Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Buying Marriott Vacation Club

Jul 29, 2022

I'm new to redweek. We just did a preview and bought MVC points. I'm having second thoughts seeing messages in redweek. Somethings I have questions about are. Is the price truly non-negotiable? They wouldn't budge at the preview, but I'm guessing they were doing a good job of reading us. I am debating about rescinding (within 10 days), but is there unrecoverable fees? Also, I'm debating about buying Marriott resale via redweek and understand there is ROFR and $3/point additional fee. Anything else? If I kept my ownership, if buy additional points, how is the maintenance calculated? Basically if I'm paying 1800 I'm maintenance and added points later on via resale, is it the sum of the maintenance fees or is recalculated some way?

Jeremy C.

Last edited by jeremyc173 on Jul 29, 2022 11:12 AM

Jul 30, 2022

jeremyc173 wrote:
We just did a preview and bought MVC points. I'm having second thoughts seeing messages in redweek. Somethings I have questions about are..... I am debating about rescinding (within 10 days), but is there unrecoverable fees? Also, I'm debating about buying Marriott resale via redweek and understand there is ROFR and $3/point additional fee.

First things first. The fact that you are "having second thoughts" and that there are some things about which you have questions are firm indicators that you should rescind. Follow the rescission instructions that were given to you in your owner's package. It will tell you where to send the letter and do so likely by certified mail with a receipt requested. There should be no "unrecoverable fees". They are required to refund you every penny that you paid down.