, 2003

    We stayed at Ocean Ridge this summer. We were fortunate to get one of their 4 bedroom villas which I have to say was exceptional. The unit was well furnished and equipped.

    It wasn't on the Fairfield property so you didn't have immediate access to the pool or clubhouse. However, there was a tram that would come pick you up and take you there or to the beach and cabana.

    Edisto Beach is a great place to go if you want a relaxing vacation. It's a quiet resort town but does have several good restaurants and some historic sights. Charleston is about an hour away.

  • Avatar for eddielucas
    By eddielucas Aug 5, 2003

    We own week 24 in Sea Oaks section and have stayed here five out of the last six years. We like the area because we live nearby in Charleston and it is quiet and within an hour drive. Edisto Beach has extensive bike paths, a half dozen decent restaurants, and a very quiet beach. The pool, mini-golf, golf course, tennis courts, and some restaurants are just a short walk from most units. Satellite unit sections have their own pools which you can also use. The units are well equipped, some are showing signs of age, but are generally well maintained. The activities department offers day trips to Charleston and other outdoor excursions. My family enjoys the beach in the morning and the pool in the afternoon with evening bike rides. A tram will take you to the Cabanna at the beach or any of the pools or rec. center.

  • Avatar for ddkeeb
    By ddkeeb Jan 4, 2003

    The units are older but very spacious and nicely decorated. There is one really excellent restaurant - The Old Post Office - nearby. The sunsets are beautiful. Unfortunately, we are golfers and the course onsite (not owned by Fairfield) has not been well maintained. This is a shame because it is a good layout. We had to drive to Stono Ferry (40 minutes) but a good course or over an hour to Charleston to play. The island is very remote but would probably be great in summer for beach people. We went in mid November.

Back to reviews
Resort review