Dec 18, 2008

I am new to this and have looked at all the postings at our timeshare in Cabo San Lucas at the Playa Grande. It appears that rentals go faster than sales. Is it possible to post a rental with the option to buy by stating in the posting. I have not composed a posting yet, but would be very open to any suggestions.

Fran K.
Dec 18, 2008

frank1385 wrote:
I am new to this and have looked at all the postings at our timeshare in Cabo San Lucas at the Playa Grande. It appears that rentals go faster than sales. Is it possible to post a rental with the option to buy by stating in the posting. I have not composed a posting yet, but would be very open to any suggestions.
I don't see any reason why you can't do it, though Redweek might not allow it on their site since the fee to list a "For Sale" ad is greater than the fee to list a "For Rent" ad. If you do provide an option to buy, I suggest you offer to apply the rental price towards the sale price if the renters decide to buy within a certain time period.

Mike N.
Dec 18, 2008

ty Mike....I am thinking if I rent then hopefully the people will deal with me personally re: buying. You're right...it costs more to post a resale, and I don't see many flying out the door...more rentals...ty for your help.

Fran K.
Dec 18, 2008

Frank, I sold our first timeshare back in 1987 this way.

I have many times on Redweek and Tug and other sites talked of this and recommended it to others asking!

We had two friends last five years ask me about it and sold,one first year and second friend took two years to sell it.

What you do is run your ad to rent with option to buy. Don't play games like some of these greedy owners and try jacking your price to cover your rental fee either!

You as a owner wanting to sell need to remember this is a no lose for you and renter. The worse that can happen to you is you rent for the year without selling it. Buyer gets to try out the resort they have interest in before going into debt.