Jun 13, 2012

I have never done an exchange before. I own week 28 at the Beach. If I want to exchange to another resort in at the Beach, how hard is that. The other place I'd like to do exchange is only a few feet away. To my understanding, if you put in for an exchange, it is not guaranteed that you will get that week. I don't want to do an exchange unless I know I will get what I want. If the place is not available for an exchange, then why not just tell me and I can keep my vacation spot. Please Advise. reneec59

Renee C.
Jun 14, 2012

reneec59 wrote:
I have never done an exchange before. I own week 28 at the Beach. If I want to exchange to another resort in at the Beach, how hard is that. The other place I'd like to do exchange is only a few feet away. To my understanding, if you put in for an exchange, it is not guaranteed that you will get that week. I don't want to do an exchange unless I know I will get what I want. If the place is not available for an exchange, then why not just tell me and I can keep my vacation spot. Please Advise. reneec59

What exchange company do you belong to? With II you used to be able to request first before depositing, however I don't know if that's the case now.

With RCI you have to deposit before you can exchange. If the week you're seeking is at a popular location during a popular timeframe (beaches would be summer) then it will be very hard to get that exchange. You can try to deposit your week a year in advance and see if you can snag the week and resort you're wishing for .... exchanging these days is a crap shoot.

R P.
Jun 20, 2012

Thanks for responding. I am with RCI. I do think you are right, it would be hard to get that exchange. Maybe I should get into the point system or buy another week at this resort and rent the other.

Renee C.
Jun 21, 2012

reneec59 wrote: