Gatlinburg Town Square

Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Back to resort

Reviews of Gatlinburg Town Square

Gatlinburg, Tennessee

4.1

Out of 5
15 reviews
  • 5

    (13)

  • 4

    (0)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Gatlinburg Town Square lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for donm115
    By donm115 Updated Aug 15, 2011

    Convenient to the Great Smoky National Park and the downtown Gatlinburg but that is where the pluses stop. For several reasons, I would not stay here again; there are no staff located on site (must go further down the street to an office to speak to anyone in person), there is a charge for in-suite Wifi which is not acceptable for a "resort", the pool floor was "green" when we arrived and we watched the guy clean the by scrubbing the floor but not draining the pool to clear the scum, parking stalls are very narrow and make getting out of the car next to impossible. Overall, badly in need of a major renovation.

  • Avatar for danield94
    By danield94 Updated Nov 19, 2007

    We acquired our unit last winter through an ad in Redweek. We stayed the week of 4th of July. Our accomodations were more than acceptable - two bedrooms, full kitchen, comfortable living area. The resort is fairly old and it shows, but maintenance was good all things considered. If you want to visit Gatlinburg and the National Park, you can't get much better than this location. What a great time! Looking forward to coming back in 2008. 5 stars for area and location, 4 stars for the resort.

  • Avatar for momn8or
    By momn8or Oct 15, 2007

    We just stayed a week in a studio. We were told it can fit 4 comfortably. In my opinion, it can only SLEEP 4 comfortably. They can't bring any belongings. There was no place for suitcases. There was only 1 very tiny closet and no dresser. One bedside stand. I had to put my clothes on a shelf over the tv. The unit was nice and clean though. Bed and couch were comfortable. The parking garage was a nightmare! The parking spaces are very narrow and hard to get in/out of if a car is parked next to you. We never had a problem finding a space though. We probably would stay here again but not in a studio.

  • Avatar for jayjay
    By jayjay Dec 20, 2006

    We have stayed in both a 2 bedroom/2 bath and a one bedroom with studio/lockout. They were both very clean and very well appointed.

    The 2 bedroom had a king master bedroom opening into a spacious bathroom with a large jacuzzi and a walk-in shower. The master also had a sliding door to the balcony as does the living room. The units had comfortable overstuffed couches and chairs and a corner gas fireplace. The second bedroom had twin beds and it's own door to the outside. The second bathroom is just off the second bedroom.

    The one bedroom with studio/lockout was magnificent. The overstuffed sofa and chairs in the living room were leather. There was a beautiful corner gas fireplace

    The king bedroom had a most unusual inset above the bed with soft lighting lamps. A large jacuzzi was in a corner of the bedroom. There was a sliding door to the balcony. The master bath was adjacent to the master bedroom and had a walk in shower and large vanity. This one bedroom unit was quite large. It also had a stacked washer and dryer in the unit.

    The lockout, by unlocking the A and B side, was fantastic with a king size bed, leather fold out sofa, large jacuzzi in the corner, gas fireplace, mini kitchen with refrigerator and microwave and nice bathroom attached with walk-in shower.

    Gatlinburg Town Square is within walking distance to mid town and is very convenient to all shops and restaurants.

  • Avatar for kena34
    By kena34 Aug 15, 2006

    Our stay there was wonderful. Great Location staff was very very nice. We stayed 2 weeks. Older units are being updated, but still great place to stay. Staff helped make the trip wonderful.

  • Avatar for mikee38
    By mikee38 Updated Jul 1, 2006

    We stayed here last summer. We arrived after hours and found it very annoying having to check in at a completely different site. Check in also took awhile. Parking was a problem. Most days it was very hard to find a parking space. Once we got to the unit (we had a very hard time finding it), we had to call to get the 2nd bedroom unlocked so we could use it. The unit was one of the newer ones so it was fairly nice. We did get a bonus of a washer and dryer in the unit that we were not expecting. It was a long way to walk to get to our room once getting to the building. It was convenient to downtown Gatlinburg. A nice short walk to get to the downtown area. We would probably not stay there again.

  • Avatar for cherylwat
    By cherylwat Jun 4, 2006

    Outstanding resort. Location is beyond words. Walk the street of Gatlinburg and trolley drops you right at the front door. The staff is one of the best I've seen. Resort is well kept. The 4th of July parade is a must to see. Once you park, you can trolley everywhere.

  • Avatar for samw10
    By samw10 Updated Nov 5, 2005

    First, I can't believe someone would complain about bugs in a National Park. Come on!!! Also, sure, Gatlinburg has construction underway, it's a boom town, and yes, having the new TimeShare go up next to GTS is a minor annoyance (we overlooked it 4th July week 2005), but, so what, people have a right to build on their property.

    Having said that, our week at GTS -- our first week ever there -- was great. Got married on Friday 1 July in Cades Cove. Spent the week, enjoyed the National Park, did the Honeymoon Cruise whitewater rafting the Nantahala, went wine tasting through the Smokies, visited Helen GA a great little town a couple hours away, and enjoyed the midnight 3 July big annual 1st in America 4th July parade!!

    Harrogate TN and Lincoln Memorial University -- one of the best Lincoln Museums I've seen -- is just 90 miles away, right next to Cumberland Gap, a great day trip!!! Plus Knoxville has some great historic sites, too!!!

    GTS is a great resort. We just bought 2 weeks resale last year, and used one this year, the 3BR penthouse unit (just a few of those are available, w/ 3rd BR in nice large loft). Parking was convenient. Facilities were well maintained. Location was walking - convenient to anything in Gatlinburg, and best thing is it's only 1 long block off Main Street.

    We had a mini-reception in our 3BR unit for about 15 people. Found the staff very nice and helpful. Aside from the minor distraction of having construction next door -- people building on their property as they're entitled to do -- we really couldn't find anything at all negative to say about our unit or our experience.

    Only disadvantage of absolutely any note is that the registration desk/hospitality staff is about 1 block off-site, and it would be great to have a live person on site -- aside from sales people -- to ask questions of.

    We're looking forward to coming back!!!!

  • Avatar for kathleen123
    By kathleen123 Aug 13, 2005

    Large unit, but set up for handicap. This meant showers had benches in them that made using them while standing up a major challenge(and rail with handsprayer kept falling on you). Both beds were as hard as a cement slab, and bedding was threadbare and scratchy. Construction next door was a MAJOR noise problem all day long from 8am-7pm. It made the pool only nice to sit by once they finished work for the day. Our daughter & I kept getting biten by bugs, but the staff said it must be from being out in the woods or the Nat'l Park-we never went near the woods or into the Park, but kept seeing bugs in the unit. On the positive side, it's a great location, lots of activities,plenty of parking, friendly staff.

  • Avatar for ebroady
    By ebroady Jun 27, 2005

    Great location. Underground parking. Within walking distance to all of downtown Gatlinburg. Resort is maintained well. I have stayed three times and have plans to go next Spring Break. One mile from the entrance to the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. Close to hiking, skiing, shopping, great restaurants. Next to a roaring stream that you can see from most units. Great for families or couples.

  • Avatar for ssswope
    By ssswope Updated Mar 28, 2005

    After my wife and I purchased a 2 bedroom winter flex time at this resort, we were told the "paperwork"deed, etc. would take 60 days to complete. Oct.5th,2003,Sunday we purchased. Friday, Jan.30 2004 with several calls to the resort, also Summer Bay office Florida, the courthouse in which Gatlinburg does filings, we were informed FINALLY...the paperwork has NEVER GONE THROUGH to the courthouse, thus we have never received our deed. I am very disgusted and surprised of the lack of attention that my purchase has received. It appears to me, once the closing transaction was made and monies exchanged hands, RAIN ON ME!. Steven Swope

  • Avatar for bob882
    By bob882 Sep 16, 2004

    Had a wonderful week at the resort. The unit was clean, well appointed. and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The complex was great and the view we had from our room was just like a postcard. You can not beat the location to downtown Gatlinburg. We will stay at this resort again in the future!!! (And a special thanks to Steven Smith for all his help in planning our vacation)

  • Avatar for seapiner
    By seapiner Mar 26, 2004

    The units was clean and well kept. The grounds are nice, and being downtown is great because you are within walking distance of some attractions, restaurants, etc.

    The staff was helpful and courteous.

    We would stay at this resort again if the option becomes available. We exchanged into this resort through II.

    We heard there were problems at the resort in the past, but our visit (October of 2003) was great. It seems the change in ownership (currently owned by Summer Bay?) may be the difference.

  • Avatar for hs
    By hs Jan 22, 2004

    This is a very nice place to stay. The staff is great. We went to the tour of the place and was not pressured to buy anything. The condo was very spacous and clean. I would recommend it to anyone Sandr e

  • Avatar for dlsullivan
    By dlsullivan Mar 10, 2003

    Being an owner at this resort for the past 7 years, I find this facility to be unscrupulous as well as underhanded in past management practices. I find the undue maintenance fees assesses without owner representation to be unjust as well as devious business practices. I will make a formal complaint to the Better Business Bureau for penalizing unsuspecting owners while this facility was in litigation and bankruptsy court and would not accept maintenance fees for said year.

Back to reviews
Resort review